NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: Tableau
General Information
Tableau is interactive data visualization software that can query relational databases, online analytical processing cubes, cloud databases, and spreadsheets to generate graph-type data visualizations. The products can also extract, store, and retrieve data from an in-memory data engine. Tableau can directly connect to Esri shapefiles and R software.
Tableau is not found on any of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations. Students can sign up for an account here and get free access to Tableau Desktop and Tableau Online. Tableau Desktop is not available on the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations. It is recommended students reserve their student access keys to Tableau Desktop for their personal computers and use Tableau Online on the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations.
Library Resources
Information Visualization by
Information Visualization is the major revision of a classic work on information visualization. This book explores the art and science of why we see objects the way we do. Based on the science of perception and vision, the author presents the key principles at work for a wide range of applications - resulting in visualization of improved clarity, utility, and persuasiveness. This is the first work to use the science of perception to help serious designers and analysts optimize understanding and perception of their data visualizations. This unique and essential guide to human visual perception and related cognitive principles will enrich courses on information visualization and empower designers to see their way forward. Its updated review of empirical research and interface design examples will do much to accelerate innovation and adoption of information visualization. New to this edition are a new chapter on visual thinking, new sections on face perception and flow visualization, and a much-expanded chapter on color and color sequences. This book will appeal to interaction designers; graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers); financial analysts; research scientists and engineers; data miners; and managers faced with information-intensive challenges.
Call Number: TS156.2 .W37 2004ISBN: 1558608192Publication Date: 2004-05-05
Presenting Data Effectively by
Focusing on the guiding principles of presenting data in evidence-based ways so that audiences are effectively engaged and researchers are better understood, Evergreen's exciting new book offers the best communication strategies available to anyone working with data. Indeed, with this highly accessible step-by-step guide, anyone--from students developing a research poster for a school project to faculty and researchers presenting data findings at a conference--can learn how to present and communicate their research findings in more interesting and effective ways. Evergreen draws on her extensive experience in the study of research reporting, interdisciplinary evaluation, and data visualization, as well as from diverse interdisciplinary fields, including vision science, cognitive psychology, communications, and graphic design, to extract tangible and practical data-reporting communication lessons and insights. She then teaches readers how to apply those guiding principles to the design of data presentations to make it easier for the audience to understand, remember, and use data.Ancillaries * Link to the author′s blog and website * Selected chapter images in full colour * Research & Evaluation Report Layout Checklist * Templates of style sheets * Slide deck planning sheet * PowerPoint template illustrating the "Rule of Thirds" * Tips for applying guiding principles to other software programs
Call Number: P93.5 E94 2014ISBN: 9781452257365Publication Date: 2013-10-04
White Space Is Not Your Enemy by
Designing a website or brochure without an art background? Then step away from the computer and read this engaging, conversational introduction to visual communications first. Written for the beginner, White Space is Not Your Enemy, Second Edition, is a practical graphic design and layout guide that introduces the concepts and practices necessary for producing effective visual communication across a variety of formats--from web to print. This beautifully illustrated, full-color book covers all of the basics to help you develop your eye and produce evocative designs that work. Topics include: What is design? Pre-design research and brainstorming. The "works-every-time layout" and "13 layout sins." The elements and principles of design. Layouts for impact. Getting along with type. Choosing and using color. Working with photos and illustrations. Intros to infographics, storyboarding and multimedia components. Output for the web and print. Visit www.whitespacedesignbook.com for additional supporting materials.
Call Number: NC997 .G563 2013ISBN: 9780240824147Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Tableau Data Visualization Cookbook by
This Cookbook contains step-by-step instructions for Tableau users to create effective graphics. The book is designed in such a way that you can refer to it chapter by chapter; you can look at the list of recipes and read them in no particular order.You'll gain the most from this book if you have basic understanding of various chart types and of their importance. Knowing when to employ a certain graphic will be equally useful. This book will get you up to speed if you just started using Tableau. You'll find this book useful if you spend a lot of time conducting data analysis and creating reports.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781849689793Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Tableau Your Data! by
Transform your organization's data into actionable insights with Tableau Tableau is designed specifically to provide fast and easy visual analytics. The intuitive drag-and-drop interface helps you create interactive reports, dashboards, and visualizations, all without any special or advanced training. This all new edition of Tableau Your Data! is your Tableau companion, helping you get the most out of this invaluable business toolset. Tableau Your Data! shows you how to build dynamic, best of breed visualizations using the Tableau Software toolset. This comprehensive guide covers the core feature set for data analytics, and provides clear step-by-step guidance toward best practices and advanced techniques that go way beyond the user manual. You'll learn how Tableau is different from traditional business information analysis tools, and how to navigate your way around the Tableau 9.0 desktop before delving into functions and calculations, as well as sharing with the Tableau Server. Analyze data more effectively with Tableau Desktop Customize Tableau's settings for your organization's needs with detailed real-world examples on data security, scaling, syntax, and more Deploy visualizations to consumers throughout the enterprise - from sales to marketing, operations to finance, and beyond Understand Tableau functions and calculations and leverage Tableau across every link in the value chain Learn from actual working models of the book's visualizations and other web-based resources via a companion website Tableau helps you unlock the stories within the numbers, and Tableau Your Data! puts the software's full functionality right at your fingertips.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119001195Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Learning Tableau by
If you want to understand your data using data visualization and don't know where to start, then this is the book for you. Whether you are a beginner or have years of experience, this book will help you to quickly acquire the skills and techniques used to discover, analyze, and communicate data visually. Some familiarity with databases and data structures is helpful, but not required.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781784391164Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Data Visualization by
This is the age of data. There are more innovations and more opportunities for interesting work with data than ever before, but there is also an overwhelming amount of quantitative information being published every day. Data visualisation has become big business, because communication is the difference between success and failure, no matter how clever the analysis may have been. The ability to visualize data is now a skill in demand across business, government, NGOs and academia. Data Visualization: Charts, Maps, and Interactive Graphicsgives an overview of a wide range of techniques and challenges, while staying accessible to anyone interested in working with and understanding data. Features: Focusses on concepts and ways of thinking about data rather than algebra or computer code. Features 17 short chapters that can be read in one sitting. Includes chapters on big data, statistical and machine learning models, visual perception, high-dimensional data, and maps and geographic data. Contains more than 125 visualizations, most created by the author. Supported by a website with all code for creating the visualizations, further reading, datasets and practical advice on crafting the images. Whether you are a student considering a career in data science, an analyst who wants to learn more about visualization, or the manager of a team working with data, this book will introduce you to a broad range of data visualization methods. Cover image: Landscape of Change uses data about sea level rise, glacier volume decline,increasing global temperatures, and the increasing use of fossil fuels. These data linescompose a landscape shaped by the changing climate, a world in which we are now living.Copyright © Jill Pelto (jillpelto.com).
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781351781749Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Data Visualization and Statistical Literacy for Open and Big Data by
Data visualization has emerged as a serious scholarly topic, and a wide range of tools have recently been developed at an accelerated pace to aid in this research area. Examining different ways of analyzing big data can result in increased efficiency for many corporations and organizations. Data Visualization and Statistical Literacy for Open and Big Data highlights methodological developments in the way that data analytics is both learned and taught. Featuring extensive coverage on emerging relevant topics such as data complexity, statistics education, and curriculum development, this publication is geared toward teachers, academicians, students, engineers, professionals, and researchers that are interested in expanding their knowledge of data examination and analysis.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781522525134Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Big Data Visualization by
Learn effective tools and techniques to separate big data into manageable and logical components for efficient data visualizationAbout This Book- This unique guide teaches you how to visualize your cluttered, huge amounts of big data with ease- It is rich with ample options and solid use cases for big data visualization, and is a must-have book for your shelf- Improve your decision-making by visualizing your big data the right wayWho This Book Is ForThis book is for data analysts or those with a basic knowledge of big data analysis who want to learn big data visualization in order to make their analysis more useful. You need sufficient knowledge of big data platform tools such as Hadoop and also some experience with programming languages such as R. This book will be great for those who are familiar with conventional data visualizations and now want to widen their horizon by exploring big data visualizations.What You Will Learn- Understand how basic analytics is affected by big data- Deep dive into effective and efficient ways of visualizing big data- Get to know various approaches (using various technologies) to address the challenges of visualizing big data- Comprehend the concepts and models used to visualize big data- Know how to visualize big data in real time and for different use cases- Understand how to integrate popular dashboard visualization tools such as Splunk and Tableau- Get to know the value and process of integrating visual big data with BI tools such as Tableau- Make sense of the visualization options for big data, based upon the best suited visualization techniques for big dataIn DetailWhen it comes to big data, regular data visualization tools with basic features become insufficient. This book covers the concepts and models used to visualize big data, with a focus on efficient visualizations.This book works around big data visualizations and the challenges around visualizing big data and address characteristic challenges of visualizing like speed in accessing, understanding/adding context to, improving the quality of the data, displaying results, outliers, and so on. We focus on the most popular libraries to execute the tasks of big data visualization and explore "big data oriented" tools such as Hadoop and Tableau. We will show you how data changes with different variables and for different use cases with step-through topics such as: importing data to something like Hadoop, basic analytics.The choice of visualizations depends on the most suited techniques for big data, and we will show you the various options for big data visualizations based upon industry-proven techniques. You will then learn how to integrate popular visualization tools with graphing databases to see how huge amounts of certain data. Finally, you will find out how to display the integration of visual big data with BI using Cognos BI.Style and approachWith the help of insightful real-world use cases, we'll tackle data in the world of big data. The scalability and hugeness of the data makes big data visualizations different from normal data visualizations, and this book addresses all the difficulties encountered by professionals while visualizing their big data.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781785281945Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Data Visualization by
Data visualization involves graphical and visual tools used in data analysis and decision making. The emphasis in this book is on recent trends and applications of visualization tools using conventional and big data. These tools are widely used in data visualization and quality improvement to analyze, enhance, and improve the quality of products and services. Data visualization is an easy way to obtain a first look at the data visually. The book provides a collection of visual and graphical tools widely used to gain an insight into the data before applying more complex analysis. The focus is on the key application areas of these tools including business process improvement, business data analysis, health care, finance, manufacturing, engineering, process improvement, and Lean Six Sigma. The key areas of application include data and data analysis concepts, recent trends in data visualization and #65533;Big Data,#65533; widely used charts and graphs and their applications, analysis of the relationships between two or more variables graphically using scatterplots, bubble graphs, matrix plots, etc., data visualization with big data, computer applications and implementation of widely used graphical and visual tools, and computer instructions to create the graphics presented along with the data files.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781631573361Publication Date: 2016-12-31
Building Responsive Data Visualization for the Web by
Unchain your data from the desktop with responsive visualizations Building Responsive Data Visualization for the Web is a handbook for any front-end development team needing a framework for integrating responsive web design into the current workflow. Written by a leading industry expert and design lead at Starbase Go, this book provides a wealth of information and practical guidance from the perspective of a real-world designer. You'll walk through the process of building data visualizations responsively as you learn best practices that build upon responsive web design principles, and get the hands-on practice you need with exercises, examples, and source code provided in every chapter. These strategies are designed to be implemented by teams large and small, with varying skill sets, so you can apply these concepts and skills to your project right away. Responsive web design is the practice of building a website to suit base browser capability, then adding features that enhance the experience based on the user's device's capabilities. Applying these ideas to data produces visualizations that always look as if they were designed specifically for the device through which they are viewed. This book shows you how to incorporate these principles into your current practices, with highly practical hands-on training. Examine the hard data surrounding responsive design Master best practices with hands-on exercises Learn data-based document manipulation using D3.js Adapt your current strategies to responsive workflows Data is growing exponentially, and the need to visualize it in any context has become crucial. Traditional visualizations allow important data to become lost when viewed on a small screen, and the web traffic speaks for itself - viewers repeatedly demonstrate their preference for responsive design. If you're ready to create more accessible, take-anywhere visualizations, Building Responsive Data Visualization for the Web is your tailor-made solution.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119209560Publication Date: 2015-10-24
Data Visualization for Dummies by
A straightforward, full-color guide to showcasing data so your audience can see what you mean, not just read about it Big data is big news! Every company, industry, not-for-profit, and government agency wants and needs to analyze and leverage datasets that can quickly become ponderously large. Data visualization software enables different industries to present information in ways that are memorable and relevant to their mission. This full-color guide introduces you to a variety of ways to handle and synthesize data in much more interesting ways than mere columns and rows of numbers. Learn meaningful ways to show trending and relationships, how to convey complex data in a clear, concise diagram, ways to create eye-catching visualizations, and much more! Effective data analysis involves learning how to synthesize data, especially big data, into a story and present that story in a way that resonates with the audience This full-color guide shows you how to analyze large amounts of data, communicate complex data in a meaningful way, and quickly slice data into various views Explains how to automate redundant reporting and analyses, create eye-catching visualizations, and use statistical graphics and thematic cartography Enables you to present vast amounts of data in ways that won't overwhelm your audience Part technical manual and part analytical guidebook, Data Visualization For Dummies is the perfect tool for transforming dull tables and charts into high-impact visuals your audience will notice...and remember.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118502891Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Data Visualization: a Successful Design Process by
A comprehensive yet quick guide to the best approaches to designing data visualizations, with real examples and illustrative diagrams. Whatever the desired outcome ensure success by following this expert design process. This book is for anyone who has responsibility for, or is interested in trying to find innovative and effective ways to visually analyze and communicate data. There is no skill, no knowledge and no role-based pre-requisites or expectations of anyone reading this book.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781849693462Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Information Visualization by
Information Visualization is the major revision of a classic work on information visualization. This book explores the art and science of why we see objects the way we do. Based on the science of perception and vision, the author presents the key principles at work for a wide range of applications - resulting in visualization of improved clarity, utility, and persuasiveness. This is the first work to use the science of perception to help serious designers and analysts optimize understanding and perception of their data visualizations. This unique and essential guide to human visual perception and related cognitive principles will enrich courses on information visualization and empower designers to see their way forward. Its updated review of empirical research and interface design examples will do much to accelerate innovation and adoption of information visualization. New to this edition are a new chapter on visual thinking, new sections on face perception and flow visualization, and a much-expanded chapter on color and color sequences. This book will appeal to interaction designers; graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers); financial analysts; research scientists and engineers; data miners; and managers faced with information-intensive challenges.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781558608191Publication Date: 2004-05-05
Storytelling with Data by
Don't simply show your data--tell a story with it! Storytelling with Data teaches you the fundamentals of data visualization and how to communicate effectively with data. You'll discover the power of storytelling and the way to make data a pivotal point in your story. The lessons in this illuminative text are grounded in theory, but made accessible through numerous real-world examples--ready for immediate application to your next graph or presentation. Storytelling is not an inherent skill, especially when it comes to data visualization, and the tools at our disposal don't make it any easier. This book demonstrates how to go beyond conventional tools to reach the root of your data, and how to use your data to create an engaging, informative, compelling story. Specifically, you'll learn how to: Understand the importance of context and audience Determine the appropriate type of graph for your situation Recognize and eliminate the clutter clouding your information Direct your audience's attention to the most important parts of your data Think like a designer and utilize concepts of design in data visualization Leverage the power of storytelling to help your message resonate with your audience Together, the lessons in this book will help you turn your data into high impact visual stories that stick with your audience. Rid your world of ineffective graphs, one exploding 3D pie chart at a time. There is a story in your data--Storytelling with Data will give you the skills and power to tell it!
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781119002260Publication Date: 2015-10-09
Cool Infographics by
Make information memorable with creative visual design techniques Research shows that visual information is more quickly and easily understood, and much more likely to be remembered. This innovative book presents the design process and the best software tools for creating infographics that communicate. Including a special section on how to construct the increasingly popular infographic resume, the book offers graphic designers, marketers, and business professionals vital information on the most effective ways to present data. Explains why infographics and data visualizations work Shares the tools and techniques for creating great infographics Covers online infographics used for marketing, including social media and search engine optimization (SEO) Shows how to market your skills with a visual, infographic resume Explores the many internal business uses of infographics, including board meeting presentations, annual reports, consumer research statistics, marketing strategies, business plans, and visual explanations of products and services to your customers With Cool Infographics, you'll learn to create infographics to successfully reach your target audience and tell clear stories with your data.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118582305Publication Date: 2013-10-28
The Visual Organization by
The era of Big Data as arrived, and most organizations are woefully unprepared. Slowly, many are discovering that stalwarts like Excel spreadsheets, KPIs, standard reports, and even traditional business intelligence tools aren't sufficient. These old standbys can't begin to handle today's increasing streams, volumes, and types of data. Amidst all of the chaos, though, a new type of organization is emerging. In The Visual Organization, award-winning author and technology expert Phil Simon looks at how an increasingly number of organizations are embracing new dataviz tools and, more important, a new mind-set based upon data discovery and exploration. Simon adroitly shows how Amazon, Apple, Facebook, Google, Twitter, and other tech heavyweights use powerful data visualization tools to garner fascinating insights into their businesses. But make no mistake: these companies are hardly alone. Organizations of all types, industries, sizes are representing their data in new and amazing ways. As a result, they are asking better questions and making better business decisions. Rife with real-world examples and case studies, The Visual Organization is a full-color tour-de-force.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118794388Publication Date: 2014-03-24
An Introduction to Information Design by
Information design is the visualization of information through graphic design. This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation and multi-platform delivery,An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication. Fully illustrated case studies from leading designers provide professional insight into the challenges involved in creating information design for print, interactive and environmental media. Practical exercises and tips enable the reader to put this learning into practice. This makes it the perfect book for graphic design students as well as design enthusiasts.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781780673387Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Atlas of Knowledge by
The power of mapping: principles for visualizing knowledge, illustrated by many stunning large-scale, full-color maps. Maps of physical spaces locate us in the world and help us navigate unfamiliar routes. Maps of topical spaces help us visualize the extent and structure of our collective knowledge; they reveal bursts of activity, pathways of ideas, and borders that beg to be crossed. This book, from the author of Atlas of Science, describes the power of topical maps, providing readers with principles for visualizing knowledge and offering as examples forty large-scale and more than 100 small-scale full-color maps. Today, data literacy is becoming as important as language literacy. Well-designed visualizations can rescue us from a sea of data, helping us to make sense of information, connect ideas, and make better decisions in real time. In Atlas of Knowledge, leading visualization expert Katy Börner makes the case for a systems science approach to science and technology studies and explains different types and levels of analysis. Drawing on fifteen years of teaching and tool development, she introduces a theoretical framework meant to guide readers through user and task analysis; data preparation, analysis, and visualization; visualization deployment; and the interpretation of science maps. To exemplify the framework, the Atlas features striking and enlightening new maps from the popular "Places & Spaces: Mapping Science" exhibit that range from "Key Events in the Development of the Video Tape Recorder" to "Mobile Landscapes: Location Data from Cell Phones for Urban Analysis" to "Literary Empires: Mapping Temporal and Spatial Settings of Victorian Poetry" to "Seeing Standards: A Visualization of the Metadata Universe." She also discusses the possible effect of science maps on the practice of science.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780262028813Publication Date: 2015-03-20
Data Points by
A fresh look at visualization from the author of Visualize This Whether it's statistical charts, geographic maps, or the snappy graphical statistics you see on your favorite news sites, the art of data graphics or visualization is fast becoming a movement of its own. In Data Points: Visualization That Means Something, author Nathan Yau presents an intriguing complement to his bestseller Visualize This, this time focusing on the graphics side of data analysis. Using examples from art, design, business, statistics, cartography, and online media, he explores both standard-and not so standard-concepts and ideas about illustrating data. Shares intriguing ideas from Nathan Yau, author of Visualize This and creator of flowingdata.com, with over 66,000 subscribers Focuses on visualization, data graphics that help viewers see trends and patterns they might not otherwise see in a table Includes examples from the author's own illustrations, as well as from professionals in statistics, art, design, business, computer science, cartography, and more Examines standard rules across all visualization applications, then explores when and where you can break those rules Create visualizations that register at all levels, with Data Points: Visualization That Means Something.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781118462195Publication Date: 2013-04-15
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 
Online Tutorials and Training
- Get Started with Tableau DesktopThis tutorial walks you through the features and functions of Tableau Desktop version 2019.2. As you work through this tutorial, you will create multiple views in a Tableau workbook. The steps you'll take and the workbook you'll work in are based on a story about an employee who works at headquarters for a large retail chain. The story unfolds as you step through asking questions about your business and its performance.
You'll learn how to connect to data in Tableau Desktop; build, present, and share some useful views; and apply key features along the way. Budget between one and three hours to complete the steps. - Tableau Starter KitsPractice authoring, interacting, publishing, and administering Tableau.
- Tableau Free Training VideosAn archive of training videos by the Tableau staff.
- Tableau Live TrainingThese free 1-hour sessions range from introductory drag-and-drop to advanced calculations.
- Tableau On-Demand WebinarsAccess Tableau's complete library of previously recorded webinars. Discover upcoming live webinars on the Events page.
- Tableau HelpWeb resources for past and present versions of Tableau.
- Tableau Essential Training
Tableau is a widely used data analytics and visualization tool that many consider indispensable for data-science-related work. Its drag-and-drop interface makes it easy to sort, compare, and analyze data from multiple sources, including Excel, SQL Server, and cloud-based data repositories. In this course, learn what you need to know to analyze and display data using Tableau Desktop 2019—and make better, more data-driven decisions for your company. Discover how to install Tableau, connect to data sources, and sort and filter your data. Instructor Curt Frye also demonstrates how to create and manipulate data visualizations—including highlight tables, charts, scatter plots, histograms, maps, and dashboards—and shows how to share your visualizations. - Tableau 10 Essential Training
Tableau is the widely used data analytics and visualization tool that many consider indispensable for data-science-related work. Its drag-and-drop interface makes it easy to sort, compare, and analyze data from multiple sources, including Excel, SQL Server, and cloud-based data repositories. Tableau 10: Essential Training explains everything you need to know to analyze and display data using Tableau Desktop—and make better, more data-driven decisions for your company. After completing the course, you'll be able to install Tableau, connect to data sources, summarize data, and create, manipulate, and share data visualizations, including highlight tables, charts, scatter plots, histograms, maps, dashboards, and more. - Tableau 10 for Data Scientists
Tableau is designed for data science! Move beyond the basics and delve deeper into the power of this data visualization software. Learn how to deal with messy or badly formatted data, use Tableau to answer key data analytics questions, and visualize your results with maps and dashboards. Tableau-certified "Zen Master" Matt Francis will show you how to use parameters to enhance visualizations, create cross-source filters, use data extracts to optimize slow connections, and much more. - Creating Interactive Dashboards in Tableau 10
Explore your data in new ways with interactive dashboards in Tableau. Dashboards act like dynamic reports that can be used for in-depth data analysis or to present information to clients. In this course, Nate Makdad shows you how to create them in Tableau 10, the latest version of the software. He shows how to build and format the worksheets that will feed your dashboard, design the dashboard itself, integrate analytics, and add interactive parameters that allow users to customize the display. Along the way, you'll learn how to use some basic principles of visual design to make your dashboards easier to use and more visually appealing. - Tableau 10: Mastering Calculations
Tableau 10—the popular analytics and visualization tool—provides you with the ability to create powerful calculations. In this course, learn how to leverage this aspect of the platform, and start creating useful and powerful formulas in Tableau Desktop. Instructor Curt Frye begins by going into data types, conversions, and function syntax, and shares how to create a calculated field and an ad hoc calculation. He then covers how to summarize data using aggregate functions, explaining how to calculate the sum of a collection of values, as well as the average, minimum, and maximum of a set. He also discusses working with times and dates, creating conditional calculations, implementing level of detail expressions, and more. - Integrating Tableau and R for Data Science
R is known as one of the most robust statistical computing solutions out there. Tableau—a leading business intelligence platform—provides excellent data visualization and exploration capabilities. When combined, Tableau and R offer one of the most powerful and complete data analytics solutions in the industry today, providing businesses with unparalleled abilities to see and understand their data. In this course, learn how to integrate these two platforms, as well as how to determine when each one is a better choice. Instructor Ben Sullins explains how to connect Tableau to R, and covers geocoding, running linear regression models, clustering, and more. - Cleaning, Transforming and Prepping Your Data With Tableau Prep
Very rarely is data perfectly ready for visualization. Tableau Prep is a visual data preparation tool that allows you to get to data analysis faster by enabling the quick cleaning, reshaping, and prepping of data—using the same drag-and-drop paradigm as Tableau Desktop. This course shows exactly how to use Tableau Prep for data preparation. Instructor Matt Francis show how to connect to multiple data sources and combine them into a single source of data using joins and unions. Then learn how to filter, split, and rename data and how to pivot data to convert wide data into the tall data that Tableau Desktop prefers. Matt also shows how to sample data, adjust sampling size, and preview and share your final output with Tableau Desktop. The training wraps up with some example flows that show Tableau Prep in action. By the end of the course, you will have learned the skills to make Tableau Prep an essential part of your Tableau data viz process.
- Essential Design Principles for Tableau
In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization. - Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau
In this first course of the specialization, you will discover just what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization story from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization. - Visual Analytics with Tableau
In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps. - Creating Dashboards and Storytelling with Tableau
Leveraging the visualizations you created in the previous course, Visual Analytics with Tableau, you will create dashboards that help you identify the story within your data, and you will discover how to use Storypoints to create a powerful story to leave a lasting impression with your audience. - Data Visualization with Tableau Project
In this project-based course, you will follow your own interests to create a portfolio worthy single-frame viz or multi-frame data story that will be shared on Tableau Public. You will use all the skills taught in this Specialization to complete this project step-by-step, with guidance from your instructors along the way. You will first create a project proposal to identify your goals for the project, including the question you wish to answer or explore with data. You will then find data that will provide the information you are seeking. You will then import that data into Tableau and prepare it for analysis. Next you will create a dashboard that will allow you to explore the data in depth and identify meaningful insights. You will then give structure to your data story by writing the story arc in narrative form. Finally, you will consult your design checklist to craft the final viz or data story in Tableau. This is your opportunity to show the world what you’re capable of - so think big, and have confidence in your skills! - Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau
In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles. - Introduction to Data Exploration and Visualization
This course answers the questions, What is data visualization and What is the power of visualization? It also introduces core concepts such as dataset elements, data warehouses and exploratory querying, and combinations of visual variables for graphic usefulness, as well as the types of statistical graphs, tools that are essential to exploratory data analysis. - Multivariate and Geographical Data Analysis
Covering the tools and techniques of both multivariate and geographical analysis, this course provides hands-on experience visualizing data that represents multiple variables. This course will use statistical techniques and software to develop and analyze geographical knowledge. - Temporal and Hierarchical Data Analysis
Data repositories in which cases are related to subcases are identified as hierarchical. This course covers the representation schemes of hierarchies and algorithms that enable analysis of hierarchical data, as well as provides opportunities to apply several methods of analysis. - Additional Tools Used for Data Visualization
This course will expose learners to additional tools that can be used to perform Data Visualization. In particular, the courses focuses on Tableau, a state-of-the-art visualization package. In this course, the visualization concepts from previous courses are reinforced and the Tableau software is introduced through replication of the visualizations built in previous courses.
- Learn Tableau Desktop for Accurate Business Analysis
Presented in a business context and working step-by-step through an instructor-led case study, this course goes beyond simply teaching the functions of Tableau Desktop. This course uses real-world business problems to give you 10 core skills that business users should have when using Tableau Desktop. - Tableau Tutorial for Beginners
Are you looking to learn visualization for your next job as a data analyst or data scientist? If so, I have got a new course for you. I have recorded a series of videos to learn visualization using Tableau. You will learn, how to connect to different data sources like excel, SQL server and other databases in very less time, without needing to know complex coding and quickly clean up the data and put together powerful visualization. We will look at various examples to take complex data and visualize a simple story using the power of graphs and charts. - Charts in Tableau 10.3
This course is for beginners who need to learn business Analytics from scratch. Here you will learn: 1. What is Tableau?; 2. How to analyze the data in a meaningful manner; 3. 20 different types of charts and graphs. - Quick Start Guide to Tableau For Beginners
In this course you'll be learning in a very short period of time the basics to get started in Tableau. That means basic graphics, some simple visualization tricks, dashboard creation, data types, dual plotting, data connectivity, quick table calculations, and formatting options.
- Data Visualization for All
Tell your story and show it with data. In this data visualization course, you will learn how to design interactive charts and customized maps for your website.
We’ll begin with easy-to-learn tools, then gradually work our way up to editing open-source code templates with GitHub. Together, we’ll follow step-by-step tutorials with video screencasts, and share our work for feedback on the web. Real-world examples are drawn from Trinity College students working with community organizations in the City of Hartford, Connecticut.
This course is ideal for non-profit organizations, small business owners, local governments, journalists, academics, or anyone who wants to tell their story and show the data.