Finance

This guide covers topics related to finance and the financial system, including banking, financial technology, the capital market and digital currencies.

Websites

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Consumer complaint database - financial product and service complaints; view trends, see maps, read complaints, and export the data.
Consumer credit trends - recent developments in consumer credit markets, like the mortgage or credit card market.
Research and reports

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

BankFind Suite: allows you to locate current and former FDIC-insured banking institutions by name, FDIC certificate number, website and/or by location. The Suite also allows a user to follow the history and financial trends of an individual institution, group of institutions, or the industry as a whole.

Federal Reserve System

Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF)

Federal Reserve Economic Data - St Louis

Research Division Publications

U.S. Commodities & Futures Trading Commission

CFTC staff reports
Office of the Chief Economist research papers

US Department of the Treasury

Interest Rate Statistics - daily treasury par yield curve rates, daily treasury par real yield curve rates, daily treasury bill rates, daily treasury long-term rates and extrapolation factors, daily treasury real long-term rate averages.
Public debt reports - information about auctions, the debt, foreign holders of U.S. Debt and other data related to debt management policy.

American Bankers Association

Research and analysis - analysis of banking industry trends

Association for Finance Professionals

AFP Exchange Magazine
Annual Liquidity Survey - examines current and emerging trends in organizations’ cash and short-term investment holdings, investment policies and strategies.
Digital Payments Survey – published every 3 years.

Bank of International Settlements

The BIS Quarterly Review examines developments in international banking and financial markets.
International banking statistics - These statistics cover the balance sheets of internationally active banks. Check the latest commentary in the analysis section. The Research section includes working papers, articles from BIS Quarterly Reviews and the latest statistical commentary.
Research on trending topics can be found here. Current trending topics are: covid 19, green finance, inflation and innovation and fintech.

International Monetary Fund

IMF Data access to microeconomic and financial data – have a look at the datasets by topic.

Financial Access Survey – covers data on access to and usage of financial services by firms and households, financial inclusion, including gender statistics, mobile money, etc.
Fiscal Monitor
International financial statistics and Government Finance selected indicators

Investment Company Institute

Investment Company Fact Book: A Review of Trends and Activities in the Investment Company Industry – this is a series that provides research and data on trends in the investment company industry. Published yearly.

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association

Research and insights - extensive database of statistics on the capital markets and securities industry as well as reports from SIFMA Research and analysis and SIFMA Insights.

The World Bank

Global Financial Development database - extensive dataset of financial system characteristics for 214 economies. It contains annual data, starting from 1960.

The following are among the largest stock exchanges in the world:

Euronext

Hong Kong Stock Exchange (HKEX)

Japan Exchange Group (JPX)

London Stock Exchange

NASDAQ

National Stock Exchange of India (NSE)

New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)

Shanghai Stock Exchange

Shenzhen Stock Exchange

Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX)