Video Databases
-
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes 1-5
Collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Themes include aging, family, gender, race, sex and sexual abuse, and substance abuse.
-
Psychotherapy.net Streaming Video (Exclusive Collection)
Streaming video collection offers 50 titles consisting of training videos --most of them demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions-- featuring the leading contributors of our time and covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches. Their videos are used worldwide to train a variety of mental health practitioners, from psychologists, counselors and social workers to nurses, addiction professionals and others. New titles are added on a daily basis. Streams come with a downloadable Instructor's manual and are subtitled in English.
-
Psychological Experiments Online
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
-
Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy is the definitive streaming video collection of the latest in research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology. The collection includes contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners, and at least 350 hours of new content will be added yearly to a base of 1,000 hours.
DVDs in the Alvin Sherman Library
-
Titicut FolliesA stark and graphic documentary of the conditions that existed at the state prison for the criminally insane at Bridgewater, Massachusetts. Shows scenes of the daily life of the men, interspersed with shots from the inmates' talent show. Documents the various ways the inmates are treated by guards, social workers and psychiatrists.
-
HarryDocuments a behavioral program conducted by Dr. Richard M. Foxx to reduce or eliminate the bizarre, self-abusive behavior of Harry, who had been institutionalized for eighteen of his twenty-four years .
-
Kings Park: Stories from an American mental institution30 years after she was institutionalized at Kings Park State Hospital in New York, award winning filmmaker Lucy Winer returns to face her past and learn the story of the now abandoned facility. Her meetings with other former patients, their families and the hospital staff reveal the painful legacy of our state hospital system, and the crisis left by its demise.
Selection of DSM 5 Online Videos
-
Trauma-Related DisordersOur lives are shaped, perhaps in equal measure, by both the qualities that nature instilled in us and by the events that we experience. However, just as our biology can sometimes go out of balance, leading our thoughts, mood or behavior to become disordered, so too can we become impaired by our experiences, so that our perception of the world becomes distressed. This is the case those who have trauma-related disorders, also known as trauma and stressor-related disorders. Individuals with these disorders are exposed to a stressful or traumatic event, leading to a variety of responses, ranging from anxiety to depression, from social withdrawal to reliving the event or events over and over again.What makes these disorders so unique is how intrinsically tied they are to their inciting incidents. This especially requires the clinician to not only be familiar with the effects of a patient's disorder but also its potential origins, and how those have altered the patient's sense of health and well-being.
-
Dissociative DisordersWe all may have times that we are unaware of our actions--where we go on "autopilot" so that our mind wanders to some other place while our body goes through the motions. Maybe we've been so caught up in a thought while driving that we've been going for miles without even realizing it. Or in an emotional moment, like after a break-up or losing a job, we may feel overwhelmed, so that minutes pass without us even knowing how we spent them. It could even be that at some random moment, we’ve experienced a surreal kind of detachment, where we feel disconnected from our thoughts, bodies or surroundings.
-
Neurocognitive DisordersGiven the complex interplay of processes within the brain, what we do know is that even the smallest insults to brain function can potentially impact our lives in fundamental ways. These intrusions, caused by injury, disease or other medical conditions, can alter the way we behave and our identity. This could progress to the extent that our family and friends may notice that we are not able to live our lives as we once did. We may no longer remember how to make a cup of coffee, how to get home from the store, or even the word for “chair.” Or we may realize that we are unable to manage complex projects in the way we once could. These changes in cognition are characteristic of neurocognitive disorders, a grouping of disorders codified and defined in the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-5.