BEDI Resources
Definitions & Key Terms
Feminism: The concept of feminism is not universal and has many forms (e.g., liberal, radical, womanism) and definitions. However, there are three characteristics that are shared by most, if not all, forms of feminism. First is the recognition that women are treated differently than men, and are in the subordinate role in society. Second, feminists view gender and gender roles as socially constructed (and thus capable of change) and as differentially valued within society. Third, feminism holds that women can be autonomous and self-reliant. The main goal of feminism is gender equality. Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Gender: Gender is a “social category” (like race, social class, and sexual orientation) with characteristics that are constructed, represented, and interpreted within the context of various cultures and societies. Just as discourses of race, class, and sexual orientation have certain social meanings, historical contexts, and consequences, so do discourses about gender. Mass culture, for example, generates images and interpretations of masculinity and femininity that are reinterpreted by people in everyday conversations and social institutions, such as schools, workplaces, and communities, which have a gendered character to their formal and informal operations. Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Gender Identity: Gender identity refers to an individual's belief regarding what gender they are. In a culture in which gender is considered dichotomous, individuals are believed to be either masculine or feminine. Many cultures seem to allow for a greater range of possible gender identities. The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality
Gender Roles: Gender role refers to the public behaviors considered appropriate for a given gender. Appropriate gender roles vary greatly across cultures, societies, and historical periods. The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality
Misogyny: Misogyny literally means the hatred of women. Feminists have shown that misogyny exists at numerous social levels as well as at individual levels. Individually we can point to men or women, though obviously we are more likely to point to men, as misogynists. Social institutions can be misogynistic through the laws, policies and practices they put forth. Feminist Philosophies A-Z
Patriarchy: Originally meaning the passage of one's lineage through the paternal line, patriarchy has come to mean the entire male-dominated sociopolitical and economic system of institutions, laws, and customs that privilege heterosexual males and oppress women, gay men, and lesbians. Patriarchal societies are inherently sexist, since patriarchy involves rule by men. They are also hierarchical and based on tradition, and they exclude members of the underclasses from full citizenship. Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
Sex: The concept of sex is commonly taken to refer to natural or essential properties of an individual as male or female that derive from biological characteristics of the body such as hormones, genitals and the reproductive system. As such the concept of sex is often contrasted with the more culturally oriented idea of gender which alludes to the cultural assumptions that govern the practices of men and women. The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
Sexism: Sexism is a system of oppression that privileges men and discriminates against women. Sexism requires prejudice plus power. Like racism, sexism is not about isolated incidents but about patterns. The institutions of government, law, religion, education, and the media—as well as language and social mores—long perpetuated sexism, keeping females inferior and subordinate. Even though a female can discriminate against a male and do him harm to the point of taking his life simply because he is a male, such discrimination is different from systemic oppression. The societal problem is sexism, not males, and the movement to end sexism, sex exploitation, and oppression is feminism. Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Sex, Gender & Gender Identity
Beyond Magenta by
A 2015 Stonewall Honor Book A groundbreaking work of LGBT literature takes an honest look at the life, love, and struggles of transgender teens. Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender preference. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken. Each honest discussion and disclosure, whether joyful or heartbreaking, is completely different from the other because of family dynamics, living situations, gender, and the transition these teens make in recognition of their true selves.
ISBN: 9780763673680Publication Date: 2015-03-10
Delusions of Gender by
"[Fine's] sharp tongue is tempered with humor. . . . Read this book and see how complex and fascinating the whole issue is."--The New York Times It's the twenty-first century, and although we tried to rear unisex children--boys who play with dolls and girls who like trucks--we failed. Even though the glass ceiling is cracked, most women stay comfortably beneath it. And everywhere we hear about vitally important "hardwired" differences between male and female brains. The neuroscience that we read about in magazines, newspaper articles, books, and sometimes even scientific journals increasingly tells a tale of two brains, and the result is more often than not a validation of the status quo. Women, it seems, are just too intuitive for math; men too focused for housework. Drawing on the latest research in neuroscience and psychology, Cordelia Fine debunks the myth of hardwired differences between men's and women's brains, unraveling the evidence behind such claims as men's brains aren't wired for empathy and women's brains aren't made to fix cars. She then goes one step further, offering a very different explanation of the dissimilarities between men's and women's behavior. Instead of a "male brain" and a "female brain," Fine gives us a glimpse of plastic, mutable minds that are continuously influenced by cultural assumptions about gender. Passionately argued and unfailingly astute, Delusions of Gender provides us with a much-needed corrective to the belief that men's and women's brains are intrinsically different--a belief that, as Fine shows with insight and humor, all too often works to the detriment of ourselves and our society.
ISBN: 0393340244Publication Date: 2011-08-08
Disrupting the Culture of Silence by
CHOICE 2015 Outstanding Academic Title What do women academics classify as challenging, inequitable, or "hostile" work environments and experiences? How do these vary by women's race/ethnicity, rank, sexual orientation, or other social locations? How do academic cultures and organizational structures work independently and in tandem to foster or challenge such work climates? What actions can institutions and individuals-independently and collectively-take toward equity in the academy? Despite tremendous progress toward gender equality and equity in institutions of higher education, deep patterns of discrimination against women in the academy persist. From the "chilly climate" to the "old boys' club," women academics must navigate structures and cultures that continue to marginalize, penalize, and undermine their success. This book is a "tool kit" for advancing greater gender equality and equity in higher education. It presents the latest research on issues of concern to them, and to anyone interested in a more equitable academy. It documents the challenging, sometimes hostile experiences of women academics through feminist analysis of qualitative and quantitative data, including narratives from women of different races and ethnicities across disciplines, ranks, and university types. The contributors' research draws upon the experiences of women academics including those with under-examined identities such as lesbian, feminist, married or unmarried, and contingent faculty. And, it offers new perspectives on persistent issues such as family policies, pay and promotion inequalities, and disproportionate service burdens. The editors provide case studies of women who have encountered antagonistic workplaces, and offer action steps, best practices, and more than 100 online resources for individuals navigating similar situations. Beyond women in academe, this book is for their allies and for administrators interested in changing the climates, cultures, and policies that allow gender inequality to exist on their campuses, and to researchers/scholars investigating these phenomena. It aims to disrupt complacency amongst those who claim that things are "better" or "good enough" and to provide readers with strategies and resources to counter barriers created by culture, climate, or institutional structures.
ISBN: 9781620362174Publication Date: 2014-11-26
Everything You Ever Wanted to Know about Trans (but Were Afraid to Ask) by
Leading activist and essayist Brynn Tannehill tells you everything you ever wanted to know about transgender issues but were afraid to ask. The book aims to break down deeply held misconceptions about trans people across all aspects of life, from politics, law and culture, through to science, religion and mental health, to provide readers with a deeper understanding of what it means to be trans. The book walks the reader through transgender issues, starting with "What does transgender mean?" before moving on to more complex topics including growing up trans, dating and sex, medical and mental health, and debates around gender and feminism. Brynn also challenges deliberately deceptive information about transgender people being put out into the public sphere. Transphobic myths are debunked and biased research, bad statistics and bad science are carefully and clearly refuted. This important and engaging book enables any reader to become informed the most critical public conversations around transgender people, and become a better ally as a result.
ISBN: 9781784509569Publication Date: 2018-11-21
For the Love of Men by
A nonfiction investigation into masculinity, For The Love of Men provides actionable steps for how to be a man in the modern world, while also exploring how being a man in the world has evolved. In 2019, traditional masculinity is both rewarded and sanctioned. Men grow up being told that boys don't cry and dolls are for girls (a newer phenomenon than you might realize--gendered toys came back in vogue as recently as the 80s). They learn they must hide their feelings and anxieties, that their masculinity must constantly be proven. They must be the breadwinners, they must be the romantic pursuers. This hasn't been good for the culture at large: 99% of school shooters are male; men in fraternities are 300% (!) more likely to commit rape; a woman serving in uniform has a higher likelihood of being assaulted by a fellow soldier than to be killed by enemy fire. In For the Love of Men, Liz offers a smart, insightful, and deeply-researched guide for what we're all going to do about toxic masculinity. For both women looking to guide the men in their lives and men who want to do better and just don't know how, For the Love of Men will lead the conversation on men's issues in a society where so much is changing, but gender roles have remained strangely stagnant. What are we going to do about men? Liz Plank has the answer. And it has the possibility to change the world for men and women alike.
ISBN: 9781250196248Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Gender: Your Guide by
An authentic and accessible guide to understanding--and engaging in--today's gender conversation. The days of two genders--male, female; boy, girl; blue, pink--are over, if they ever existed at all. Gender is now a global conversation, and one that is constantly evolving. More people than ever before are openly living their lives as transgender men or women, and many transgender people are coming out as neither men or women, instead living outside of the binary. Gender is changing, and this change is gaining momentum. We all want to do and say the right things in relation to gender diversity--whether at a job interview, at parent/teacher night, and around the table at family dinners. But where do we begin? From the differences among gender identity, gender expression, and sex, to the use of gender-neutral pronouns like singular they/them, to thinking about your own participation in gender, Gender: Your Guide serves as a complete primer to all things gender. Guided by professor and gender diversity advocate Lee Airton, PhD, you will learn how gender works in everyday life, how to use accurate terminology to refer to transgender, non-binary, and/or gender non-conforming individuals, and how to ask when you aren't sure what to do or say. It provides you with the information you need to talk confidently and compassionately about gender diversity, whether simply having a conversation or going to bat as an advocate. Just like gender itself, being gender-friendly is a process for all of us. As revolutionary a resource as Our Bodies, Ourselves, Gender: Your Guide invites everyone on board to make gender more flexible and less constricting: a source of more joy, and less harm, for everyone. Let's get started.
ISBN: 9781507209004Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Man Enough by
A GRIPPING, FEARLESS EXPLORATION OF MASCULINITY The effects of traditionally defined masculinity have become one of the most prevalent social issues of our time. In this engaging and provocative new book, beloved actor, director, and social activist Justin Baldoni reflects on his own struggles with masculinity. With insight and honesty, he explores a range of difficult, sometimes uncomfortable topics including strength and vulnerability, relationships and marriage, body image, sex and sexuality, racial justice, gender equality, and fatherhood. Writing from experience, Justin invites us to move beyond the scripts we've learned since childhood and the roles we are expected to play. He challenges men to be brave enough to be vulnerable, to be strong enough to be sensitive, to be confident enough to listen. Encouraging men to dig deep within themselves, Justin helps us reimagine what it means to be man enough and in the process what it means to be human.
ISBN: 9780063055599Publication Date: 2021-04-27
The Man They Wanted Me to Be by
Based on the provocative and popular New York Times op-ed, this memoir alternates between the examination of a working-class upbringing and a cultural analysis of the historical, psychological, and sociological sources that make up the roots of toxic masculinity and its impact on society. As progressivism changes American society, and globalism shifts labor away from traditional manufacturing, the roles that have been prescribed to men since the Industrial Revolution have been rendered obsolete. Donald Trump's campaign successfully leveraged male resentment and entitlement, and now, with Trump as president and the rise of the #MeToo movement, it's clear that our current definitions of masculinity are outdated and even dangerous. Deeply personal and thoroughly researched, the author of The People Are Going to Rise Like the Waters Upon Your Shore has turned his keen eye to our current crisis of masculinity using his upbringing in rural Indiana to examine the personal and societal dangers of the patriarchy. The Man They Wanted Me to Be examines how we teach boys what's expected of men in America, and the long-term effects of that socialization_x2015_which include depression, shorter lives, misogyny, and suicide. Sexton turns his keen eye to the establishment of the racist patriarchal structure which has favored white men, and investigates the personal and societal dangers of such outdated definitions of manhood. "By carefully and soberly examining his own story, Sexton deconstructs American life and gives many examples of how pervasive toxic masculinity is in our culture." _x2015_Henry Rollins, Los Angeles Times "This book is critically important to our historical moment . . . Crackles with intensity and absolutely refuses to allow the reader to look away for even a moment from the blight that toxic masculinity in America has wrought." _x2015_Nicholas Cannariato, NPR
ISBN: 9781640091818Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Masculinity by
This book presents new research on a great variety of challenges and insights into the masculine gender. Standards of masculinity cannot only create stress in themselves for some men, but they can also limit a man's ability to relieve stress. Some men appraise situations using the schema of what is an acceptable masculine response rather than what is objectively the best response. As a result, men often feel limited to a certain range of "approved" responses and coping strategies. A summary of research data is given on the neural basis of masculinity perception using electrophysiological methods. The effect of the gender of a teacher on achievement and development of male children is also examined. This book recognises the absence of cultural scripts of masculinity for older men and argues that masculinity must change at its foundation as a prerequisite for masculinity scripts to include these men. Caregiving is often seen as an attribute of women. This book includes articles on the role of men as caregivers in a marriage setting.
ISBN: 9781607410799Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Nobody Passes by
An anthology exploring the act of passing-as the "right" gender, race, class, sexuality, age, ability, body type, ethnicity, and beyond Nobody Passes is a collection of essays that confronts and challenges the very notion of belonging. By examining the perilous intersections of identity, categorization, and community, contributors challenge societal mores and countercultural norms. Nobody Passes explores and critiques the various systems of power seen (or not seen) in the act of "passing." In a pass/fail situation, standards for acceptance may vary, but somebody always gets trampled on. This anthology seeks to eliminate the pressure to pass and thereby unearth the delicious and devastating opportunities for transformation that might create.
ISBN: 9781580051842Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Non-Binary Lives by
LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST 'Essential reading' - THE INDEPENDENT 'Vital and insightful' - OWL FISHER What does it mean to be non-binary in the 21st Century? Our gender identity is impacted by our personal histories; the cultures, communities and countries we are born into; and the places we go and the people we meet. But the representation of contemporary non-binary identities has been limited, until now. Pushing the narrative around non-binary identities further than ever before, this powerful collection of essays represents the breadth of non-binary lives, across the boundaries of race, class, age, sexuality, faith and more. Leading non-binary people share stories of their intersecting lives; how it feels to be non-binary and neurodiverse, the challenges of being a non-binary pregnant person, what it means to be non-binary within the Quaker community, the joy of reaching gender euphoria. This thought-provoking anthology shows that there is no right or wrong way to be non-binary.
ISBN: 1787753409Publication Date: 2020-04-21
The Psychology of Gender by
What is the difference between sex and gender? What is the impact of gender-role stereotypes on our lives, our relationships and the world? What does gender mean to you? The Psychology of Gender looks at our biology, history and culture to consider the impact of gender roles and stereotypes, and addresses the 'dilemmas' we have regarding gender in a post-modern world. It offers a unique perspective on gender through storytelling and explores ideas around transgender and cisgender identities and androgyny, tackling hidden assumptions and helping us make sense of the world of gender. By examining the future of gender, The Psychology of Gender offers a platform for further exploration, and arrives at a new psychology of gender that emphasises relationships and helps us to understand our own gender identity and that of those around us.
ISBN: 9781351718691Publication Date: 2018-03-15
The Truth about Girls and Boys by
Caryl Rivers and Rosalind C. Barnett are widely acclaimed for their analyses of women, men, and society. In The Truth About Girls and Boys, they tackle a new, troubling trend in the theorizing of gender: that the learning styles, brain development, motivation, cognitive and spatial abilities, and "natural" inclinations of girls and boys are so fundamentally different, they require unique styles of parenting and education. Ignoring the science that challenges these claims, those who promote such theories make millions while frightening parents and educators into enforcing old stereotypes and reviving unhealthy attitudes in the classroom. Rivers and Barnett unmake the pseudoscientific rationale for this argument, stressing the individuality of each child and the specialness of his or her talents and desires. They recognize that in our culture, girls and boys encounter different stimuli and experiences, yet encouraging children to venture outside their comfort zones helps them realize a multifaceted character. Educating parents, teachers, and general readers in the true nature of the gender game, Rivers and Barnett enable future generations to transform if not transcend the parameters of sexual difference.
ISBN: 9780231151627Publication Date: 2011-09-27
We Are Not Born Submissive by
A philosophical exploration of female submission, using insights from feminist thinkers--especially Simone de Beauvoir--to reveal the complexities of women's reality and lived experience What role do women play in the perpetuation of patriarchy? On the one hand, popular media urges women to be independent, outspoken, and career-minded. Yet, this same media glorifies a specific, sometimes voluntary, female submissiveness as a source of satisfaction. In philosophy, even less has been said on why women submit to men and the discussion has been equally contradictory--submission has traditionally been considered a vice or pathology, but female submission has been valorized as innate to women's nature. Is there a way to explore female submission in all of its complexity--not denying its appeal in certain instances, and not buying into an antifeminist, sexist, or misogynistic perspective? We Are Not Born Submissive offers the first in-depth philosophical exploration of female submission, focusing on the thinking of Simone de Beauvoir, and more recent work in feminist philosophy, epistemology, and political theory. Manon Garcia argues that to comprehend female submission, we must invert how we examine power and see it from the woman's point of view. Historically, philosophers, psychoanalysts, and even some radical feminists have conflated femininity and submission. Garcia demonstrates that only through the lens of women's lived experiences--their economic, social, and political situations--and how women adapt their preferences to maintain their own well-being, can we understand the ways in which gender hierarchies in society shape women's experiences. Ultimately, she asserts that women do not actively choose submission. Rather, they consent to--and sometimes take pleasure in--what is prescribed to them through social norms within a patriarchy. Moving beyond the simplistic binary of natural destiny or moral vice, We Are Not Born Submissive takes a sophisticated look at how female submissiveness can be explained.
ISBN: 9780691201825Publication Date: 2021-03-30
Background Articles
Popular Articles
Scholarly Articles
- Beyond XX and XYAn Infographic showing the host of factors that figure into whether someone is female, male, or somewhere in between.
- Gender-Inclusive BiologyBiology teachers have rich opportunities to include gender and sexuality diversity in our teaching. This website offers ready-to-use lessons, a reflection framework for adapting curriculum, and professional development materials.
- Gender UnicornThe Gender Unicorn is inspired by the Genderbread Person created by Sam Killerman. The goal of the Gender Unicorn, which was created by Trans Student Educational Resources, is the same as the Genderbread Person’s – to teach that gender is different from sexuality. In that respect, the Gender Unicorn is a complete breakdown that shows the differences teachers see between gender identity, gender expression, one’s biological sex, and the differences between physical and emotional attraction.
The graphic has been translated into several langauages. - A Guide for Supporting Trans and Gender Diverse StudentsThis guide created by the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students subcommittee on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
(CSOGD) contains several documents and an action plan intended to help make academic institutions, field placements, and other graduate training sites more supportive and affirming of TGD students. - Gender Spectrum CollectionThe Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
- Principles of Gender-Inclusive Puberty and Health EducationGender Spectrum's landmark publication "Principles for Gender Inclusive Puberty and Health Education" outlines the first-ever comprehensive approach to gender for puberty health educators.
- Toolkit for Sex, Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, Gender Expression“Introducing Gender: Girls, Boys and More!” is a K-2 lesson from Gender Spectrum originally published in The Gender Inclusive School: concrete strategies for creating a safer and more accepting school climate for all students. The lesson offers a set of activities that prompt students to think about what they like (favorite colors, toys, activities) as individual preferences—not due to them being a boy or girl.
- Why is Gender Identity so Important? | Rikki Arundel | TEDxWarwickSalonIn 2002, after a life long struggle with her gender identity, Rikki Arundel decided to change her gender, a decision that brought her successful speaking career in financial services technology to an abrupt halt. Faced with considerable discrimination, she changed her field of expertise, completing a masters degree in Gender Research at Hull University and establishing herself as a diversity expert. She has spent the past decade delivering transgender awareness and other gender related training to mostly public sector organisations, and developing her website at www.gendernetwork.com.
- The Origin of GenderWhy do we think there are only two genders? Because there are cultures that believe there are many more than two genders. And what’s the difference between sex and gender?
- Stereotyping Gender — How Is This Still A Thing? | Linda Curika | TEDxRigaGender stereotypes in media are capable of driving a sane person insane; yet still they persist. Is fighting stereotypes head-on hopeless?
- Trans 101 - The BasicsWelcome to Trans 101, our brand new series on Gender Diversity! In video one we dive into being Trans, Gender Identity, and what it's all about!
- Fifty Shades of GenderWe get curious about all things gender, sex and sexuality, as well as relationships, feminism (the inclusive kind), mental health and kink, and all that makes us humans unique and diverse. From body positivity to body dysmorphia, it’s all welcome here. Come with us on a journey of inclusion, acceptance and respect.
- Invisible WomenThis interview on the podcast 99% Invisible with Caroline Criado Perez illuminates the data gap that leaves 51% of the population -- women -- without representation in the design of nearly everything from infrastructure to goods and services to policy.
- Nature, Nurture, And Our Evolving Debates About GenderHow much does biology shape who we are, and how much is determined by culture and the environment in which we live? This week, we delve into debates over gender and the role of nature and nurture. Plus, we'll look at how society is pushing us beyond the traditional boundaries of those debates as we talk with Jamie Shupe, the first person in the United States to be officially recognized as neither male nor female, but gender-neutral.
Sexism & Gender Discrimination
Against White Feminism by
Upper-middle-class white women have long been heralded as "experts" on feminism. They have presided over multinational feminist organizations and written much of what we consider the feminist canon, espousing sexual liberation and satisfaction, LGBTQ inclusion, and racial solidarity, all while branding the language of the movement itself in whiteness and speaking over Black and Brown women in an effort to uphold privilege and perceived cultural superiority. An American Muslim woman, attorney, and political philosopher, Rafia Zakaria champions a reconstruction of feminism in Against White Feminism, centering women of color in this transformative overview and counter-manifesto to white feminism's global, long-standing affinity with colonial, patriarchal, and white supremacist ideals.Covering such ground as the legacy of the British feminist imperialist savior complex and "the colonial thesis that all reform comes from the West" to the condescension of the white feminist-led "aid industrial complex" and the conflation of sexual liberation as the "sum total of empowerment," Zakaria follows in the tradition of intersectional feminist forebears Kimberlé Crenshaw, Adrienne Rich, and Audre Lorde. Zakaria ultimately refutes and reimagines the apolitical aspirations of white feminist empowerment in this staggering, radical critique, with Black and Brown feminist thought at the forefront.
ISBN: 9781324006619Publication Date: 2021-08-17
The Bro Code by
Extending from the belief that masculinities are multiple, consisting of complexities and constructions that make up the traits associated with each, this book explores the various ways in which boys and men are conditioned to view women as inferior to themselves and predominantly sexual objects--and the deleterious effects this has on both women and men, society, and culture at large. Beginning in childhood, the book provides a critical framework to understand one form of masculinity referred to as "bro culture," and how it is reproduced and reinforced through popular culture, social institutions, and patriarchal forms of religion and politics. Weaving together current research with illuminating historical and contemporary examples, Thomas Keith unpacks the attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors that constitute this subculture and reveals the ways in which traditional and outdated codes of manhood, power, and gender relations have evolved into problematic forms of sexism, misogyny, and abuse. For as much as popular culture is revealed to be a contributing factor in the passage of bro codes, the book also includes examples of cultural forces that are challenging and seeking to overthrow the core tenets in powerful and lasting ways. Timely and thought-provoking, The Bro Code addresses the implications of an enduring social problem and moves us to reflect on ways to empower men away from this toxic form of masculinity.
ISBN: 9780429863974Publication Date: 2020-12-29
The Digital Closet by
An exploration of how heteronormative bias is deeply embedded in the internet, hidden in algorithms, keywords, content moderation, and more. A Next Big Idea Club nominee. In The Digital Closet, Alexander Monea argues provocatively that the internet became straight by suppressing everything that is not, forcing LGBTQIA+ content into increasingly narrow channels-rendering it invisible through opaque algorithms, automated and human content moderation, warped keywords, and other strategies of digital overreach. Monea explains how the United States' thirty-year "war on porn" has brought about the over-regulation of sexual content, which, in turn, has resulted in the censorship of much nonpornographic content-including material on sex education and LGBTQIA+ activism. In this wide-ranging, enlightening account, Monea examines the cultural, technological, and political conditions that put LGBTQIA+ content into the closet. Monea looks at the anti-porn activism of the alt-right, Christian conservatives, and anti-porn feminists, who became strange bedfellows in the politics of pornography; investigates the coders, code, and moderators whose work serves to reify heteronormativity; and explores the collateral damage in the ongoing war on porn-the censorship of LGBTQ+ community resources, sex education materials, art, literature, and other content that engages with sexuality but would rarely be categorized as pornography by today's community standards. Finally, he examines the internet architectures responsible for the heteronormalization of porn- Google Safe Search and the data structures of tube sites and other porn platforms. Monea reveals the porn industry's deepest, darkest secret- porn is boring. Mainstream porn is stuck in a heteronormative filter bubble, limited to the same heteronormative tropes, tagged by the same heteronormative keywords. This heteronormativity is mirrored by the algorithms meant to filter pornographic content, increasingly filtering out all LGBTQIA+ content. Everyone suffers from this forced heteronormativity of the internet-suffering, Monea suggests, that could be alleviated by queering straightness and introducing feminism to dissipate the misogyny.
ISBN: 9780262046770Publication Date: 2022-04-12
Everyday Sexism by
Special Hardcover Library Edition The Everyday Sexism Project was founded by writer and activist Laura Bates in April 2012. It began life as a website where people could share their experiences of daily, normalized sexism, from street harassment to workplace discrimination to sexual assault and rape. The Project became a viral sensation, attracting international press attention fromThe New York Times toFrench Glamour,Grazia South Africa, to theTimes of India and support from celebrities such as Rose McGowan, Amanda Palmer, Mara Wilson, Ashley Judd, James Corden, Simon Pegg, and many others. The project has now collected over 100,000 testimonies from people around the world and launched new branches in 25 countries worldwide. The project has been credited with helping to spark a new wave of feminism.
ISBN: 9781250067937Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Everything below the Waist by
Elle's 30 BEST BOOKS OF THE SUMMER "A jaw-dropping investigation into the women's health industry." --Shelf-Awareness "A fascinating examination of the past and present of women's healthcare" --Delfina V Barbiero, USA TODAY "A must-read for women, especially any woman who might ever need to see a doctor. " --The Washington Post American women visit more doctors, have more surgery, and fill more prescriptions than men. In Everything Below the Waist, Jennifer Block asks: Why is the life expectancy of women today declining relative to women in other high-income countries, and even relative to the generation before them? Block examines several staples of modern women's health care, from fertility technology to contraception to pelvic surgery to miscarriage treatment, and finds that while overdiagnosis and overtreatment persist in medicine writ large, they are particularly acute for women. One third of mothers give birth by major surgery; roughly half of women lose their uterus to hysterectomy. Feminism turned the world upside down, yet to a large extent the doctors' office has remained stuck in time. Block returns to the 1970s women's health movement to understand how in today's supposed age of empowerment, women's bodies are still so vulnerable to medical control--particularly their sex organs, and as result, their sex lives. In this urgent book, Block tells the stories of patients, clinicians, and reformers, uncovering history and science that could revolutionize the standard of care, and change the way women think about their health. Everything Below the Waist challenges all people to take back control of their bodies.
ISBN: 9781250110053Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Executive Sexism: How Men Treat Women at the Highest Levels, Why Law Does Not Protect Them, and What Should Change by
Who do you report sexism to when the offender owns the company? "Overt and intentional sexism" against women by powerful men in politics, business, and academia and across the white-collar world in public and private institutions is common, according to author Elizabeth C. Wolfe, a conflict analysis and resolution specialist. Female executives, even at the pinnacle of their careers, remain vulnerable to their male colleagues. In this book, Wolfe details how men treat women at the highest levels and the result of their actions. Women executives from nine countries explain how their career advancement and earning potential are continuously harmed though overt sexism, sexist social behavior, and microaggressions--those damaging behaviors that are in a gray area but are not legally actionable. She further examines why law does not protect these women: sexism, like racism, is a way of thinking and so cannot be legislated. Each "-ism" has legal protections against documentable actions, but ways of thinking, socializing rituals, and microaggressions are not actionable by law. Wolfe details the minds of sexists and describes how sexism is "socialized," and then explains how to name each sexist behavior, address it, and take action to stop it.
ISBN: 9781440859571Publication Date: 2019-05-24
Exploring Masculinities by
Exploring Masculinities: Identity, Inequality, Continuity, and Change is a comprehensive and contemporary reader for the growing field of men's and masculinities studies. It takes a conceptual approach by covering the wide range of scholarship being done on masculinities beyond the model ofhegemonic masculinity. C. J. Pascoe and Tristan Bridges extend the boundaries of the field and provide a new framework for understanding masculinities studies.Rather than taking a topics-based approach to masculinity, Exploring Masculinities offers an innovative conceptual approach that enables students to study a given phenomenon from a variety of perspectives. It divides up the field in ways that provide accessible introductions to complex debates andkey intra- and interdisciplinary distinctions. The book provides a portable set of conceptual tools on which scholars and students can rely to analyze masculinities in different contexts, time periods, and embodiments.
ISBN: 9780199315673Publication Date: 2015-07-13
Gendered Outcasts and Sexual Outlaws by
A candid re-examination of what it means to be a gay man Gendered Outcasts and Sexual Outlaws: Sexual Oppression and Gender Hierarchies in Queer Men's Lives explores the impact and effects of sexual oppression and power relationships within the gay male community. This controversial book features thoughtful and provocative essays from authors, educators, and activists who challenge the stigmatization and issues of power they face as gay men who don't fit the masculine mold formed by the gay porn industry and the media. Their poignant words reveal the sting of finding discrimination and alienation where least expected as the rise of sexualized hyper-masculinity, racism, and femiphobia among gay men has created a need to re-examine appropriate gay male identity and sexuality. Editors Christopher Kendall and Wayne Martino, who have written about and researched the negative side of gay male pornography, the links between sexism and homophobia, gay male suicide, and the impact of masculinity and sexuality on gay men, divide the book's powerful essays into two sections: The Dynamics of Sex/Gender Oppression and When Gender Harms and Oppression Becomes the Norm. The first section challenges the assumptions that form the basis of gay male identity. Relying on the work of radical feminists and cultural theorists, the authors explore the meaning of gender in a society that expects men to act according to a masculine idealand punishes them when they don't. The book's second section analyzes the reality of gender oppression caused by inequality and sexualized gender hierarchies. Contributors discuss what can happen when gay men take seriously the sexual role models that are offered and what happens if they dare to reject them. Gendered Outcasts and Sexual Outlaws examines: effeminacy in gay men's lives the idealization of the gay male body straight-acting masculinities and the rejection of the feminine narcissism, masculinity, and body absorption racialized masculinity the feminization of the Asian gay male in gay pornography gay male rape domestic violence and much more! Gendered Outcasts and Sexual Outlaws is an eye-opening re-evaluation of what being gay means, why being gay is still considered socially unacceptable, and how the gay male community can respond to systemic stigmatization and hate.
ISBN: 9781560235002Publication Date: 2006-04-25
Glass Half-Broken by
Why the gender gap persists and how we can close it. For years women have made up the majority of college-educated workers in the United States. In 2019, the gap between the percentage of women and the percentage of men in the workforce was the smallest on record. But despite these statistics, women remain underrepresented in positions of power and status, with the highest-paying jobs the most gender-imbalanced. Even in fields where the numbers of men and women are roughly equal, or where women actually make up the majority, leadership ranks remain male-dominated. The persistence of these inequalities begs the question: Why haven't we made more progress? In Glass Half-Broken, Colleen Ammerman and Boris Groysberg reveal the pervasive organizational obstacles and managerial actions—limited opportunities for development, lack of role models and sponsors, and bias in hiring, compensation, and promotion—that create gender imbalances. Bringing to light the key findings from the latest research in psychology, sociology, organizational behavior, and economics, Ammerman and Groysberg show that throughout their careers—from entry-level to mid-level to senior-level positions—women get pushed out of the leadership pipeline, each time for different reasons. Presenting organizational and managerial strategies designed to weaken and ultimately break down these barriers, Glass Half-Broken is the authoritative resource that managers and leaders at all levels can use to finally shatter the glass ceiling.
ISBN: 9781633695931Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Good Guys by
Women are at a disadvantage in the workplace, where they deal with unequal pay, sexual harassment, lack of credit for their contributions, and more. And while organizations are looking to address these issues, too many gender-inclusion initiatives focus exclusively on how women should respond, leaving men out of the equation. Such efforts reinforce the perception that these are "women's issues" and that men-often the most powerful stakeholders in an organization-don't need to be involved.As gender-in-the-workplace experts David G. Smith and W. Brad Johnson show in this important book, men have a crucial opportunity to promote gender equality at work. Research shows that when men are deliberately engaged in gender-inclusion programs, ninety-six percent of women in those organizations perceive real progress in gender equality, compared with only thirty percent of women in organizations without strong male engagement.Good Guys is the first book to provide a practical, research-based guide for how to be a male ally to women in the workplace. Filled with firsthand accounts from both men and women, as well as tips for getting started, the book shows how men can partner with their female colleagues to advance women's leadership and equality.
ISBN: 9781469082400Publication Date: 2020-10-13
The Incel Rebellion by
Emerging alongside the progression of women's rights in the twenty-first century is the development of the men's rights movement, parts of which have culminated into the contemporary 'manosphere.' Consisting of online communities that ascribe to misogynistic ideologies, which objectify, disparage, and dehumanise women, the manosphere also houses those who identify as involuntary celibate (incel). Drawing on ethnographic research and interviews, this book provides an original and timely insight into the development of the manosphere, how and why people join and self-identify as incel, the extent to which the influence and philosophy of incel and the incelsphere draws on and is penetrating mainstream culture and political discourse, and its harmful impact. The Incel Rebellionis essential reading for a broad range of practitioners and scholars across criminology, sociology, terrorism studies, gender, media and cultural studies, and politics, as well as expanding the field of cybercrime research and beyond. The ebook edition of this title is Open Access, thanks to Knowledge Unlatched funding, and freely available to read online.
ISBN: 9781839822568Publication Date: 2021-11-05
Invisible Women by
#1 International Bestseller "A rallying cry to fight back." --Sunday Times (London) Winner, 2019 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Winner, 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this bias in time, money, and sometimes with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates the shocking root cause of gender inequality and research in Invisible Women, diving into women's lives at home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more. Chapters here include: Can Snow-Clearing Be Sexist The Myth of Meritocracy The Henry Higgins Effect One-Size-Fits-Men Yentl Syndrome From Purse to Wallet Women's Rights Are Human Rights Perez writes in her preface, "It's when women are able to step out from the shadows with their voices and their bodies that things start to shift. The gaps close. And so, at heart, Invisible Women is also a call for change. For too long we have positioned women as a deviation from standard humanity and this is why they have been allowed to become invisible. It's time for a change in perspective. It's time for women to be seen." Built on hundreds of studies in the US, the UK, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, unforgettable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
ISBN: 9781419729072Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Male Rape, Masculinities and Sexualities by
This book critically explores the intersections between male rape, masculinities, and sexualities. It examines the ways in which male rape is policed, responded to, and addressed by state and voluntary agencies in Britain. The book uncovers how notions of gender, sexualities and masculinities shape these agencies' understanding of male rape and their views of men as victims of rape. Javaid pays particular attention to the police and deconstructs police subculture to consider whether it influences and shapes the ways in which police officers provide services for male rape victims. Grounded in qualitative interviews and data derived from the state and voluntary sector, this book will be invaluable reading for sociologists, criminologists, and social scientists who are keen to learn more about gender, policing, sexual violence and male sexual victimisation.
ISBN: 9783319526386Publication Date: 2018-10-20
Masculinity at Work by
In late October 2013, the Miami Dolphins' player Jonathan Martin walked out on his team and checked into a mental health institution. The original story implied that Martin could not take the professional pressure. Within days, the story changed. News sources reported that Martin's teammates had repeatedly bullied him and as a result, the twenty-four year-old African American player suffered serious depression. The response was skeptical, and many opined the harassment involved was simply locker room banter that all players endure; essentially, that boys will be boys. Masculinity at Work uses the Jonathan Martin case and others to analyze Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 through the lens of masculinities theory. Illustrating how harassment and discrimination can occur because of sex even if the gendered nature of the behavior remains unseen to onlookers, this book educates readers about the invisibility of masculine structures and practices, how society constructs concepts of masculinity, and how men (and sometimes women) perform masculinity in different ways depending on their identities and situational contexts. Using a sophisticated mix of legal, gender, and social science analysis, the author demonstrates how masculinities theory can also offer significant insights into the behaviors and motivations of employers, as well as workplace structures that disadvantage both men and women who do not conform to gender stereotypes. Both a theoretical disposition and a practical guide for legal counsel and judges on the interpretation of sex and race discrimination cases, Masculinity at Work explains how this theory can be used to interpret Title VII in new, liberating ways.
ISBN: 9780814796139Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Mediocre by
From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller So You Want to Talk About Race, an "illuminating" (New York Times Book Review) history of white male identity. What happens to a country that tells generation after generation of white men that they deserve power? What happens when success is defined by status over women and people of color, instead of by actual accomplishments? Through the last 150 years of American history -- from the post-reconstruction South and the mythic stories of cowboys in the West, to the present-day controversy over NFL protests and the backlash against the rise of women in politics -- Ijeoma Oluo exposes the devastating consequences of white male supremacy on women, people of color, and white men themselves. Mediocre investigates the real costs of this phenomenon in order to imagine a new white male identity, one free from racism and sexism. As provocative as it is essential, this book will upend everything you thought you knew about American identity and offers a bold new vision of American greatness.
ISBN: 9781580059510Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Men Who Hate Women by
The first comprehensive undercover look at the terrorist movement no one is talking about. Men Who Hate Women examines the rise of secretive extremist communities who despise women and traces the roots of misogyny across a complex spider web of groups. It includes eye-opening interviews with former members of these communities, the academics studying this movement, and the men fighting back. Women's rights activist Laura Bates wrote this book as someone who has been the target of many hate-fueled misogynistic attacks online. At first, the vitriol seemed to be the work of a small handful of individual men... but over time, the volume and consistency of the attacks hinted at something bigger and more ominous. As Bates went undercover into the corners of the internet, she found an unseen, organized movement of thousands of anonymous men wishing violence (and worse) upon women. In the book, Bates explores: Extreme communities like incels, pick-up artists, MGTOW, Men's Rights Activists and more The hateful, toxic rhetoric used by these groups How this movement connects to other extremist movements like white supremacy How young boys are targeted and slowly drawn in Where this ideology shows up in our everyday lives in mainstream media, our playgrounds, and our government By turns fascinating and horrifying, Men Who Hate Women is a broad, unflinching account of the deep current of loathing toward women and anti-feminism that underpins our society and is a must-read for parents, educators, and anyone who believes in equality for women. Praise for Men Who Hate Women: "Laura Bates is showing us the path to both intimate and global survival."--Gloria Steinem "Well-researched and meticulously documented, Bates's book on the power and danger of masculinity should be required reading for us all."--Library Journal "Men Who Hate Women has the power to spark social change."--Sunday Times
ISBN: 9781728236247Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Misogyny by
New aspects of the misogyny that impacts girls and women worldwide continue to emerge every day. However, recent movements (e.g., #MeToo, Time's Up, the Women's March) indicate a strong hunger for a meaningful resource for thoughtful activists. Impassioned but practical, this book discussesthe social contexts of misogyny, such as toxic masculinity and rape culture. It traces the history of misogyny and considers its meaning today - what is new and what is old. The author also proposes strategies for effective feminist action. Written for advocates of gender equality who are alreadyaware of misogyny, the book includes Action Steps as tools for activism on both the individual and political levels. Misogyny is a timely text that offers concrete guidance as we strive for the egalitarian society that, despite all setbacks, we are capable of achieving.
ISBN: 9780190876340Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Period. End of Sentence by
From beloved New York Times bestselling author and award-winning journalist Anita Diamant comes a timely collection of essays to help inspire period positive activism around the globe. When Period. End of Sentence. won an Oscar in 2019, the film's co-producer and Executive Director of The Pad Project, Melissa Berton, told the audience: "A period should end a sentence, not a girl's education." Continuing in that revolutionary spirit and building on the momentum of the acclaimed documentary, this book outlines the challenges facing those who menstruate worldwide and the solutions championed by a new generation of body positive activists, innovators and public figures. Including interviews from people on the frontlines--parents, teachers, medical professionals, and social-justice warriors--Period. End of Sentence. illuminates the many ways that menstrual injustice can limit opportunities, erode self-esteem, and even threaten lives. This powerful examination of the far-ranging and quickly evolving movement for menstrual justice introduces today's leaders and shows us how we can be part of the change. Fearless, revolutionary, and fascinating, Period. End of Sentence. is an essential read for anyone interested in empowering women, girls, and others around the world. To learn more about The Pad Project, go to ThePadProject.org.
ISBN: 9781982144289Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Power, Sexuality and Gender Dynamics at Work by
Power, Sexuality and Gender Dynamics at Work explores the friction between people with different gender and sexual identities in corporate organizations. While organizations genuinely want to promote gender balance and remove biases against sexual minorities, the experiences, struggles and doubts therein have remained undisclosed. Moreover, D&I and POSH initiatives driving this agenda through political correctness are restrictive. In this book, Roop and Uma use organizational lived experiences to analyse interpersonal conflicts, dilemmas and dynamics that manifest in accusations and grief, often leaving leaders and managers perplexed. Read along as they grapple with a complex phenomenon and advocate tapping the potential of creativity, compassion and trust between different genders, identities and orientations.
ISBN: 9789353886622Publication Date: 2021-02-14
Seeing Straight by
Seeing Straight introduces students to key concepts in gender and sexuality through the lens of privilege and power. After an accessible overview, the book asks students to examine the privilege inherent in approaching heterosexual and cisgender identities as "normal," as well as the problems of treating queer gender and sexuality as "abnormal." Compelling real-life examples illustrate theory and empirical research, revealing phenomena that shape not only students' own lives, but also their communities, their country, and the field of gender studies itself. The book addresses tough topics like hate, violence, and privilege, and it also considers institutionalized heteronormativity through the military, law, religion, and more. The book ends with a chapter called "It's Getting Better" that presents evidence for queer hope and courage. Filled with compelling true stories, this book is an ideal introduction to gender and sexuality that encourages students to question their own assumptions.
ISBN: 9781442233539Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Sex Matters by
Get the right care for your body -- and avoid treatments that can endanger women -- with this important manual from a physician who is a leading expert on sex and gender medicine. Sex Matters tackles one of the most urgent, yet unspoken issues facing women's health care today: all models of medical research and practice are based on male-centric models that ignore the unique biological and emotional differences between men and women -- an omission that can endanger women's lives. The facts surrounding how male-centric medicine impacts women's health every day are chilling: in the ER, women are more likely to receive a psychiatric diagnosis with regard to opioid use, while men are more likely to be referred for detoxification; the more vocal women become about their pain, the more likely their providers are to prescribe either inadequate or inappropriate pain relief medication; women often present with nontraditional symptoms of stroke, which causes delays in recognition by both them and their health professionals; and a government accountability study found that 80% of drugs that are withdrawn from the market are due to side effects that happen to women (a result of testing drugs mostly on men). Leading expert on sex and gender medicine Dr. Alyson McGregor focuses on the key areas where these differences are most potentially harmful, addressing: Cardiac and stroke diagnosis and treatment in women Prescription and dosing of pharmaceuticals; Subjective evaluation of women's symptoms; Pain and pain management; Hormones and female biochemistry (including prescribed hormones); How economic status, race, and gender identity are additional critical factors. Not only does Dr. McGregor explore these disparities in depth, she shares clear, practical suggestions for what women can do to protect themselves. A work of riveting exposé with revelatory insights and actionable guidance for navigating the medical establishment, Sex Matters is an empowering roadmap for reinventing modern medicine -- and for self-care.
ISBN: 9780738246765Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Surviving Sexism in Academia by
This edited collection contends that if women are to enter into leadership positions at equal levels with their male colleagues, then sexism in all its forms must be acknowledged, attended to, and actively addressed. This interdisciplinary collection--Surviving Sexism in Academia: Strategies for Feminist Leadership--is part storytelling, part autoethnography, part action plan. The chapters document and analyze everyday sexism in the academy and offer up strategies for survival, ultimately 'lifting the veil" from the good old boys/business-as-usual culture that continues to pervade academia in both visible and less-visible forms, forms that can stifle even the most ambitious women in their careers.
ISBN: 9781315523200Publication Date: 2017-06-26
The Time Has Come by
"For too long the struggle for the rights of women and girls was seen as women's business. Of course, it's equally men's business and stops being such a struggle when it's seen that way. This reframing gives us a chance to understand violence against women as deeply toxic for us all." -Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women The Time Has Come explores how a patriarchal culture that has given power to men comes at a huge cost to women, children, and, surprisingly, to men as well. It details how very achievable changes in our workplaces, in the ways we raise boys to be men, and in the movement to end men's violence will bring significant rewards to communities all around the world. Michael Kaufman is the cofounder of the White Ribbon Campaign-the largest international network of men working to end violence against women-and for decades has been an advisor on gender equality to the United Nations, governments, NGOs, schools, and workplaces around the world. With honest storytelling, compassion, and hard-hitting analysis, The Time Has Come is a compelling look at why men must take a stand in the fight for general equality.
ISBN: 9781640091191Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Unnormalizing Education by
Recently, with the number of students from higher education and K-12 settings committing suicide, it is apparent that homophobia and homophobic bullying are tremendous problems in our schools and universities. However, educators are unclear about an appropriate process for addressing these challenges. In this book, Jones postulates that we must begin exploring the culture of educational environments as they relate to sexual difference, in order to begin conceptualizing ways in which we may begin to address homophobia and heteronormativity. To that end, this book addresses how educators (at all levels) must begin examining how their concepts about different sexual identities are "normalized" through socializing processes and schooling. In doing so, this book examines how individuals construct meanings about homophobia and hate language through "contextual oppositions, " how educational environments maintain a ''false tolerance" when claiming to be tolerant of different sexual identities, how a hierarchy of hate language exists in educational environments, among other issues related to creating safe places for all students. In essence, the book attempts to "un"normalize society's constructions of sexual identity by deconstructing the social norms.
ISBN: 9781623967086Publication Date: 2014-08-01
We Are the Leaders We've Been Waiting For by
At this time of social flux, of changing demographics on campus and the world beyond, of recognition of intersectional identities, as well as the wide variety of aspirations and career goals of today's women undergraduates, how can colleges and universities best prepare them for the demands of modern leadership? This text speaks to the changing context of today's women students' experiences, recognizing that their work life goals may go beyond climbing the corporate ladder to include social innovation and entrepreneurial goals, policy and politics, and social activism. This book is a product of multiple collaborations and intellectual contributions of a diverse group of undergraduate and graduate women who helped shape the course on which it is based. They provided research support, critical readings, as well as the diverse narratives that are included throughout the book, not as an ideal for readers to aspire to but as an authentic expression of how their distinct and sometimes non-conforming lived experiences shaped their understandings of leadership. It goes beyond hero/she-ro person-centered approaches to get at the complex and intrapersonal nature of leadership. It also situates intersectional identities, critical consciousness, and student development theory as important lenses throughout the text. Recognizing that there are many possible manifestations of leadership or gender, this text encourages students to embrace the contradictions rather than engaging in dualistic, black-and-white thinking, challenging them to address such questions as, Should women "lean in" and work harder to achieve their own leadership goals, or should they focus on bigger systemic issues to create equity in the workplace? Each chapter concludes with a brief chapter review, a narrative from a current college student, and critical reflection questions.
ISBN: 9781642670103Publication Date: 2020-05-14
What Works by
"Compelling, lucid, and filled with actionable insights, What Works draws from a deep well of research to explain how we can end gender inequality."-Adam Grant, author of Give and Take and Originals "A pathbreaking work, packed with insights on every page The best book ever written on behavioral science and discrimination."-Cass Sunstein, coauthor of Nudge A Financial Times/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Finalist Gender equality is a moral and a business imperative. But unconscious bias holds us back, and de-biasing people's minds has proven to be difficult and expensive. Diversity training programs have had limited success, and individual effort alone often invites backlash. Behavioral design offers a new solution. By de-biasing organizations instead of individuals, we can make smart changes that have big impacts. Presenting research-based solutions, Iris Bohnet hands us the tools we need to move the needle in classrooms and boardrooms, in hiring and promotion, benefiting businesses, governments, and the lives of millions. What Works is built on new insights into the human mind. It draws on data collected by companies, universities, and governments in Australia, India, Norway, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zambia, and other countries, often in randomized controlled trials. It points out dozens of evidence-based interventions that could be adopted right now and demonstrates how research is addressing gender bias, improving lives and performance. What Works shows what more can be done-often at shockingly low cost and surprisingly high speed.
ISBN: 9780674089037Publication Date: 2016-03-08
Background Articles
Popular Articles
Scholarly Articles
- The Everyday Sexism ProjectThe Everyday Sexism Project exists to catalogue instances of sexism experienced on a day to day basis. They might be serious or minor, outrageously offensive or so niggling and normalised that you don’t even feel able to protest. Say as much or as little as you like, use your real name or a pseudonym – it’s up to you. By sharing your story you’re showing the world that sexism does exist, it is faced by women everyday and it is a valid problem to discuss.
- Know your Rights: Gender Discrimination at SchoolThe purpose of this Know Your Rights Guide is to help you understand your rights and options if you have experienced sexual assault or sexual harassment at a school or university. This guide is not official legal advice. Laws frequently change and can be interpreted in different ways, so we cannot guarantee that all of the information in this Guide is accurate as it applies to your specific situation.
- Know your Rights: Gender Discrimination at WorkThe purpose of this Know Your Rights Guide is to help you understand your rights and options if you have experienced gender discrimination at work. This guide is not official legal advice. Laws frequently change and can be interpreted in different ways, so we cannot guarantee that all of the information in this Guide is accurate as it applies to your specific situation.
- Transgender ArchivesThe Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ and other gender-diverse people.
- Women’s History Milestones: A TimelineFrom a plea to a founding father, to the suffragists to Title IX, to the first female political figures, women have blazed a steady trail towards equality in the United States.
- "A seat at the table" isn't the solution for gender equityWomen and girls are conditioned to believe success is "a seat at the table." Creator, actress and author Lilly Singh thinks we need to build a better table. In this hilarious, incisive talk, Singh traces the arc of her career from up-and-coming YouTuber to history-making late-night talk show host, offering four ways to build a more inclusive society where girls are encouraged and empowered to do great things.
- Everyday sexism: Laura Bates at TEDxCoventGardenWomenIn this fascinating talk, founder of the award-winning EverydaySexismProject, Laura Bates, talks about her inspiring initiative. The EveryDaySexism is an ever-increasing collection of over 50,000 women's experiences of gender imbalance. The stories come from women of all ages, races and sexual orientations, disabled and non-disabled, employed and unemployed, religious and non-religious. The project has expanded into 18 countries worldwide and become internationally renowned, featuring in media from the New York Times to French Glamour, CNN to Grazia South Africa, Cosmopolitan to the Times of India.
- Sex Discrimination: Crash Course Government and Politics #30Today, Craig is going to talk about employment discrimination, and we're going to focus primarily on women in the workforce. Discrimination against women tends to be handled somewhat differently in the courts as they are not a minority. Even so, the courts need a method for challenging issues to help further important government interests - this is called intermediate scrutiny. (If you'll remember, strict scrutiny is the most rigorous form of judicial review and rational basis review is the least rigorous.) So we'll talk about things like disparate impact and sexual harassment in the workplace and how these cases are handled in the courts
- Sexism and the English languageSexism is rife in language. A woman may be described as “bossy”, while a man is more likely to be “assertive”. The Economist's language expert Lane Greene explores the gender stereotypes used in everyday speech.
- Battle Tactics For Your Sexist WorkplaceYes, your workplace is sexist. Let’s laugh/cry together while figuring out what we can do about it. We break down how sexism works in the modern workplace. And with help from some badass experts, we bring you real tactics you can use to fight back.
- Gender at WorkThe Gender at Work Podcast is a bi-monthly podcast series, featuring diverse voices from Gender at Work’s international network of feminist scholars, activists, and community-led development practitioners.
- Dear HBRAre you experiencing gender bias at work? In this episode of HBR’s advice podcast, Dear HBR:, cohosts Alison Beard and Dan McGinn answer your questions with the help of Katie Coffman, a professor at Harvard Business School. They talk through what to do when you are held to a higher standard as a female manager, you’ve been promoted but a male deputy has been chosen for you, or you join a company that is living in the past.
- The Pay CheckBloomberg’s newest podcast, The Pay Check, analyzes the human toll of getting paid less for the same work.
- Center for Reproductive RightsThe Center for Reproductive Rights is the only global legal advocacy organization dedicated to advancing reproductive rights. Learn about our landmark court victories, legal policy and advocacy work, resources and more.
- Equality NowAt Equality Now, we use a unique combination of legal advocacy, regional partnership-building, and community mobilization to realize our vision of a more just and equal world for women and girls.
- Gender at WorkGender at Work envisions a world that values and respects women’s human rights and cultures of equality, especially gender equality. We understand that to change systems of power that hold inequality in place, relationships between people, institutions and organizations have to shift.
- MenEngage AllianceWe harness the collective energies of our members toward ending patriarchal power and supporting women's rights, LGBTQI rights, and human rights – and achieving gender justice and social justice for all.
- National Organization for Women (NOW)As the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States. NOW has hundreds of chapters and hundreds of thousands of members and activists in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Since our founding in 1966, NOW’s purpose is to take action through intersectional grassroots activism to promote feminist ideals, lead societal change, eliminate discrimination, and achieve and protect the equal rights of all women and girls in all aspects of social, political, and economic life.