NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: Corel PaintShop Pro
General Information
Corel PaintShop Pro can be found on all of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations. It was provided to students by the 2018-2019 SGA Board.
Corel PaintShop Pro is designed as a raster graphics editor used for image manipulation. It is not as powerful as Adobe Photoshop but is much more user-friendly. The first time you use this program on a computer station, you will be required to agree to a EULA agreement.
PaintShopPro 2020 offers a 30 day free trial.
Get it here!
Library Resources
Designing Web Graphics by
The most influential web design book ever written, completely updated to cover motion graphics, broadband interactive design, and more. Since it was first published in 1995, designing web graphics has been the seminal resource for web designers to learn the basics and then the nuances of solid design for the web. Lynda Weinman has been updating the book to reflect changes in the technologies affecting web design, but dwg.4 has been largely rewritten from the ground up. Included is coverage of motion graphics made possible by the Flash phenomenon, broadband-enabled graphics issues, usability, and more. Lynda is rewriting the book so that all coverage of specific tools is focused on the essential functionality of these programs (Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, etc.) and not on version-specific attributes of the software, making the book relevant longer for more users.
Call Number: T385 .W454 2003ISBN: 0735710791Publication Date: 2002-12-31
Digital Photography for Next to Nothing by
Take photos like a pro without breaking the bank by using FREE and nearly FREE software and hardware explained in this book. Get professional looking shots from a low-cost camera Save money by building your own lighting rigs, tripods, monopods and stabilisers for next to nothing Learn how to use older lenses on modern digital cameras, and make your own macro lens, lens hoods, flash diffusers, flash concentrators, decorative Bokeh effect lenses and more Use dozens of FREE and low cost photo applications for processing, viewing, cataloguing, editing, creating HDR, and photo stitching Build powerful photography processing and editing suites with free software and plugins that go head to head with expensive tools like Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom
Call Number: TR267 .L49 2010ISBN: 9780470687260Publication Date: 2010-04-26
Digital Photography Essentials by
Digital Photography Essentials is the authoritative guide to digital photography from bestselling author and photographer Tom Ang. Using beautiful images and jargon-free yet highly practical text, Digital Photography Essentials covers the basics of digital photography and explains different ways to approach a subject, how to develop projects, image manipulation, and printing and sharing techniques, so you can build your skills from beginner to confident and creative photographer. Completely updated and now newly repackaged with a fresh, contemporary layout, Digital Photography Essentials is a must-have for any aspiring digital photographer.
Call Number: TR267 .A5352 2016ISBN: 9781465438850Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner by
Master the tools and techniques of this exciting, contemporary medium nbsp; How can you create stunning artwork that combines the traditions of conventional media with the marvelous opportunities of digital painting programs? nbsp; With Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner, learn the techniques of digital painting to unleash the endless possibilities for this unique medium. Writing for beginners with little to no experience in digital painting, Carlyn Beccia begins with the fundamentals, including understanding brushes, canvases, and available media--with opportunities to practice and experiment along the way. The easy to follow tutorials show how to create a diverse range of art, including drawings, sketches in pastel and watercolor, oil paintings, and mixed media pieces. nbsp; Whatever your interests in art and digital media, Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner will be your point of departure for making your own expressive and unique digital works. nbsp; ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; A practical and informative guide to digital painting with Photoshop and Painter ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Includes comprehensive illustrated tutorials and walkthroughs ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Shows the techniques and tools that effectively simulate natural media ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Covers a wide range of techniques and painting styles ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Carlyn Beccia has won several awards for her children's picture books and illustrations. Her tutorials are published in Painter magazine
Call Number: N7433.8 .B43 2012ISBN: 9780823099368Publication Date: 2012-04-24
Secrets of Award-Winning Digital Artists by
* This book is both instructional and inspirational. * It features 50 full-color reproductions of the award-winning digital art from worldwide competitions, including Macworld, Seybold, and others, featuring some of the best artists in the international digital art community. * The book's artwork was selected from thousands of entries by contest judges who are highly regarded in the digital art and computer graphics industry * Each section includes one or more cutting-edge techniques that reveal the secrets behind the winning artwork. * This book can be used an enjoyed for inspiration as well as for reference to scores of cutting-edge techniques for Photoshop, Painter and other leading graphic applications * This book is equally useful for artists working on Macintosh and Windows platforms.
Call Number: N7433.8 .S87 2002ISBN: 0764536915Publication Date: 2002-09-12
The Essential Guide to Image Processing by
A complete introduction to the basic and intermediate concepts of image processing from the leading people in the field Up-to-date content, including statistical modeling of natural, anistropic diffusion, image quality and the latest developments in JPEG 2000 This comprehensive and state-of-the art approach to image processing gives engineers and students a thorough introduction, and includes full coverage of key applications: image watermarking, fingerprint recognition, face recognition and iris recognition and medical imaging. "This book combines basic image processing techniques with some of the most advanced procedures. Introductory chapters dedicated to general principles are presented alongside detailed application-orientated ones. As a result it is suitably adapted for different classes of readers, ranging from Master to PhD students and beyond." - Prof. Jean-Philippe Thiran, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland "Al Bovik's compendium proceeds systematically from fundamentals to today's research frontiers. Professor Bovik, himself a highly respected leader in the field, has invited an all-star team of contributors. Students, researchers, and practitioners of image processing alike should benefit from the Essential Guide." - Prof. Bernd Girod, Stanford University, USA "This book is informative, easy to read with plenty of examples, and allows great flexibility in tailoring a course on image processing or analysis." - Prof. Pamela Cosman, University of California, San Diego, USA
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780123744579Publication Date: 2009-07-08
Corel Paint Shop Pro X by
Corel Paint Shop Pro X Digital Darkroom is an easy-to-follow, tutorial approach to using Paint Shop Pro in exactly the way home users want to use it - to manipulate your own images in ways that a local photo lab often does to create both practical and comical projects. As you read, you will actually use the program to complete a variety of projects. You'll learn about key Paint Shop Pro tools almost without trying through both traditional and contemporary projects. Indulge in shrinking the kids, performing digital plastic surgery, modifying vehicles, creating creatures the tabloids would love to profile, altering pets, creating trading cards and calendars, and combining images to create once-in-a-lifetime shots. Drop people into places they've never been and challenge Mother Nature with unique perspectives. Create holiday magic, photo montages, and even do some traditional photo manipulation. Author T. Michael Clark provides careful instruction that will allow you, whether you are a novice or experienced Paint Shop Pro user, to complete projects and enjoy your experience with Paint Shop Pro X.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780768664966Publication Date: 2006-01-01
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 
Online Tutorials and Training
- PaintShop Pro Tutorialselcome to Corel’s PaintShop Pro Tutorial series! PaintShop Pro is a powerful photo editing tool that allows you to improve your photographs in countless ways.
- Photo TutorialsTake your photography skills to the next level with these easy-to-follow tutorials and learn everything you need to know to take amazing photos. With all skill levels in mind, there’s a tutorial for everyone — from the budding enthusiast to the seasoned professional.
- PaintShop Pro for BeginnersWelcome to PaintShop Pro for Beginners! This series of short easy-to-follow video tutorials is designed to make your introduction to photo-editing as simple and pleasant as possible.
- PaintShop Pro 2019 TutorialsIn this series of tutorials, we’ll take a look at what’s new in PaintShop Pro 2019. Thanks to your input, we’ve made over 50 performance improvements for faster photo editing, quicker cropping and better support, and we’ve focused on simplifying PaintShop Pro for the best possible experience. And we’ve added exciting new features like 360° photo editing and Pic-to-Painting presets.
- PaintShop Pro Training from UdemyGet in-depth training on how to use PaintShop Pro like a pro, whether you’re a professional photographer, creative designer or photo or design enthusiast.
- PaintShop Pro 2019 - Tutorial for Beginners
Get into a new Way of Learning Corel PaintShop Pro 2019. PaintShop Pro 2019 tutorial for beginners, getting started, basics. - Learn PaintShop Pro
Get a walkthrough of PaintShop Pro’s many powerful photo editing tools. Whether you’re a complete beginner - or have some experience but would love to learn more about the broad feature set. In 1 to 1.5 hours, Corel product trainer Roger Wambolt, will walk you through the interface, demoing key tools that you are likely to use. Learn everything from how to crop, straighten and correct perspective on photos, to how to makeover portraits. - Working with Plugins in PaintShop Pro
Plugins can be an excellent companion to PaintShop Pro to help take your photos to the next level! Watch and learn as some of the most popular Plugins used with PaintShop Pro are demonstrated. You're guaranteed to be inspired by the amazing possibilities! - Tips and Tricks for PaintShop Pro Featuring Roger Wambolt
PaintShop Pro is a robust and powerful photo editor and graphic design software. Join Corel product trainer Roger Wambolt as he walks you through the ins and outs of the tools and features packed into PaintShop Pro. Not only will you get an overview of the product, you’ll also learn some exciting tips and tricks to improve your workflow and overall experience. - Creating Special Effects in PaintShop Pro
Adding special effects to your images in PaintShop Pro is not only easy, it’s a fun way to experiment with different looks and styles, too! Join PaintShop Professional, Carole Asselin, in a webinar that will walk you through how to apply a variety of different special effects to your photos in no time. You will learn about artistic effects and filters, how to adjust the color and strength, alter Selective Focus and so much more! - Dodge and Burn in PaintShop Pro
In this tutorial, PaintShop Professional Bob Taylor teaches how to use PaintShop Pro's Brush tool to apply dodge, burn and sharpen effects in PaintShop Pro.