History

This guide is designed to help you find research and resources in the field of History.

Where do I find books?

Search your research topic in the library catalog to find books related to your topic.

The Alvin Sherman Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System and you'll find most history books on the 3rd Floor in the following sections:

D - World History
E & F - History of the Americas

For example, a book about Ancient Greek culture might have the call number DF77. Once you find the correct section in the library, you'll find related books on the surrounding shelves.

Browse Books by Subject

Not sure where to start? Browse our collection of popular history subject areas.

History eBook Collections

Not on campus? Login to a library database to conduct your historical research anywhere in the world.

Cambridge Core
more...less...
Cambridge Core includes content from Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online under one unified site. E-books include subjects in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Computer Sciences, and Sciences. E-books are presented in full image PDF using Adobe Reader and are supported by all popular browsers for viewing. The Cambridge Core also hosts the NSU Libraries full text journal subscriptions of almost 350 titles.
Credo Reference
more...less...
Credo Reference provides access to subject encyclopedias and handbooks on major subjects. Topic Page offers background information on a particular topic that can give you an easy starting point and pathways for further research. Mind Maps visually show relationships between topics and keywords.
Ebook Central
more...less...
Ebook Central is the new platform for access to the NSU Libraries EBL e-books. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
JSTOR
more...less...
Full-text articles from scholarly journals are available (from Volume 1 to issues published 2-5 years ago) in the arts, business, humanities, literature, social sciences, general science, mathematics and statistics.
MIT Press D2O
more...less...
Collection of Open Access (OA) ebooks from MIT Press on business, arts and humanities, education, computers and engineering, medicine, psychology, political science, social sciences and science.
Project Muse
more...less...
Full-text ebooks and journals from scholarly journals and publishers in the humanities and social sciences, including arts, history, literature, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more. All ebooks and journals are fully integrated for search and discovery.