Getting started
This guide covers multiple aspects of healthcare management including health economics, advances in technology likely to transform healthcare, healthcare reform, practice management and more.
Introduction to complex health systems
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with healthcare management and complex health systems related terms.
The Lean Healthcare Dictionary by
In today's healthcare economy, with reduced reimbursement and closer scrutiny of quality patient care, the concepts and terminology of Lean management are becoming invaluable to nurses, clinicians, administrators, and other healthcare staff involved in improvement. Conversely, a basic grasp of common healthcare terms is essential for process improvement specialists who aren't necessary fluent in healthcare terminology. The Lean Healthcare Dictionary: An Illustrated Guide to Using the Language of Lean Management in Healthcare　is designed to bridge the gap between Lean practitioners and healthcare professionals. This comprehensive dictionary defines essential Lean and healthcare terms to help create a common language for anyone involved in Lean healthcare improvement activities. Providing quick reference to the language of Lean management in healthcare, the dictionary includes diagrams and charts that illustrate concepts and aid in understanding. Each entry in Part I provides a succinct description of a Lean term as used in a healthcare setting. Healthcare terms and acronyms that commonly arise in the course of Lean transformations are defined in Part II. The content of this dictionary is firmly rooted in the hands-on experience of Rona Consulting Group, whose principals have designed and led ground-breaking applications of Lean management in emergency rooms, operating rooms, labs, hospitals, and major medical centers
ISBN: 9781482232912Publication Date: 2017-07-27
The Managed Health Care Dictionary by
The Managed Health Care Dictionary, Second Edition is a handy reference students can use to quickly find the meaning of words encountered in managed care books, articles, and contracts. With more than 1,000 terms, this dictionary covers the language of every industry sector -- purchaser, provider, and payer. This new edition highlights new terminology, current definitions, and an expanded listing of acronyms and abbreviations.
ISBN: 0834211440Publication Date: 1998-04-23
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with healthcare management and complex health systems related terms.
Encyclopedia of e-Health and Telemedicine by
Patients and medical professionals alike are slowly growing into the digital advances that are revolutionizing the ways that medical records are maintained in addition to the delivery of healthcare services. As technology continues to advance, so do the applications of technological innovation within the healthcare sector. The Encyclopedia of E-Health and Telemedicine is an authoritative reference source featuring emerging technological developments and solutions within the field of medicine. Emphasizing critical research-based articles on digital trends, including big data, mobile applications, electronic records management, and data privacy, and how these trends are being applied within the healthcare sector, this encyclopedia is a critical addition to academic and medical libraries and meets the research needs of healthcare professionals, researchers, and medical students.
ISBN: 9781466699793Publication Date: 2016-05-04
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
The topic of health care management has escalated to one of the most widely discussed and debated topics in the health care industry, MBA programs, and in the field of medicine in general. In the 1980s, the industry was relatively stable and the need for combining business acumen with medicine was less than today. However, as we enter the 21st century, the need for applying business and management skills to the health care industry is stronger than ever.This Encyclopedia covers every topic a medical professional, institutional administrator, or MBA student would need to know about the business of health care.Key Features* Over 600 entries* More than 160 expert contributors from the fields of medicine, public health, business* Tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, health care acronyms, medical legislation* Unites the business and medical worlds, and spans the academic, corporate, and governmental arenasTopics CoveredAccounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy
ISBN: 0761926747Publication Date: 2003-10-21
Encyclopedia of Healthcare Information Systems by
Healthcare, a vital industry that touches most of us in our lives, faces major challenges in demographics, technology, and finance. Longer life expectancy and an aging population, technological advancements that keep people younger and healthier, and financial issues area constant strain on healthcare organizations' resources and management. Focusing on the organization's ability to improve access, quality, and value of care to the patient may present possible solutions to these challenges. The Encyclopedia of Healthcare Information Systems provides an extensive and rich compilation of international research, discussing the use, adoption, design, and diffusion of information communication technologies (ICTs) in healthcare, including the role of ICTs in the future of healthcare delivery; access, quality, and value of healthcare; nature and evaluation of medical technologies; ethics and social implications; and medical information management.
ISBN: 9781599048901Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Handbook of Healthcare Analytics by
How can analytics scholars and healthcare professionals access the most exciting and important healthcare topics and tools for the 21st century? Editors Tinglong Dai and Sridhar Tayur, aided by a team of internationally acclaimed experts, have curated this timely volume to help newcomers and seasoned researchers alike to rapidly comprehend a diverse set of thrusts and tools in this rapidly growing cross-disciplinary field. The Handbook covers a wide range of macro-, meso- and micro-level thrusts--such as market design, competing interests, global health, personalized medicine, residential care and concierge medicine, among others--and structures what has been a highly fragmented research area into a coherent scientific discipline. The handbook also provides an easy-to-comprehend introduction to five essential research tools--Markov decision process, game theory and information economics, queueing games, econometric methods, and data science--by illustrating their uses and applicability on examples from diverse healthcare settings, thus connecting tools with thrusts. The primary audience of the Handbook includes analytics scholars interested in healthcare and healthcare practitioners interested in analytics. This Handbook: Instills analytics scholars with a way of thinking that incorporates behavioral, incentive, and policy considerations in various healthcare settings. This change in perspective--a shift in gaze away from narrow, local and one-off operational improvement efforts that do not replicate, scale or remain sustainable--can lead to new knowledge and innovative solutions that healthcare has been seeking so desperately. Facilitates collaboration between healthcare experts and analytics scholar to frame and tackle their pressing concerns through appropriate modern mathematical tools designed for this very purpose. The handbook is designed to be accessible to the independent reader, and it may be used in a variety of settings, from a short lecture series on specific topics to a semester-long course.
ISBN: 9781119300946Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Handbook of Healthcare Delivery Systems by
With rapidly rising healthcare costs directly impacting the economy and quality of life, resolving improvement challenges in areas such as safety, effectiveness, patient-centeredness, timeliness, efficiency, and equity has become paramount. Using a system engineering perspective, Handbook of Healthcare Delivery Systems offers theoretical foundations, methodologies, and case studies in each main sector of the system. It explores how system engineering methodologies and their applications in designing, evaluating, and optimizing the operations of the healthcare system could improve patient outcomes and cost effectiveness. The book presents an overview of current challenges in the healthcare system and the potential impact of system engineering. It describes an integrated framework for the delivery system and the tools and methodologies used for performance assessment and process improvement with examples of lean concept, evidence-based practice and risk assessment. The book then reviews system engineering methodologies and technologies and their applications in healthcare. Moving on to coverage of the design, planning, control and management of healthcare systems, the book contains chapters onnbsp;12 services sectors: preventive care, telemedicine, transplant, pharmacy, ED/ICU, OR, decontamination, laboratory, emergency response, mental health, food and supplies, and information technology. It presents the state-of-the-art operations and examines the challenges in each service unit. While system engineering concepts have been broadly applied in healthcare systems, most improvements have focused on a specific segment or unit of the delivery system. Each unit has strong interactions with others and any significant improvement is more likely to be sustained over time by integrating the process and re-evaluating the system design from a holistic viewpoint. By providing an overview of individual operational sectors in the extremely complex healthcare system and introducing a wide array of engineering methods and tools, this handbook establishes the foundation to facilitate integrated system thinking to redesign the next generation healthcare system.
ISBN: 9781439803332Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Handbook of Research on Big Data Management and the Internet of Things for Improved Health Systems by
Because of the increased access to high-speed Internet and smart phones, many patients have started to use mobile applications to manage various health needs. These devices and mobile apps are now increasingly used and integrated with telemedicine and telehealth via the medical Internet of Things (IoT). Big Data Management and the Internet of Things for Improved Health Systems is a critical scholarly resource that examines the digital transformation of healthcare. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics, such as brain computer interface, data reduction techniques, and risk factors, this book is geared towards academicians, practitioners, researchers, and students seeking research on health and well-being data.
ISBN: 9781522552239Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Handbook of Research on Data Science for Effective Healthcare Practice and Administration by
Data science has always been an effective way of extracting knowledge and insights from information in various forms. One industry that can utilize the benefits from the advances in data science is the healthcare field. The Handbook of Research on Data Science for Effective Healthcare Practice and Administration is a critical reference source that overviews the state of data analysis as it relates to current practices in the health sciences field. Covering innovative topics such as linear programming, simulation modeling, network theory, and predictive analytics, this publication is recommended for all healthcare professionals, graduate students, engineers, and researchers that are seeking to expand their knowledge of efficient techniques for information analysis in the healthcare professions.
ISBN: 9781522525165Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Handbook of Research on Emerging Perspectives on Healthcare Information Systems and Informatics by
Over the decades, the fields of health information systems and informatics have seen rapid growth. Such integrative efforts within the two disciplines have resulted in emerging innovations within the realm of medicine and healthcare. The Handbook of Research on Emerging Perspectives on Healthcare Information Systems and Informatics provides emerging research on the innovative practices of information systems and informatic software in providing efficient, safe, and impactful healthcare systems. While highlighting topics such as conceptual modeling, surveillance data, and decision support systems, this handbook explores the applications and advancements in technological adoption and application of information technology in health institutions. This publication is a vital resource for hospital administrators, healthcare professionals, researchers, and practitioners seeking current research on health information systems in the digital era.
ISBN: 9781522554615Publication Date: 2018-05-11
Handbook of Research on Healthcare Administration and Management by
Effective healthcare delivery is a vital concern for citizens and communities across the globe. The numerous facets of this industry require constant re-evaluation and optimization of management techniques. The Handbook of Research on Healthcare Administration and Management is a pivotal reference source for the latest scholarly material on emerging strategies and methods for delivering optimal healthcare opportunities and solutions. Highlighting issues relating to decision making, process optimization, and technological applications, this book is ideally designed for policy makers, administrators, students, professionals, and researchers interested in achieving superior healthcare solutions.
ISBN: 9781522509219Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Handbook of Research on Information Technology Management and Clinical Data Administration in Healthcare by
Advances in information technology have brought about a revolution in healthcare, enabling medical personnel to have round-the-clock access to clinical data regardless of geographic location. ""The Handbook of Research on Information Technology Management and Clinical Data Administration in Healthcare"" provides researchers, educators, students, and industry practitioners with new research, practical experiences, challenges, and opportunities within healthcare data management. A comprehensive reference source within the medical technology field, this ""Handbook of Research"" presents tools and techniques in all aspects of IT management and clinical data administration in healthcare. It includes: over 40 authoritative contributions by over 100 of the world's leading experts in clinical data administration in healthcare from 21 countries; comprehensive coverage of each specific topic, highlighting recent trends and describing the latest advances in the field; and, more than 2,000 references to existing literature and research on clinical data administration in healthcare. A compendium of over 200 key terms with detailed definitions, this book is organized by topic and indexed, making it a convenient method of reference for all IT/IS scholars and professionals. It offers cross-referencing of key terms, figures, and information pertinent to clinical data administration in healthcare.
ISBN: 1605663565Publication Date: 2009-06-30
Handbook of Research on Updating and Innovating Health Professions Education by
The outbreak of the Coronavirus in early 2020 resulted in unprecedented changes to health professions education. The pervasive stay-at-home orders resulted in faculty, who were trained for preparing the next generation of health professionals in a traditional learning environment, throwing out their lesson plans and starting anew. New approaches to teaching and learning were created quickly, and without the typical extensive planning, which introduced several challenges. However, lessons learned from these approaches have also resulted in increased technology adoption, innovative assessment strategies, and increased creativity in the learning environment. The Handbook of Research on Updating and Innovating Health Professions Education: Post-Pandemic Perspectives explores the various teaching and learning strategies utilized during the pandemic and the innovative approaches implemented to evaluate student learning outcomes and best practices in non-traditional academic situations and environments. The chapters focus specifically on lessons learned and best practices in health professions education and the innovative and exciting changes that occurred particularly with the adoption and implementation of technology. It provides resources and strategies that can be implemented into the current educational environments and into the future. This book is ideal for inservice and preservice teachers, administrators, teacher educators, practitioners, medical trainers, medical professionals, researchers, academicians, and students interested in curriculum, course design, development of policies and procedures within academic programs, and the identification of best practices in health professions education.
ISBN: 9781799876243Publication Date: 2021-10-08
How to Deliver Integrated Care by
Care integration has become an important part of managing health and social care services all over the world. Bringing organisations together is thought to produce better access to care, reduce health care expenditure and improve quality of care for patients and service users. This book helps managers to think about how to collaborate in integrated care programmes. It provides practical advice on how to implement various aspects of care integration, such as finance, digital technology and evaluation. The book also contains chapters on the social and behavioural strategies, values and leadership approaches that should underpin integration. Each chapter contains key information based on the current state of research, illustrations from practical contexts and further reading.
ISBN: 9781838675295Publication Date: 2021-01-11
The Healthcare Practitioner's Handbook of Management by
The American system of healthcare is rapidly changing. Today, more and more of an emphasis is being placed on management skills-organizing, coordinating and managing the resources required for providing quality patient care. Medical practitioners are now expected to be efficient administrators as well as skilled clinicians. Although some may see this as a difficult hurdle, The Healthcare Practitioner's Handbook of Management shows that many healthcare providers are already well-prepared to perform management roles effectively. Through their education and clinical experience, most clinicians now have the problem-solving skills required for management - it's simply a matter of applying these skills to a different arena. In keeping with this idea, each chapter of The Healthcare Practitioner's Handbook of Management links a management topic to a clinical analogy and presents diagnostic and treatment approaches to the issue at hand. In addition, the book introduces the healthcare professional to the vocabulary and basic theories of management and shows how to transform clinical skills into managerial skills. In today's complex health care environment, these management skills are not just helpful, but essential.
ISBN: 1574440969Publication Date: 1997-06-19
Healthcare Reform in America by
An authoritative look at the core issues of the healthcare debate in the United States, with a focus on reform of the system. Healthcare Reform in America: A Reference Handbook reviews the failed attempts at health care reform in the last century, identifying the economic, social, and political forces that pushed for a national system and those that prevented it from happening. Written by two of our most respected and incisive health care critics, the book vividly demonstrates that right now, concerns about quality and cost, plummeting consumer satisfaction, and the need for reform are as great as they have ever been. Balanced, authoritative, and compelling, the book gives readers the basic tools they need to understand the core problems, access important data, and make informed decisions and valuable contributions toward reforming the system. * A detailed list of annotated print and web-based resources such as Fedstats, the National Center for Health Statistics, and the National Coalition on Healthcare, providing readers the tools to explore issues in more detail * Biographies of key figures in healthcare reform including Richard Nixon, Lyndon Johnson, and Lister Hill
ISBN: 1576079775Publication Date: 2004-06-08
Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations, Set by
Continuing its superiority in the health care risk management field, this sixth edition of The Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations is written by the key practitioners and consultant in the field. It contains more practical chapters and health care examples and additional material on methods and techniques of risk reduction and management. It also revises the structure of the previous edition, and focuses on operational and organizational structure rather than risk areas and functions. The three volumes are written using a practical and user-friendly approach.
ISBN: 9780470620809Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected Complex Health Systems courses
|
Course |
Required or recommended materials |
| CHS 5000 | Dawes, Daniel E. 150 Years of Obamacare. (2016) |
| CHS 5200 | Pink, George H. Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance. (2018) |
| CHS 5200 |
Reiter, Kristin L. Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance. (2018) |