NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: ENVI
General Information
ENVI can be found on all of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations.
ENVI, "ENvironment for Visualizing Images") is a software application used to process and analyze geospatial imagery. It is commonly used by remote sensing professionals and image analysts.
Library Resources
Image Analysis, Classification and Change Detection in Remote Sensing by
Image Analysis, Classification and Change Detection in Remote Sensing: With Algorithms for ENVI/IDL and Python, Third Edition introduces techniques used in the processing of remote sensing digital imagery. It emphasizes the development and implementation of statistically motivated, data-driven techniques. The author achieves this by tightly interweaving theory, algorithms, and computer codes. See What#65533;s New in the Third Edition: Inclusion of extensive code in Python, with a cloud computing example New material on synthetic aperture radar (SAR) data analysis New illustrations in all chapters Extended theoretical development The material is self-contained and illustrated with many programming examples in IDL. The illustrations and applications in the text can be plugged in to the ENVI system in a completely transparent fashion and used immediately both for study and for processing of real imagery. The inclusion of Python-coded versions of the main image analysis algorithms discussed make it accessible to students and teachers without expensive ENVI/IDL licenses. Furthermore, Python platforms can take advantage of new cloud services that essentially provide unlimited computational power. The book covers both multispectral and polarimetric radar image analysis techniques in a way that makes both the differences and parallels clear and emphasizes the importance of choosing appropriate statistical methods. Each chapter concludes with exercises, some of which are small programming projects, intended to illustrate or justify the foregoing development, making this self-contained text ideal for self-study or classroom use.
Call Number: G70.4 .C36 2014ISBN: 9781466570375Publication Date: 2014-06-06
GIS Fundamentals, Second Edition by
With GIS technology increasingly available to a wider audience on devices from apps on smartphones to satnavs in cars, many people routinely use spatial data in a way which used to be the preserve of GIS specialists. However spatial data is stored and analyzed on a computer still tends to be described in academic texts and articles which require specialist knowledge or some training in computer science. Developed to introduce computer science literature to geography students, GIS Fundamentals, Second Edition provides an accessible examination of the underlying principles for anyone with no formal training in computer science. See What#65533;s New in the Second Edition: Coverage of the use of spatial data on the Internet Chapters on databases and on searching large databases for spatial queries Improved coverage on route-finding Improved coverage of heuristic approaches to solving real-world spatial problems International standards for spatial data The book begins with a brief but detailed introduction to how computers work and how they are programmed, giving anyone with no previous computer science background a foundation to understand the remainder of the book. As with all parts of the book there are also suggestions for further sources of reading. The book then describes the ways in which vector and raster data can be stored and how algorithms are designed to perform fundamental operations such as detecting where lines intersect. From these simple beginnings the book moves into the more complex structures used for handling surfaces and networks and contains a detailed account of what it takes to determine the shortest route between two places on a network. The final sections of the book review problems, such as the "Travelling Salesman" problem, which are so complex that it is not known whether an optimum solution exists. Using clear, concise language, but without sacrificing technical rigour, the book gives readers an understanding of what it takes to produce systems which allow them to find out where to make their next purchase and how to drive to the right place to collect it.
Call Number: G70.212 .W58 2014ISBN: 9781439886953Publication Date: 2013-09-25
Advances in Mapping from Remote Sensor Imagery by
Advances in Mapping from Remote Sensor Imagery: Techniques and Applicationsreviews some of the latest developments in remote sensing and information extraction techniques applicable to topographic and thematic mapping. Providing an interdisciplinary perspective, leading experts from around the world have contributed chapters examining state-of-the-art techniques as well as widely used methods. The book covers a broad range of topics including photogrammetric mapping and LiDAR remote sensing for generating high quality topographic products, global digital elevation models, current methods for shoreline mapping, and the identification and classification of residential buildings. Contributors also showcase cutting-edge developments for environmental and ecological mapping, including assessment of urbanization patterns, mapping vegetation cover, monitoring invasive species, and mapping marine oil spills--crucial for monitoring this significant environmental hazard. The authors exemplify the information presented in this text with case studies from around the world. Examples include: Envisat/ERS-2 images used to generate digital elevation models over northern Alaska In situradiometric observations and MERIS images employed to retrieve chlorophyll a concentration in inland waters in Australia ERS-1/2 SAR images utilized to map spatiotemporal deformation in the southwestern United States Aerospace sensors and related information extraction techniques that support various mapping applications have recently garnered more attention due to the advances in remote sensing theories and technologies. This book brings together top researchers in the field, providing a state-of-the-art review of some of the latest advancements in remote sensing and mapping technologies.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781439874592Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Remote Sensing Imagery by
Dedicated to remote sensing images, from their acquisition to their use in various applications, this book covers the global lifecycle of images, including sensors and acquisition systems, applications such as movement monitoring or data assimilation, and image and data processing.It is organized in three main parts. The first part presents technological information about remote sensing (choice of satellite orbit and sensors) and elements of physics related to sensing (optics and microwave propagation). The second part presents image processing algorithms and their specificities for radar or optical, multi and hyper-spectral images. The final part is devoted to applications: change detection and analysis of time series, elevation measurement, displacement measurement and data assimilation.Offering a comprehensive survey of the domain of remote sensing imagery with a multi-disciplinary approach, this book is suitable for graduate students and engineers, with backgrounds either in computer science and applied math (signal and image processing) or geo-physics. About the Authors Florence Tupin is Professor at Telecom ParisTech, France. Her research interests include remote sensing imagery, image analysis and interpretation, three-dimensional reconstruction, and synthetic aperture radar, especially for urban remote sensing applications.Jordi Inglada works at the Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (French Space Agency), Toulouse, France, in the field of remote sensing image processing at the CESBIO laboratory. He is in charge of the development of image processing algorithms for the operational exploitation of Earth observation images, mainly in the field of multi-temporal image analysis for land use and cover change.Jean-Marie Nicolas is Professor at Telecom ParisTech in the Signal and Imaging department. His research interests include the modeling and processing of synthetic aperture radar images.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781306533218Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Remote Sensing Image Analysis by
Remote Sensing image analysis is mostly done using only spectral information on a pixel by pixel basis. Information captured in neighbouring cells, or information about patterns surrounding the pixel of interest often provides useful supplementary information. This book presents a wide range of innovative and advanced image processing methods for including spatial information, captured by neighbouring pixels in remotely sensed images, to improve image interpretation or image classification. Presented methods include different types of variogram analysis, various methods for texture quantification, smart kernel operators, pattern recognition techniques, image segmentation methods, sub-pixel methods, wavelets and advanced spectral mixture analysis techniques. Apart from explaining the working methods in detail a wide range of applications is presented covering land cover and land use mapping, environmental applications such as heavy metal pollution, urban mapping and geological applications to detect hydrocarbon seeps. The book is meant for professionals, PhD students and graduates who use remote sensing image analysis, image interpretation and image classification in their work related to disciplines such as geography, geology, botany, ecology, forestry, cartography, soil science, engineering and urban and regional planning.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1402025599Publication Date: 2006-07-17
Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery by
An important text that identifies and introduces new trends in image analysis Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery provides thorough coverage of the entire process of analyzing remotely sensed data for the purpose of producing accurate representations in thematic map format. Written in easy-to-follow language with minimal technical jargon, the book explores cutting-edge techniques and trends in image analysis, as well as the relationship between image processing and other recently emerged special technologies.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780071604666Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Remote Sensing from Air and Space by
In this new edition of an SPIE bestseller, R. C. Olsen examines the definition and uses of remote sensing from a military perspective. The book discusses the instruments and principles that support a wide range of systems, including optical, thermal, radar, and LiDAR. Full-color images, as well as detailed examples and problems sets, make this a valuable textbook for students and engineers alike.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781510601512Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Seafloor Mapping along Continental Shelves by
This university-level reference work covers a range of remote sensing techniques that are useful for mapping and visualizing benthic environments on continental shelves. Chapters focus on overviews of the history and future of seafloor mapping techniques, cartographical visualisation and communication of seafloor mapping, and practical applications of new technologies. Seabed mapping is referenced by high-resolution seismic methods, sidescan sonar, multibeam bathymetry, satellite imagery, LiDAR, acoustic backscatter techniques, and soundscape ecology monitoring, use of autonomous underwater vehicles, among other methods. The wide breadth of subjects in this volume provides diversified coverage of seafloor imaging. This collection of modern seafloor mapping techniques summarizes the state of the art methods for mapping continental shelves.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9783319251219Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Advanced Remote Sensing by
Advanced Remote Sensing is an application-based reference that provides a single source of mathematical concepts necessary for remote sensing data gathering and assimilation. It presents state-of-the-art techniques for estimating land surface variables from a variety of data types, including optical sensors such as RADAR and LIDAR. Scientists in a number of different fields including geography, geology, atmospheric science, environmental science, planetary science and ecology will have access to critically-important data extraction techniques and their virtually unlimited applications. While rigorous enough for the most experienced of scientists, the techniques are well designed and integrated, making the book's content intuitive, clearly presented, and practical in its implementation. Comprehensive overview of various practical methods and algorithms Detailed description of the principles and procedures of the state-of-the-art algorithms Real-world case studies open several chapters More than 500 full-color figures and tables Edited by top remote sensing experts with contributions from authors across the geosciences
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123859549Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Coral Reef Remote Sensing by
Remote sensing stands as the defining technology in our ability to monitor coral reefs, as well as their biophysical properties and associated processes, at regional to global scales. With overwhelming evidence that much of Earth's reefs are in decline, our need for large-scale, repeatable assessments of reefs has never been so great. Fortunately, the last two decades have seen a rapid expansion in the ability for remote sensing to map and monitor the coral reef ecosystem, its overlying water column, and surrounding environment. Remote sensing is now a fundamental tool for the mapping, monitoring and management of coral reef ecosystems. Remote sensing offers repeatable, quantitative assessments of habitat and environmental characteristics over spatially extensive areas. As the multi-disciplinary field of coral reef remote sensing continues to mature, results demonstrate that the techniques and capabilities continue to improve. New developments allow reef assessments and mapping to be performed with higher accuracy, across greater spatial areas, and with greater temporal frequency. The increased level of information that remote sensing now makes available also allows more complex scientific questions to be addressed. As defined for this book, remote sensing includes the vast array of geospatial data collected from land, water, ship, airborne and satellite platforms. The book is organized by technology, including: visible and infrared sensing using photographic, multispectral and hyperspectral instruments; active sensing using light detection and ranging (LiDAR); acoustic sensing using ship, autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV) and in-water platforms; and thermal and radar instruments. Emphasis and Audience This book serves multiple roles. It offers an overview of the current state-of-the-art technologies for reef mapping, provides detailed technical information for coral reef remote sensing specialists, imparts insight on the scientific questions that can be tackled using this technology, and also includes a foundation for those new to reef remote sensing. The individual sections of the book include introductory overviews of four main types of remotely sensed data used to study coral reefs, followed by specific examples demonstrating practical applications of the different technologies being discussed. Guidelines for selecting the most appropriate sensor for particular applications are provided, including an overview of how to utilize remote sensing data as an effective tool in science and management. The text is richly illustrated with examples of each sensing technology applied to a range of scientific, monitoring and management questions in reefs around the world. As such, the book is broadly accessible to a general audience, as well as students, managers, remote sensing specialists and anyone else working with coral reef ecosystems.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9789048192922Publication Date: 2013-04-18
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 
Online Tutorials and Training
- Real-World GIS
Learning GIS (geographical information systems) requires training in cartography, database management, and spatial analysis. But once you've built a solid foundation in the basics, how do you approach GIS challenges in the real world? Dr. Jason VanHorn is here to help you master practical GIS scenarios, and answers the 7 most common questions he receives from other GIS professionals, including: Where can I get quality data? How do I create projections? What's an inexpensive solution for collecting geospatial data? and Where can I find a GIS job?
