Real Estate
This guide is a collection of resources that will help you with your research on real estate topics. It covers residential, industrial and commercial. The guide includes materials related to various phases of a real estate project: development, appraisal,
Getting started
Real estate covers several segments: development, construction, appraisal, sales or leasing and management. The industry covers various types of properties:
- residential (singles family homes or multi-unit buildings)
- commercial (office, retail, hotels, healthcare, etc)
- industrial (industrial land, warehousing and logistics, manufacturing, data centers, etc).
Commercial and industrial real estate is also divided by class – class A, B, C, with class A buildings being the newest and most modern structures, while class C is used to designate older buildings, often located in less desirable locations.
Sometimes industrial is seen as a subset of commercial, so please consult methodologies used in data collection and analysis to make sure the segment you are interested in is included.
Introduction to real estate
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with real estate related terms.
Dictionary of Real Estate by
Everything you need to quickly acquire a solid working knowledge ofmore than 3,000 essential real estate terms In real estate, as in any type of business, an undefined term at acritical moment can equal a missed opportunity, or worse. That'swhy you need a reliable, up-to-date resource that gives you instantaccess to definitions of every important term you're likely toencounter in the course of doing business. That's why you need theDictionary of Real Estate. Accessible, practical, and easy to use, it defines more than 3,000essential commercial and residential real estate terms from theareas of appraisals, escrow, investment, finance, accounting, law,agency and ethics, construction and architecture, propertymanagement, marketing, computers and software, and more. When youlook it up in the Dictionary of Real Estate, you get everything youneed to quickly acquire a solid working knowledge of the term inquestion, including: * Detailed, thoroughly cross-referenced definitions in plainEnglish * Practical examples and real-world applications * Up-to-date coverage of the latest techniques and approaches * Documents, charts, tables, and graphs * Professional-quality diagrams, illustrations, and line drawings * Fully worked formulas and equations * Expert cost-cutting tips and moneymaking strategies Supplying you with more definitions, examples, illustrations, andpractical examples than any other professional resource in thefield, the Dictionary of Real Estate is one investment you simplycan't afford to pass up.
ISBN: 0471013366Publication Date: 1995-12-18
Dictionary of Real Estate Terms by
The new edition of this best-selling dictionary has been updated to account for changes in the real estate market, including the recent subprime crisis and other financial issues. Approximately 3,000 clear, concise short-entry definitions of real estate terms cover appraisal, architectural styles, brokerage, construction, development, environmental finance, mortgage types, zoning, and much more. Definitions are supplemented with graphs, charts, more than 200 line illustrations, and a list of abbreviations and real estate acronyms. This handbook is a fast-reference guide for home buyers, sellers, real estate professionals, students, investors, and attorneys. Previous editions of this book have appeared on Business Week's and other business-oriented best seller lists.
ISBN: 0764180142Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Perfect Phrases for Landlords and Property Managers by
Perfect Phrases for Landlords and Property Managers arms readers with quick and easy phrases to deal with the countless challenges, decisions, and day-to-day responsibilities of being a landlord or property manager. it offers practical, need-to-know advice on everything from dealing with tenants and co-op boards to developing and executing a management plan. Each chapter includes several key principles and advice on the topic and provide hundreds of ready-to-use phrases for readers to go to no matter what the situation.
ISBN: 9780071641869Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Perfect Phrases for Real Estate Agents and Brokers by
The Right Phrase for Every Situation...Every Time In our current real estate climate, it's more important than ever to have the right words at your fingertips. Whether you're new to the game or a seasoned seller, Perfect Phrases for Real Estate Agents and Brokers has just the right words and phrases you'll need to track down prospective properties and clients, manage transactions, negotiate terms, facilitate communications between buyer and seller, and close the deal. This easy-to-use, quick-reference guide gives you: Hundreds of quick, ready-to-use words and phrases Coverage of every situation you'll face, from meeting a new client to finalizing the sale Winning approaches that persuade prospects and generate sales Expertise from a top realtor educator and author
ISBN: 9780071641715Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
The Arnold Encyclopedia of Real Estate by
Uses plain English to define and explain salient features-- economic, financial and legal--of the real estate activity to which a given term applies. Covers such major areas as acquisition, disposition and ownership, government regulation and agencies, leasing, property descriptions and management.
ISBN: 9780471581024Publication Date: 1993-12-16
The Encyclopedia of Commercial Real Estate Advice by
The first Encyclopedia of Commercial Real Estate The Encyclopedia of Commercial Real Estate Advice covers everything anyone would ever need to know from A - Z on the subject. The 500+ entries inside not only have hard-hitting advice, but many share enlightening stories from the author's experience working on hundreds of deals. This book pulls off making the subjects enjoyable, interesting, and easy to understand. As a bonus, there are 136 time and money savings tips, many of which could save or make you 6 figures or more. Some of the questions this informative guidebook will answer for you are: How to Buy Foreclosed Commercial Properties at a Discount at Auctions Guidelines for Getting Started in Commercial Real Estate and Choosing Low-Risk Properties How to Value a Property in 15 Minutes How to Fake it Until You Make it When Raising Investors Should You Hold, Sell, 1031 Exchange, or Cash-Out Refinance? How to Reposition a Property to Achieve its Highest Value when Buying or Selling 10 Tested Methods to Recession-Proof Your Property How You Can Soar To The Top by Becoming a Developer Trade Secrets for Getting The Best Rate and Terms on Your Loan - Revealed! 11 Ways Property Managers Will Try and Steal From You - How to Catch and Stop Them! Whenever you have a question on any commercial real estate subject, just open this invaluable book and get the guidance you are looking for. Find author Terry Painter: apartmentloanstore.com businessloanstore.com
ISBN: 9781119629184Publication Date: 2020-09-14
Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms by
This reference explains in detail the meaning and significance of over 10,000 words and phrases, with over 15,000 references, giving the user an ample supply of ready sources for further research. The cross-referencing system, which extends to over 24,000 entries, provides an exhaustive thesaurus of real estate terminology.
ISBN: 9780966894646Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Real Estate Handbook by
"In this newly updated edition of a universally praised reference book, you'll find virtually every aspect of real estate explained in detail and placed in the context of the real estate market of the 1990s. Definitions of more than two thousand terms will enlighten you on such subjects as real estate mortgages, financing, appraisals, real estate as an investment, federal regulations, tax laws, engineering, architecture, and more. Extensive mortgage tables cover the full range of current interest rates and options available. Illustrative samples of business and legal forms and an up-to-date bibliography help make the most comprehensive and reliable real estate information source available in a single volume."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0812063309Publication Date: 1993-05-01
The Mcgraw-Hill Real Estate Handbook by
An updated real estate classic aimed at investors and real estate pros looking to profit from today's hidden real estate opportunities - in residential, commercial, office, and industrial properties, and in raw land. It supplies information on every aspect of the contemporary real estate environment, with new coverage of current finance, investing and taxation issues and practices.
ISBN: 0070321493Publication Date: 1993-04-01
McGraw-Hill Handbook of Financial Tables for Real Estate by ISBN: 0070337810Publication Date: 1992-08-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected Real Estate courses
|
Course |
Required or recommended materials |
| REE 3301 | Floyd, Charlese. Real Estate Principles. |
| REE 4302 |
Kyle, Robert C. / Spodek, Marie S. / Baird, Floyd M. Property Management, Revised. |
| REE 4303 | Alexander, Alan A. / Muhleback, Richard F. Managing and Leasing Commercial Properties. |
| REE 5862 | Brett, Deborah L. Real Estate Market Analysis: Trends, Methods, and Information Sources. |
| REE 5880 |
Linneman Associates. Real Estate Finance and Investments. |
| REE 5887 |
Linneman Associates. Real Estate Finance and Investments. |
