Skip to Main Content

PSY 0903: Forensic Psychology: Databases

This guide will provide students with access to resources in forensic psychology. This includes information on courts, law enforcement, criminal justice, national security, prisons, social services agencies, child welfare agencies, and treatment facilitie

Databases are not the same as websites!

  • A database is a collection of information published electronically by a credible source or publishing company.  The information in a database is arranged into records that can be searched by a computer.
  • While you may find a lot of results when using Google, Bing, or other search engines on the web, these results may not be appropriate to cite in your actual paper.  Instead, search the internet to brainstorm ideas and then research those concepts in the databases.
  • The majority of scholarly articles found within a database are not freely available on the internet.

Psychology Databases

Foundations and Grants

Foundation Directory Online Professional allows you to locate funding for your nonprofit school, church or other organization by providing access to grantmakers and their grants. It features foundations, public charities, and corporate funders, allowing searches by subject or grant recipient. This database is only available from within the Alvin Sherman Library. Local access for all users. Remote access is not available.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is the premier online database for artists, students, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. This database is only available from within the Alvin Sherman Library. Local access for all users. Remote access is not available.

Law Resources

Law Enforcement

Public Policy

Is the journal Peer Reviewed?

Finding articles with only a citation

Use the Full Text Finder to find PDFs of articles in our databases when all you have is a citation.

Video on how to use Full Text Finder 

Use our DOI Finder to see if an article is covered in one of our databases, or to find the doi of an article you already have.