NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: JMP
General Information
JMP can be found on all of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations.
JMP (pronounced "jump") is a suite of computer programs for statistical analysis developed by the JMP business unit of SAS Institute. It was launched in 1989 to take advantage of the graphical user interface introduced by the Macintosh. It has since been significantly rewritten and made available for the Windows operating system. JMP is used in applications such as Six Sigma, quality control, and engineering, design of experiments, and research in science, engineering, and social sciences.
JMP offers a 30 day free trial.
Get it here!
https://www.jmp.com/en_us/download-jmp-free-trial.html
Remote Licenses Are Available! Please see "Remote License Procedures" Box below...
Library Resources
JMP Start Statistics by
Written by JMP developers John Sall, Ann Lehman, and Lee Creighton, of SAS Institute, JMP Start Statistics is the official user's guide to JMP- and JMP IN - the powerful statistical discovery software created by SAS Institute. Designed for first-time users of JMP 4 and JMP IN, JMP Start Statistics is a comprehensive reference tool, rich with examples and exercises show how to use JMP and JMP IN to analyze real data. It contains clear instruction on JMP's many statistical functions. And it even serves as a handy guidebook to learning basic statistical concepts.Overall, this guidebook is a friendly and enjoyable, yet comprehensive, introduction to JMP and JMP IN."
Call Number: QA276.4 .S162 2001ISBN: 0534359671Publication Date: 2000-07-13
Discovering Jmp 13 by
Discovering JMP 13 provides a basic introduction to using JMP. For new users of JMP, this is a great place to start. The book also includes details about importing your data into JMP, analyzing the data, and sharing the results.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604732Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp Start Statistics by
This book provides hands-on tutorials with just the right amount of conceptual and motivational material to illustrate how to use the intuitive interface for data analysis in JMP. Each chapter features concept-specific tutorials, examples, brief reviews of concepts, step-by-step illustrations, and exercises. Updated for JMP 13, JMP Start Statistics, Sixth Edition includes many new features, including: The redesigned Formula Editor. New and improved ways to create formulas in JMP directly from the data table or dialogs. Interface updates, including improved menu layout. Updates and enhancements in many analysis platforms. New ways to get data into JMP and to save and share JMP results. Many new features that make it easier to use JMP.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629608754Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Using Jmp 13 by
Using JMP 13 shows you how to perform common tasks such as importing data, setting column properties, exporting analyses as graphics or HTML, and modifying JMP preferences. Details about connecting to SAS and working in the Formula Editor are also provided.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604701Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Basic Analysis by
JMP 13 Basic Analysis covers the initial types of analyses that you often perform in JMP, such as univariate, bivariate, and oneway analyses. Creating tables of summary statistics with the Tabulate platform is included along with approximating sampling distributions using bootstrapping. Find information about how to clean up your data before performing analyses. Read about performing powerful parametric and nonparametric simulation capability using Simulation.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604718Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Design of Experiments Guide, Second Edition by
The JMP 13 Design of Experiments Guide covers classic DOE designs (for example, full factorial, response surface, and mixture designs). Read about more flexible custom designs, which you generate to fit your particular experimental situation. And discover JMPa (TM)s definitive screening designs, an efficient way to identify important factor interactions using fewer runs than required by traditional designs. The book also provides guidance on determining an appropriate sample size for your study.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629609430Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Jmp 13 Fitting Linear Models, Second Edition by
JMP 13 Fitting Linear Models focuses on the Fit Model platform and many of its personalities. Linear and logistic regression, analysis of variance and covariance, and stepwise procedures are covered. Also included are multivariate analysis of variance, mixed models, generalized models, and models based on penalized regression techniques.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629609553Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Jmp 13 Multivariate Methods, Second Edition by
JMP 13 Multivariate Methods describes techniques for analyzing several variables simultaneously. The book covers descriptive measures, such as correlations. It also describes methods that give insight into the structure of the multivariate data, such as clustering, latent class analysis, principal components, discriminant analysis, and partial least squares.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629609560Publication Date: 2017-02-21
JMP 13 Profilers, Second Edition by
JMP 13 Profilers covers the family of interactive profiling tools, which enable you to view cross-sections of any response surface. The book also includes details about plotting points and surfaces in a three-dimensional graph.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629609638Publication Date: 2017-02-21
JMP 13 Predictive and Specialized Modeling, Second Edition by
JMP 13 Predictive and Specialized Modeling provides details about modeling techniques such as partitioning, neural networks, nonlinear regression, and time series analysis. Topics include the Gaussian platform, which is useful in analyzing computer simulation experiments. The book also covers the Response Screening platform, which is useful in testing the effect of a predictor when you have many responses.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629609676Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Preparing Data for Analysis with Jmp by
An introduction on how to use JMP to manage data for analysis. The book is organized within a framework of statistical investigations and model-building (where data acquisition and prep commonly eat up something like 75% of the effort and time) and in doing so illustrates the new data handling features in JMP, such as Query Builder.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604183Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Jmp 13 Essential Graphing by
Start with JMP 13 Essential Graphing to find the ideal graph for your data. The book begins with Graph Builder, a quick way to create graphs in a drag-and-drop window. Line charts, ellipses, box plots, and maps are just a few of the graphs available in Graph Builder. Find information about creating other types of plots: bubble plots, scatterplots, parallel plots, and more.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604749Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Scripting Guide by
JMP 13 Scripting Guide provides details for taking advantage of the powerful JMP Scripting Language (JSL). Learn how to write and debug scripts, manipulate data tables, construct display boxes, create JMP applications, and more.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604763Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Jsl Syntax Reference by
The JMP 13 JSL Syntax Reference focuses on functions and their arguments, and messages that you send to objects and display boxes. Notes and examples are included.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604770Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Quality and Process Methods by
JMP 13 Quality and Process Methods describes tools for evaluating and improving processes. The book begins by discussing creating control charts, which let you visualize process measurements over time, quantify common cause variation, and identify special cause variation. Details about estimating your process capability based on measurement systems analysis studies are included. Lastly, the book discusses Pareto plots and cause-and-effect diagrams to identify root causes of variability.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604800Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Jmp 13 Reliability and Survival Methods by
JMP 13 Reliability and Survival Methods provides details about evaluating and improving reliability in a product or system and analyzing survival data for people and products. The book explains how to fit the best distribution to your time-to-event data or analyze destruction data. A few other topics include analyzing competing causes of failure, modeling reliability as improvements are made over time, and analyzing recurring events.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781629604817Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Fundamentals of Predictive Analytics with JMP by
Fundamentals of Predictive Analytics with JMP bridges the gap between courses on basic statistics, which focus on univariate and bivariate analysis, and courses on data mining/predictive analytics. This book provides the technical knowledge and problem-solving skills needed to perform real data multivariate analysis. Utilizing JMP 10 and JMP Pro, this book offers new and enhanced resources, including an add-in to Microsoft Excel, Graph Builder, and data mining capabilities.Written for students in undergraduate and graduate statistics courses, this book first teaches students to recognize when it is appropriate to use the tool, to understand what variables and data are required, and to know what the results might be. Second, it teaches them how to interpret the results, followed by step-by-step instructions on how and where to perform and evaluate the analysis in JMP. With the new emphasis on business intelligence, business analytics and predictive analytics, this book is invaluable to everyone who needs to expand their knowledge of statistics and apply real problem-solving analysis.This book is part of the SAS Press program.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781612904252Publication Date: 2016-04-27
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 
Remote Licenses Procedures
You can request JMP licenses through OIIT using the following instructions:
- Email Charles Keller at ckeller1@nova.edu and copy oclibrary@nova.edu with the request for a remote JMP license
- For Windows Users:
- Open the OneDrive link and select the Windows folder by clicking (a blue Check will appear) in front of the folder like the screenshot below and choosing Download from the dropdown menu.
- Once downloaded, inside the Windows folder, run SETUP.EXE to install JMP Pro 16. On the JMP 16 screen and subsequent screens, select Next and then Install. Click Finish to close the installation window.
- JMP is now ready to run.
- For Mac Users:
- Open the OneDrive link and select the Macintosh folder by clicking (a blue Check will appear) in front of the folder like the screenshot below and choosing Download from the dropdown menu.
- Once downloaded, inside the Macintosh folder you will see two files. The “JMP_OSX_X86-64.txt” file is the license file that you will need after the installation to activate JMP. Double-click the JMP-install.dmg to open the disk image.
- Double-click the JMP Pro 16.pkg to start the installer. Click Install and accept defaults as appropriate. Once it has completed, Click Quit to close the installation window.
- Activate JMP for Mac:
- If this is a new installation:
- Open JMP from the Applications folder.
- In the "Provide your JMP License" window, select "Open License".
- Select the “JMP_OSX_X86-64.txt” license file in the Macintosh folder you downloaded in step 1 then click on "Choose".
- Click OK.
- If you have previously installed JMP and just need to update the license:
- Open JMP from the Applications folder.
- From the File menu, select New > Script to open a script window.
- Enter this line: renew license();
- From the Edit menu, select Run Script.
- In the resulting Renew Your JMP License window, click Open License.
- Navigate to where you saved the JMP.PER license file.
- Select the JMP.PER file and then click on "Choose".
- Click OK.
- If this is a new installation:
Online Tutorials and Training
- JMP in 60 Seconds
What's JMP? It's statistical discovery software from SAS. JMP is the tool of choice for scientists, engineers and other data explorers in almost every industry and government sector. Download a free trial of JMP statistical software: http://bit.ly/2mEkJw3
JMP combines powerful statistics with dynamic graphics, in memory and on the desktop. Interactive and visual, JMP reveals insights that raw tables of numbers or static graphs tend to hide.
Because everything is linked – the graphics, statistics and data – JMP encourages you to dig deeper and ask more questions, improving your chance of making breakthrough discoveries in your data. With JMP, analyses unfold, driven by what the data reveals at each step. You can explore your data without leaving the analysis flow or having to rerun commands as new questions arise.
JMP brings your data analysis to a whole new level, letting you tackle routine and difficult statistical problems more easily and communicate your findings more effectively. - JMP Basics for Professors and Students
Live webinar on JMP basics for professors and students.
