NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources: MATLAB
General Information
MATLAB can be found on all of the Oceanographic Campus Library's computer stations. This software can also be found on 6 workstations on the 2nd floor of the NSU Alvin Sherman Library (behind the elevators on either side of the magazine shelving and near the green columns on either side of the "gazebo").
MATLAB is a high-performance language for technical computing. It integrates computation, visualization, and programming in an easy-to-use environment where problems and solutions are expressed in familiar mathematical notation. Typical uses include: Data analysis, exploration, and visualization.
MATLAB offers a 30 day free trial.
Get it here!
https://www.mathworks.com/campaigns/products/trials/matlab.html
Library Resources
A Guide to MATLAB by
This book is a short, focused introduction to MATLAB, a comprehensive software system for mathematics and technical computing. It should be useful to both beginning and experienced users. It contains concise explanations of essential MATLAB commands, as well as easily understood instructions for using MATLAB's programming features, graphical capabilities, and desktop interface. It also includes an introduction to SIMULINK, a companion to MATLAB for system simulation. Written for MATLAB 6, this book can also be used with earlier (and later) versions of MATLAB. This book contains worked-out examples of applications of MATLAB to interesting problems in mathematics, engineering, economics, and physics. In addition, it contains explicit instructions for using MATLAB's Microsoft Word interface to produce polished, integrated, interactive documents for reports, presentations, or on-line publishing. This book explains everything you need to know to begin using MATLAB to do all these things and more. Intermediate and advanced users will find useful information here, especially if they are making the switch to MATLAB 6 from an earlier version.
Call Number: QA297 .H86 2001ISBN: 0521803802Publication Date: 2001-08-06
A Guide to MATLAB by
This is a short, focused introduction to MATLAB, a comprehensive software system for mathematical and technical computing. It contains concise explanations of essential MATLAB commands, as well as easily understood instructions for using MATLAB's programming features, graphical capabilities, simulation models, and rich desktop interface. Written for MATLAB 7, it can also be used with earlier (and later) versions of MATLAB. This book teaches how to graph functions, solve equations, manipulate images, and much more. It contains explicit instructions for using MATLAB's companion software, Simulink, which allows graphical models to be built for dynamical systems. MATLAB's new "publish" feature is discussed, which allows mathematical computations to be combined with text and graphics, to produce polished, integrated, interactive documents. For the beginner it explains everything needed to start using MATLAB, while experienced users making the switch to MATLAB 7 from an earlier version will also find much useful information here.
Call Number: QA297 .H86 2006ISBN: 0521850681Publication Date: 2006-06-08
MATLAB by
Need to Learn MATLAB? Problem SOLVED! Get started using MATLAB right away with help from this hands-on guide. MATLAB Demystified offers an effective and enlightening method for learning how to get the most out this powerful computational mathematics tool. Using an easy-to-follow format, this book explains the basics of MATLAB up front. You'll find out how to plot functions, solve algebraic equations, and compute integrals. You'll also learn how to solve differential equations, generate numerical solutions of ODEs, and work with special functions. Packed with hundreds of sample equations and explained solutions, and featuring end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam, this book will teach you MATLAB essentials in no time at all. This self-teaching guide offers: The quickest way to get up and running on MATLAB Hundreds of worked examples with solutions Coverage of MATLAB 7 A quiz at the end of each chapter to reinforce learning and pinpoint weaknesses A final exam at the end of the book A time-saving approach to performing better on homework or on the job Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced user, MATLAB Demystified is your shortcut to computational precision.
Call Number: QA297 .M427 2007ISBN: 9780071485517Publication Date: 2007-04-27
More Physics with Matlab (with Companion Media Pack) by
This text continues the exploration of the use of MATLAB tools and features in visualizing physical processes. The symbolic math packages are important in solving those problems which are amenable to closed form solution, while the numerical packages are used for the remaining problems. The results for the solutions use the MATLAB graphics packages to help visualize the properties of the solutions. User dialogues are designed to allow users to change the input parameters in order to see how the dynamics of the solutions depends on the parameters of the specific problem. In particular movies are used to display the dynamical evolution of solutions in time.
Call Number: QC20 .G743 2015ISBN: 9789814623940Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Environmental Data Analysis with MatLab by
Environmental Data Analysis with MatLab is a new edition that expands fundamentally on the original with an expanded tutorial approach, new crib sheets, and problem sets providing a clear learning path for students and researchers working to analyze real data sets in the environmental sciences. Since publication of the bestselling Environmental Data Analysis with MATLAB#65533;, many advances have been made in environmental data analysis. One only has to consider the global warming debate to realize how critically important it is to be able to derive clear conclusions from often noisy data drawn from a broad range of sources. The work teaches the basics of the underlying theory of data analysis and then reinforces that knowledge with carefully chosen, realistic scenarios. MATLAB#65533;, a commercial data processing environment, is used in these scenarios. Significant content is devoted to teaching how it can be effectively used in an environmental data analysis setting. This new edition, though written in a self-contained way, is supplemented with data and MATLAB#65533; scripts that can be used as a data analysis tutorial. New features include boxed crib sheets to help identify major results and important formulas and give brief advice on how and when they should be used. Numerical derivatives and integrals are derived and illustrated. Includes log-log plots with further examples of their use. Discusses new datasets on precipitation and stream flow. Topical enhancement applies the chi-squared test to the results of the generalized least squares method. New coverage of cluster analysis and approximation techniques that are widely applied in data analysis, including Taylor Series and low-order polynomial approximations; non-linear least-squares with Newton's method; and pre-calculation and updating techniques applicable to real time data acquisition. Provides a clear learning path for researchers and students using data analysis techniques which build upon one another, choosing the right order of presentation to substantially aid the reader in learning material Includes crib sheets to summarize the most important data analysis techniques, results, procedures, and formulas, serving to organize the material in such a way that its sequence is more apparent Uses real-world environmental examples and case studies formulated using the readily-available software environment in MATLAB#65533; Includes log-log plots with further examples of their use
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128045503Publication Date: 2016-03-07
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists by
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists, Sixth Edition, provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. The essentials of MATLAB are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented clearly and intuitively, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This updated edition includes the latest MATLAB versions through 2016a, and is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB, or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB, as well as a self-learning tutorial for professionals and students expected to learn and apply MATLAB. Updated to include all the newer features through MATLAB R2016a Includes new chapter on complex variables analysis Presents a comparison of execution time between compiled and un-compiled code that includes examples Describes the new H2 graphics features
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9780128052716Publication Date: 2016-09-01
MATLAB Recipes by
Learn fromstate-of-the-art examples in robotics, motors, detection filters, chemicalprocesses, aircraft, and spacecraft. This is a practical reference for industryengineers using MATLAB to solve everyday problems. With MATLAB Recipes: AProblem-Solution Approach you will review contemporary MATLAB codingincluding the latest language features and use MATLAB as a software developmentenvironment including code organization, GUI development, and algorithm designand testing. This book providespractical guidance for using MATLAB to build a body of code you can turn totime and again for solving technical problems in your line of work. Developalgorithms, test them, visualize the results, and pass the code along to othersto create a functional code base for your firm.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781484205600Publication Date: 2015-11-23
Online Tutorials and Training
- Complete MATLAB Tutorial for Beginners
MATLAB (matrix laboratory) is a multi-paradigm numerical computing environment and fourth-generation programming language which is frequently being used by engineering and science students. In this course, we will start learning MATLAB from a beginner level, and will gradually move into more technical and advanced topics. This course is designed to be general in scope which means that it will be beneficial to students in any major. Once, passed a certain learning thresholds, you will definitely enjoy MATLAB Programming. The key benefit of MATLAB is that it makes the programming available to everyone and is very fast to turn ideas into working products compared to some of the conventional programming languages such as Java, C, C++, visual basic and others.
- Introduction To MATLAB Programming
This course is intended to assist undergraduates with learning the basics of programming in general and programming MATLAB® in particular.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 