NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: ArcGIS
General Information
ArcGIS10.6 can be found on all of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations. Students who wish to use ArcGIS and ArcGIS Pro at the Alvin Sherman Library may use one of 30 stations at Lab 1040. Students are encouraged to call 954-262-4700 to confirm that Lab 1040 is available for use.
This includes ArcMap, ArcGlobe, and ArcScene. This includes licenses to the following ArcGIS toolbox extensions: 3D Analyst, ArcScan, Geostatistical Analyst, Spatial Analyst, and Tracking Analyst. To activate them, select Customize from the ribbon, click Extensions, and then check all of the desired extensions. Restart the program to finalize the process.
All computers have access to ArcGIS Pro. Click here for more information on ArcGIS Pro.
All computers also have access to Google Earth Pro.
Library Resources
GIS Tutorial 1 by
Updated for ArcGIS Desktop 10, GIS Tutorial 1: Basic Workbook provides effective GIS training in an easy-to-follow, step-by-step format. By combining ArcGIS tutorials with self-study exercises intended to gradually build upon basic skills, the GIS Tutorial 1 is fully adaptable to individual needs, as well as the classroom setting. The tutorial demonstrates a range of GIS functionality, from creating maps and collecting data to using geoprocessing tools and models as well as ArcGIS 3D Analyst and ArcGIS Spatial Analyst extensions for further analysis. GIS Tutorial 1 includes a data CD for working through the exercises and fully functioning 180-day trial DVD of ArcGIS Desktop10 software, making it the smart choice for GIS beginners.
Call Number: G70.212 .G74 2011 v.1ISBN: 9781589482593Publication Date: 2010-09-15
GIS Tutorial 2 by
Updated for ArcGIS Desktop 10, GIS Tutorial 2: Spatial Analysis Workbook offers hands-on exercises to help GIS users at the intermediate level continue to build problem-solving and analysis skills. Inspired by the ESRI Guide to GIS Analysis book series, GIS Tutorial 2 provides a system for GIS users to develop proficiency in various spatial analysis methods, including location analysis; change over time, location, and value comparisons; geographic distribution; pattern analysis; and cluster identification. Whether used in combination with the ESRI Guide to GIS Analysis books or by itself, GIS Tutorial 2 is the perfect tool for anyone who is ready to take their knowledge of GIS to the next level. A DVD of data for working throung the exercises and a fully functioning 180-day trial version of ArcGIS Desktop 10 software on DVD are included.
Call Number: G70.212 .G74 2011 v.2ISBN: 9781589482586Publication Date: 2010-09-15
GIS Tutorial 3 by
GIS Tutorial 3: Advanced Workbook features exercises that demonstrate the advanced functionality of the ArcEditor and ArcInfo licenses of ArcGIS Desktop. This workbook is divided into four sections: geodatabase framework design, data creation and management, workflow optimization, and labeling and symbolizing. A fully functioning 180-day trial DVD of ArcEditor 10 software and a DVD containing data used in the tutorial exercises are included. GIS Tutorial 3 was designed to be used for advanced coursework or individual study.
Call Number: G70.212 .A435 2011ISBN: 9781589482074Publication Date: 2010-09-15
Learning and Using Geographic Information Systems by
Learning and Using Geographic Information Systems: ArcGIS 9.x Edition has been written by two leading GIS researchers and educators from Carnegie Mellon University's Heinz School. Due to the growing demand for geographic information systems within MIS, business, public policy, and other schools, this text offers a one-stop education package that will empower users to master this compelling technology. Using carefully-coordinated text reading material and step-by-step tutorials, this text introduces users to principles and concepts of GIS as well as specific instructions on ArcGIS 9.x, the leading GIS software package.
Call Number: G70.212 .G744 2007ISBN: 9781418835583Publication Date: 2006-11-29
Understanding GIS by
The first single-project GIS textbook on the market, Understanding GIS: An ArcGIS#65533; Pro Project Workbook is an excellent resource for students and educators seeking a guide for an advanced, single-project-based course that incorporates GIS across a wide range of disciplines. In this third edition, readers progress through nine lessons (35 exercises), using ArcGIS Pro software from Esri to find the best location for a new park along the Los Angeles River in Southern California. Each exercise offers step-by-step instructions, graphics to confirm exercise results, and explanations of key concepts. The book includes access to ArcGIS Desktop software, which includes ArcGIS Pro. Project data--real data, all of it updated--is downloadable from the book's resource web page.
Call Number: G70.212 .H358 2017ISBN: 9781589484832Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS by
A unique approach to learning and teaching GIS, integrating fundamental concepts with a practical applications workbook Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS® serves as both an easy-to-understand introduction to GIS and a hands-on manual for the ArcGIS® 9.1 software. This unique and exciting book is written by a leading author in the field with thirty years of experience developing successful books on computer software and GPS hardware. Each chapter presents two mutually supporting sections: Overview-a discussion of theory and ideas relating to GIS, laying the groundwork for spatial analysis Step-by-Step-instructions on how to use ArcGIS® software. There are sixty exercises and nine review exercises throughout the book, covering most of the topics students need to gain GIS jobs or continue work in GIS or GIScience Complete with a CD-ROM containing data for working out all of the exercises, Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS® features: A wealth of project-oriented exercises that offers readers a practical approach to learning skills An innovative Fast Facts approach that encourages readers to create their own reference manuals as they learn by working through the exercises A step-by-step workbook that walks readers through setting up their first projects, adding data, performing analyses, and generating maps and reports Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS® is easy to read, informative, and entertaining, as it serves to present both the theory behind and the practical applications of GIS.
Call Number: G70.212 .K47 2006ISBN: 9780471792291Publication Date: 2006-08-04
Marine Geography by
Featuring real-world examples from the ocean trenches, this collection of articles by leading ocean researchers and marine biologists shows some of the ways that GIS technology is contributing to our understanding of the underwater environment--from improving oil spill response to protecting at-risk coastal areas. Marine Geography illustrates how digital mapping and spatial analysis can serve as the integrating technology that allows various stakeholders to communicate in a common language.
Call Number: GC38.5 .M37 2002ISBN: 9781589480452Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Arcgis by Example by
About This BookDesign, build and run ArcGIS applications using ArcObjects SDKExtend ArcGIS objects and use add -ins to deploy applications on top of ArcGISAn example-centric practical guide to help you understand mapping scenarios with ArcGISWho This Book Is For If you are an application developer who wishes to enhance your skills for the GIS domain with ArcGIS, then this book is for you. Previous experience with ArcGIS is not required.What You Will LearnUse essential ArcGIS code to query geodatabasesCommunicate with ArcGIS maps, with the help of critical designing and optimization tipsHighlight and interact with objects on your mapQuery ArcGIS geodatabases with related data to display your information on ArcGISEdit your underlying geodatabaseExplore strategies for the adaptation of various types of spatial analysis techniques in the GIS frameworkAnalyze tools for geographical information systems and remote sensingExperience ArcGIS's advanced tools for manipulation of geodatabasesIn Detail ArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is considered as the turnkey solution to create and share interactive maps. ArcGIS is designed to work the way you work. With nothing to install and set up, ArcGIS helps you make your work productive from day one. This book covers the design and development of three ArcGIS applications to guide readers in crafting their own GIS solution as per their requirements. The book begins by giving you a refresher on the concepts of ArcGIS. You'll then begin developing your first ArcGIS application and a cell tower analysis tool. Following this, you will be guided through mapping signal strength and real-time maneuvering in your GIS system. You will then move on to the second application of the book: a restaurant mapping system. You will then make use of Advanced ArcObjects to develop your third application: an excavation planning manager. The book will conclude by teaching you how to work out excavation cost calculations and also save and retrieve your excavation designs.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781785283178Publication Date: 2015-08-27
Arcgis for Desktop Cookbook by
This book is a good companion to get you quickly acquainted with everything you need to increase your productivity with the ArcGIS Desktop.It would be helpful to have a bit of familiarity with basic GIS concepts.If you have no previous experience with ArcGIS, this book will still be helpful for you because it will help you catch up to the acquainted users from a practical point of view.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781783559503Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Learning Arcgis for Desktop by
Create, analyze, and map your spatial data with ArcGIS for DesktopAbout This Book- Learn how to use ArcGIS for Desktop to create and manage geographic data, perform vector and raster analysis, design maps, and share your results- Solve real-world problems and share your valuable results using the powerful instruments of ArcGIS for Desktop- Step-by-step tutorials cover the main editing, analyzing, and mapping tools in ArcGIS for DesktopWho This Book Is ForThis book is ideal for those who want to learn how to use the most important component of Esri's ArcGIS platform, ArcGIS for Desktop. It would be helpful to have a bit of familiarity with the basic concepts of GIS. Even if you have no prior GIS experience, this book will get you up and running quickly.What You Will Learn- Understand the functionality of ArcGIS for Desktop applications- Explore coordinate reference system concepts and work with different map projections- Create, populate, and document a file geodatabase- Manage, create, and edit feature shapes and attributes- Built automate analysis workfl ows with ModelBuilder- Apply basic principles of map design to create good-looking maps- Analyze raster and three-dimensional data with the Spatial Analyst and 3D Analyst extensionsIn DetailArcGIS for Desktop is one of the main components of the ESRI ArcGIS platform used to support decision making and solve real-world mapping problems. Learning ArcGIS for Desktop is a tutorial-based guide that provides a practical experience for those who are interested in start working with ArcGIS.The first five chapters cover the basic concepts of working with the File Geodatabase, as well as editing and symbolizing geospatial data. Then, the book focuses on planning and performing spatial analysis on vector and raster data using the geoprocessing and modeling tools. Finally, the basic principles of cartography design will be used to create a quality map that presents the information that resulted from the spatial analysis previously performed. To keep you learning throughout the chapters, all exercises have partial and final results stored in the dataset that accompanies the book. Finally, the book offers more than it promises by using the ArcGIS Online component in the tutorials as source of background data and for results sharing Style and approachThis easy-to-follow guide is full of hands-on exercises that use open and free geospatial datasets. The basic features of the ArcGIS for Desktop are explained in a step-by-step style.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1782175393Publication Date: 2016-03-29
Learning Arcgis Pro by
Create, analyze, maintain, and share 2D and 3D maps with the powerful tools of ArcGIS ProAbout This BookVisualize GIS data in 2D and 3D mapsCreate GIS projects for quick and easy access to data, maps, and analysis toolsA practical guide that helps to import maps, globes, and scenes from ArcMap, ArcScene, or ArcGlobeWho This Book Is For This book is for anyone wishing to learn how ArcGIS Pro can be used to create maps and perform geospatial analysis. It will be especially helpful for those that have used ArcMap and ArcCatalog in the past and are looking to migrate to Esri's newest desktop GIS solution. Though previous GIS experience is not required, you must have a solid foundation using Microsoft Windows. It is also helpful if you understand how to manage folders and files within the Microsoft Windows environment.What You Will LearnInstall ArcGIS Pro and assign Licenses to users in your organizationNavigate and use the ArcGIS Pro ribbon interface to create maps and perform analysisCreate and manage ArcGIS Pro GIS ProjectsCreate 2D and 3D maps to visualize and analyze dataAuthor map layouts using cartographic tools and best practices to show off the results of your analysis and mapsImport existing map documents, scenes, and globes into your new ArcGIS Pro projects quicklyCreate standardized workflows using TasksAutomate analysis and processes using ModelBuilder and PythonIn Detail ArcGIS Pro is Esri's newest desktop GIS application with powerful tools for visualizing, maintaining, and analyzing data. ArcGIS Pro makes use of the modern ribbon interface and 64-bit processing to increase the speed and efficiency of using GIS. It allows users to create amazing maps in both 2D and 3D quickly and easily. This book will take you from software installation to performing geospatial analysis. It is packed with how-to's for a host of commonly-performed tasks. You will start by learning how to download and install the software including hardware limitations and recommendations. Then you are exposed to the new Ribbon interface and how its smart design can make finding tools easier. After you are exposed to the new interface, you are walked through the steps to create a new GIS Project to provide quick access to project resources. With a project created, you will learn how to construct 2D and 3D maps including how to add layers, adjust symbology, and control labeling. Next you will learn how to access and use analysis tools to help you answer real-world questions. Lastly, you will learn how processes can be automated and standardized in ArcGIS Pro using Tasks, Models, and Python Scripts. This book will provide an invaluable resource for all those seeking to use ArcGIS Pro as their primary GIS application or for those looking to migrate from ArcMap and ArcCatalog.Style and approach This book includes detailed explanations of the GIS functionality and workflows in ArcGIS Pro. These are supported by easy-to-follow exercises that will help you gain an understanding of how to use ArcGIS Pro to perform a range of tasks.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781785289880Publication Date: 2015-12-04
Lining up Data in ArcGIS by
Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections is an easy-to-navigate troubleshooting reference for any GIS user with the common problem of data misalignment. Complete with full-color maps and diagrams, this book presents practical techniques on how to identify data projections, create custom projections to align data, and solve common data alignment problems. The second edition is compatible with ArcGIS#65533; 10.1 and includes new sections on aligning CAD data and appropriate use of the web Mercator projection. This book will benefit new and experienced GIS users alike.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781589483422Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Spatial Analytics with ArcGIS by
Pattern Analysis and cluster mapping made easyAbout This Book* Analyze patterns, clusters, and spatial relationships using ArcGIS tools* Get up to speed in R programming to create custom tools for analysis* Sift through tons of crime and real estate data and analyze it using the tools built in the bookWho This Book Is ForThis book is for ArcGIS developers who want to perform complex geographic analysis through the use of spatial statistics tools including ArcGIS and R. No knowledge of R is assumed.What You Will Learn* Get to know how to measure geographic distributions* Perform clustering analysis including hot spot and outlier analysis* Conduct data conversion tasks using the Utilities toolset* Understand how to use the tools provided by the Mapping Clusters toolset in the Spatial Statistics Toolbox* Get to grips with the basics of R for performing spatial statistical programming* Create custom ArcGIS tools with R and ArcGIS Bridge* Understand the application of Spatial Statistics tools and the R programming language through case studiesIn DetailSpatial statistics has the potential to provide insight that is not otherwise available through traditional GIS tools. This book is designed to introduce you to the use of spatial statistics so you can solve complex geographic analysis.The book begins by introducing you to the many spatial statistics tools available in ArcGIS. You will learn how to analyze patterns, map clusters, and model spatial relationships with these tools. Further on, you will explore how to extend the spatial statistics tools currently available in ArcGIS, and use the R programming language to create custom tools in ArcGIS through the ArcGIS Bridge using real-world examples.At the end of the book, you will be presented with two exciting case studies where you will be able to practically apply all your learning to analyze and gain insights into real estate data.Style and approachFilled with live examples that you can code along with, this book will show you different methods and techniques to effectively analyze spatial data with ArcGIS and the R language. The exciting case studies at the end will help you immediately put your learning to practice.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781787122581Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Online Tutorials and Training
- Going Places with Spatial Analysis MOOCGoing Places with Spatial Analysis is a free, instructor-led massive open online course (MOOC) offered by Esri. The course lasts six weeks and requires a minimum of two to three hours of study per week. Weekly course sections consist of videos, hands-on exercises, a quiz, a class poll and discussion, and supplementary resources. Students receive free access to Esri’s cloud-based ArcGIS Online platform and Insights for ArcGIS during the course. A certificate of completion will be awarded at the end of the course.
- GIS on the Web
When Geographic Information Systems (GIS) meet some of the world's most exciting web-mapping technology, such as Google Maps, you get richer, more interactive maps and better insights into your data. GIS on the web means using tools like Google Maps, Bing Maps, and Esri to create map mashups: multilayered visualizations that combine data from multiple sources. In this course, Jason VanHorn shows how to use these tools to analyze geodata and create interactive, mobile-ready maps that communicate your ideas better than ever before. - Real-World GIS
Learning GIS (geographical information systems) requires training in cartography, database management, and spatial analysis. But once you've built a solid foundation in the basics, how do you approach GIS challenges in the real world? Dr. Jason VanHorn is here to help you master practical GIS scenarios, and answers the 7 most common questions he receives from other GIS professionals, including: Where can I get quality data? How do I create projections? What's an inexpensive solution for collecting geospatial data? and Where can I find a GIS job? - Learning ArcGIS
Get up and running with ArcGIS, a true geographic information system (GIS) that allows you to dig into highly accurate geospatial data in a way other mapping applications can't compete with. It's great creating maps, analyzing data for land use studies and other reports, and preparing data for use in an application or database. Let Adam Wilbert show you how to display, analyze, and illustrate geospatial data with ArcGIS. He explores how to import data from multiple sources, manage it with the ArcGIS catalog, and then start making maps. Learn how to lay out your data in the ArcMap component; add symbols, scale bars, and legends; and get your maps out of ArcGIS and into the real world, whether it's for printing or export to another application. - ArcGIS Essential Training
Learn to create and manage data, maps, and analytical models with ArcGIS. Author Adam Wilbert shows how to get around maps and start adding your own data and importing data from existing databases. He demonstrates how to select and edit individual map elements, and connect to advanced geospatial data sources. He explains the finer points of working with vector vs. raster data, and then shows how to style your map so it's easy for others to interpret, including finishing touches such as a legend, scale bar, and annotations. Plus, learn how to use ModelBuilder to sequence workflows and share them with the rest of your organization. - ArcGIS Pro Essential Training
Get data-mapping and geoprocessing power in a new, more intuitive work environment with ArcGIS Pro. ArcGIS Pro Essential Training shows how to use the new ribbon-based interface and editing environment in ArcGIS to accomplish common 2D and 3D mapping tasks. Learn to create project-centered files that gather local and online resources and geodatabases together into a single location—making management and creation of your maps that much easier. Create multiple 2D map views and 3D scenes in a single project and save project templates to reuse your layouts. Instructor Adam Wilbert also covers manipulating data using the included ArcGIS geoprocessing tools, adding styles and symbols, and sharing the final maps via ArcGIS Online or as standalone packages.
- Introduction to ArcGIS Online
In this video tutorial, you will be introduced to the basics of ArcGIS Online. You will begin by exploring content that’s available in the form of Web maps and applications (apps). Then you will use the ArcGIS Online Map Viewer to search for content, add features to a map and save and share your completed map.
- Geographic Information System (GIS) Tutorial
The MIT GIS Services Group at the MIT Libraries hosts a number of tutorial workshops throughout the year. This resource gathers together some of those introductory workshop materials designed to accustom GIS novices to the various available software packages and introduce them to some of the many features included in GIS systems. Topics include an introduction to two GIS applications, spatial data analysis, and spatial statistics.
ArcGIS may experience compatibility issues with Microsoft Excel 2016. If you receive the following error while trying to import Excel data into ArcMap or other ArcGIS software:
- Failed to connect to database.
- An underlying database error occurred.
- Class not registered.
Try saving your Excel file to a .csv file format and moving the file from any external drive to the computer's desktop. This should allow you to import your Excel data.
If ArcGIS Pro requests your login information, you do not have to log in. Instead click "Configure Your Licensing Options" and select "Single User" from the drop-down. Click OK. You should then be able to use ArcGIS Pro.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 