NSU Oceanographic Campus Library Software Resources
General Information
SPSS is no longer available on library computers.
Students may request individual access on personal devices by completing an OIIT Software Request Form.
A 14-day free trial is also available. Get it here!
https://www.ibm.com/account/reg/us-en/signup?formid=urx-19774
SPSS means “Statistical Package for the Social Sciences” and was first launched in 1968.
SPSS is software for editing and analyzing all sorts of data. These data may come from basically any source: scientific research, a customer database, Google Analytics or even the server log files of a website. SPSS can open all file formats that are commonly used for structured data such as: spreadsheets from MS Excel or OpenOffice; plain text files (.txt or .csv); relational (SQL) databases; Stata and SAS.
Library Resources
-
SPSS Explained
by
SPSS Explained provides the student with all that they need to undertake statistical analysis using SPSS. It combines a step-by-step approach to each procedure with easy to follow screenshots at each stage of the process. A number of other helpful features are provided: regular advice boxes with tips specific to each test explanations divided into #65533;essential#65533; and #65533;advanced#65533; sections to suit readers at different levels frequently asked questions at the end of each chapter. The first edition of this popular book has been fully updated for IBM SPSS version 21 and also includes: chapters that explain bootstrapping and how this is used an introduction to binary logistic regression coverage of new features such as Chart Builder. Presented in full colour and with a fresh, reader-friendly layout, this fully updated new edition also comes with a companion website featuring an array of supplementary resources for students. The authors have many years of experience in teaching SPSS to students from a wide range of disciplines. Their understanding of SPSS users#65533; concerns, as well as a knowledge of the type of questions students ask, form the foundation of this book. Minimal prior knowledge is assumed, so the book is well designed for the novice user, but it will also be a useful reference source for those developing their own expertise in SPSS. It is suitable for all students who need to do statistical analysis using SPSS in various departments including Psychology, Social Science, Business Studies, Nursing, Education, Health and Sport Science, Communication and Media, Geography, and Biology.
Call Number: BF39 .H538 2014ISBN: 9780415616010Publication Date: 2014-04-30 -
Interpreting Quantitative Data with IBM SPSS Statistics
by
The second edition of Interpreting Quantitative Data with IBM SPSS Statistics is an invaluable resource for students analysing quantitative data for the first time. The book clearly sets out a range of statistical techniques and their common applications, explaining their logic and links to the research process. It also shows how SPSS can be used as a tool to aid analysis. Key features of the second edition include: - new chapters on one-way and two-way ANOVA, the Chi-square test and linear regression. - SPSS lab sessions following each chapter which demonstrate how SPSS can be used in practice - sets of exercises and 'real-life' examples to aid teaching and learning - lists of key terms to aid revision and further reading to enhance students' understanding - an improved text design making the book easier to navigate - a companion website with answers to the labs and exercises, along with additional data sets and powerpoint slides
Call Number: HA32 .A68 2013ISBN: 9781446207420Publication Date: 2012-12-06 -
A Conceptual Guide to Statistics Using SPSS
by
This book helps students develop a conceptual understanding of a variety of statistical tests by linking the statistics with the computational steps and output from SPSS. Learning how statistical ideas map onto computation in SPSS will help students build a better understanding of both. For example, seeing exactly how the concept of variance is used in SPSS-how it is converted into a number based on real data, which other concepts it is associated with, and where it appears in various statistical tests-will not only help students understand how to use statistical tests in SPSS and how to interpret their output, but will also teach them about the concept of variance itself. Each chapter begins with a student-friendly explanation of the concept behind each statistical test and how the test relates to that concept. The authors then walk through the steps to compute the test in SPSS and the output, pointing out wherever possible how the SPSS procedure and output connects back to the conceptual underpinnings of the test. Each of the steps is accompanied by annotated screen shots from SPSS, and relevant components of output are highlighted in both the text and in the figures. Sections explain the conceptual machinery underlying the statistical tests. In contrast to merely presenting the equations for computing the statistic, these sections describe the idea behind each test in plain language and help students make the connection between the ideas and SPSS procedures. These include extensive treatment of custom hypothesis testing in ANOVA, MANOVA, ANCOVA, and regression, and an entire chapter on the advanced matrix algebra functions available only through syntax in SPSS. The book will be appropriate for both advanced undergraduate and graduate level courses in statistics.
Call Number: HA32 .B47 2012ISBN: 9781412974066Publication Date: 2011-04-12 -
How to Use SPSS Syntax
by
Rather than focusing on SPSS menus and the graphic user interface, How to Use SPSS Syntax, by Manfred te Grotenhuis and Chris Visscher, focuses on the syntax rules in SPSS, a more encompassing approach that allows readers to replicate statistical analyses by storing them in a file for future use. Practical, accessible, and highly focused, the book is brief, while still helping readers develop an in-depth understanding of the common syntax rules and commands. In every chapter, the authors clearly explain the syntax, show the main results, and include social science research examples and downloadable files that allow readers to follow along. Checks throughout the book help readers determine whether the syntax is used correctly.
Call Number: HA32 .G75 2014ISBN: 9781483333434Publication Date: 2014-01-14 -
Using SPSS for Windows and Macintosh
by
Will help anyone use SPSS to successfully analyze data, interpret results, and describe findings. This complete introductory guide to SPSS has been thoroughly updated for the software's latest version s for Windows and Macintosh. It has also been revised throughout for greater accessibility, simplicity, and ease of use. The book provides step-by-step walkthroughs of every basic SPSS and statistical technique, along with tips, examples, exercises, and extensive pedagogical support designed to promote rapid learning. Coverage includes: mastering the SPSS interface; creating and working with data files; defining and creating variables; working with data, charts, and output; univariate descriptive statistics; univariate and multivariate analyses; correlation, regression, and discriminate analysis; scaling and nonparametric procedures; and more. For everyone who wants to master the latest versions of SPSS. SPSS is used in a wide range of markets, including psychology and other areas of scientific research; marketing and surveys; financial services and insurance; education; government; telecommunications; and beyond.
Call Number: HA32 .G737 2008ISBN: 9780131890251Publication Date: 2007-07-12 -
Basic SPSS Tutorial
by
This supplementary book for the social, behavioral, and health sciences helps readers with no prior knowledge of IBM#65533; SPSS#65533; Statistics, statistics, or mathematics learn the basics of SPSS. Designed to reduce fear and build confidence, Basic SPSS Tutorial by Manfred te Grotenhuis and Anneke Matthijssen guides readers through point-and-click sequences using clear examples from real scientific research and invites them to replicate the findings. Relevant outcomes are provided for reference, and exercises at the end of Chapters 2 - 5 provide additional practice. After reading the book and using the program, readers will come away with a basic knowledge of the most commonly used procedures in statistics.
Call Number: HA32 .G7497 2015ISBN: 9781483369419Publication Date: 2015-02-17 -
Spss - The Basics
by
ForewordSPSS, standing for Statistical Package for the Social Sciences, is a powerful, user-friendly software package for the manipulation and statistical analysis of data. The package is particularly useful for students and researchers in psychology, sociology, psychiatry, and other behavioral sciences, containing of both univariate and multivariate procedures much used in these disciplines. However, it is often heard that the students can not handle and work efficiently with this package and the books compiled or translated about this software could not delineate the basic parts of SPSS and the way they operate. The present volume is a solution to this problem.Who is this book for?In general terms, this book is for anyone new to SPSS. No prior knowledge of statistics or mathematics is needed, or even expected. In specific terms, this book was written with two groups in mind: students who are not majoring in mathematics but are instructed to use SPSS, and office workers who are instructed to use SPSS to analyze some data. For most people who generate statistics, the complexity of using the software becomes an obstacle. Our purpose in writing this book was to show you how to move that obstacle out of the way with minimum effort.How the book is organizedThis book was written so you could read first; the basic parts of the package, to get yourself started with SPSS, and second; jump around to the main parts and programs as needed. SPSS is miscellaneous software, and we don't claim to illuminate everything. However, we do claim that those programs and aspects which are often employed by students have been explained in detail. The book features step-by-step procedures that you can follow to see how SPSS operates. After you use the provided sample data and step through an example, you'll have a handle on how to apply those steps to your data. The parts of the book divide the information about SPSS into its major categories. The chapters in each part further divide the information into smaller subcategories.
Call Number: HA32 .H37 2015ISBN: 9781514320433Publication Date: 2015-06-25 -
IBM SPSS for Intermediate Statistics
by
Designed to help readers analyze and interpret research data using IBM SPSS, this user-friendly book shows readers how to choose the appropriate statistic based on the design; perform intermediate statistics, including multivariate statistics; interpret output; and write about the results. The book reviews research designs and how to assess the accuracy and reliability of data; how to determine whether data meet the assumptions of statistical tests; how to calculate and interpret effect sizes for intermediate statistics, including odds ratios for logistic analysis; how to compute and interpret post-hoc power; and an overview of basic statistics for those who need a review. Unique chapters on multilevel linear modeling; multivariate analysis of variance (MANOVA); assessing reliability of data; multiple imputation; mediation, moderation, and canonical correlation; and factor analysis are provided. SPSS syntax with output is included for those who prefer this format. The new edition features: #65533; IBM SPSS version 22; although the book can be used with most older and newer versions #65533; New discusiion of intraclass correlations (Ch. 3) #65533; Expanded discussion of effect sizes that includes confidence intervals of effect sizes (ch.5) #65533; New information on part and partial correlations and how they are interpreted and a new discussion on backward elimination, another useful multiple regression method (Ch. 6) #65533; New chapter on how to use a variable as a mediator or a moderator (ch. 7) #65533; Revised chapter on multilevel and hierarchical linear modeling (ch. 12) #65533; A new chapter (ch. 13) on multiple imputation that demonstrates how to deal with missing data #65533; Updated web resources for instructors including PowerPoint slides and answers to interpretation questions and extra problems and for students, data sets, chapter outlines, and study guides. IBM SPSS for Intermediate Statistics, Fifth Edition provides helpful teaching tools: #65533; all of the key SPSS windows needed to perform the analyses #65533; outputs with call-out boxes to highlight key points #65533; interpretation sections and questions to help students better understand and interpret the output #65533; extra problems with realistic data sets for practice using intermediate statistics #65533; Appendices on how to get started with SPSS, write research questions, and basic statistics. An ideal supplement for courses in either intermediate/advanced statistics or research methods taught in departments of psychology, education, and other social, behavioral, and health sciences. This book is also appreciated by researchers in these areas looking for a handy reference for SPSS
Call Number: HA32 .L444 2015ISBN: 9781138801172Publication Date: 2014-08-05 -
SPSS Statistics for Dummies®
by
The ultimate beginner's guide to SPSS and statistical analysis SPSS Statistics For Dummies is the fun and friendly guide to mastering SPSS. This book contains everything you need to know to get up and running quickly with this industry-leading software, with clear, helpful guidance on working with both the software and your data. Every chapter of this new edition has been updated with screenshots and steps that align with SPSS 23.0. You'll learn how to set up the software and organize your workflow, then delve deep into analysis to discover the power of SPSS capabilities. You'll discover the mechanics behind the calculations, perform predictive analysis, produce informative graphs, and maximize your data, even if it's been awhile since your last statistics class. SPSS is the leading statistical software for social sciences, marketing, health care, demography, government, education, data mining, and more. This powerful package gives you the tools you need to get more out of your data, and this book is your beginner-friendly guide to getting the most out of the software. Install and configure SPSS and learn the basics of how it works Master the process of getting data into SPSS and manipulating it to produce results See how to display data in dozens of different graphic formats to fit specific needs Make SPSS manufacture the numbers you want and take advantage of the many analysis options Discover ways to customize the SPSS interface and the look of your results, edit graphics and pivot tables, and program SPSS with Command Syntax Statistical analysis is crucial to so many industries, and accuracy and efficiency are crucial. SPSS offers you the capability to deliver, but you still must know how to take utmost advantage of the tools at your fingertips. SPSS Statistics For Dummies shows you how to handle data like a pro, with step-by-step instruction and expert advice.
Call Number: HA32 .M37 2015ISBN: 9781118989012Publication Date: 2015-06-02
-
Data Analysis with IBM SPSS Statistics
by
Master data management & analysis techniques with IBM SPSS Statistics 24About This Book* Leverage the power of IBM SPSS Statistics to perform efficient statistical analysis of your data* Choose the right statistical technique to analyze different types of data and build efficient models from your data with ease* Overcome any hurdle that you might come across while learning the different SPSS Statistics concepts with clear instructions, tips and tricksWho This Book Is ForThis book is designed for analysts and researchers who need to work with data to discover meaningful patterns but do not have the time (or inclination) to become programmers. We assume a foundational understanding of statistics such as one would learn in a basic course or two on statistical techniques and methods. What You Will Learn* Install and set up SPSS to create a working environment for analytics* Techniques for exploring data visually and statistically, assessing data quality and addressing issues related to missing data* How to import different kinds of data and work with it* Organize data for analytical purposes (create new data elements, sampling, weighting, subsetting, and restructure your data)* Discover basic relationships among data elements (bivariate data patterns, differences in means, correlations)* Explore multivariate relationships* Leverage the offerings to draw accurate insights from your research, and benefit your decision-makingIn DetailSPSS Statistics is a software package used for logical batched and non-batched statistical analysis. Analytical tools such as SPSS can readily provide even a novice user with an overwhelming amount of information and a broad range of options for analyzing patterns in the data.The journey starts with installing and configuring SPSS Statistics for first use and exploring the data to understand its potential (as well as its limitations). Use the right statistical analysis technique such as regression, classification and more, and analyze your data in the best possible manner. Work with graphs and charts to visualize your findings. With this information in hand, the discovery of patterns within the data can be undertaken. Finally, the high level objective of developing predictive models that can be applied to other situations will be addressed.By the end of this book, you will have a firm understanding of the various statistical analysis techniques offered by SPSS Statistics, and be able to master its use for data analysis with ease.Style and approachProvides a practical orientation to understanding a set of data and examining the key relationships among the data elements. Shows useful visualizations to enhance understanding and interpretation. Outlines a roadmap that focuses the process so decision regarding how to proceed can be made easily.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 9781787283817Publication Date: 2017-09-22 -
Spss for Intermediate Statistics
by
Intended as a supplement for intermediate statistics courses taught in depts of psych, ed, business, and other health, behavioral, and social sciences.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1410611426Publication Date: 2004-10-27 -
SPSS for Introductory Statistics
by
This book distinguishes itself from other SPSS resources through its unique integration of the research process (including design) and the use and interpretation of the statistics. Designed to help students analyze and interpret research data, the authors demonstrate how to choose the appropriate statistic based on the research design, interpret SPSS output, and write about the output in a research paper. The authors describe the use and interpretation of these statistics in user-friendly, non-technical language. The book prepares students for all of the steps in the research process, from design and data collection, to writing about the results. The new edition features SPSS 14.0 for Windows, but can also be used with older and newer versions. There are also new problems, expanded discussions of effect sizes, and an expanded appendix on getting started with SPSS. The book features discussions of writing about outputs, data entry and checking, reliability assessment, testing assumptions, and descriptive, inferential, and nonparametric statistics. Several related statistics are included in each chapter. SPSS syntax, along with the output, is included for those who prefer this format. Two realistic data sets are available on the book's CD and are used to solve the end of chapter problems. SPSS for Introductory Statistics, Third Edition, provides these helpful teaching tools: * All of the key SPSS windows needed to perform the analyses * Complete outputs with call-out boxes to highlight key points * Interpretation sections and questions to help students better understand the output * Lab assignments organized the way students proceed when they conduct a research project * Extra SPSS problems for practice in running and interpreting SPSS * Helpful appendices on how to get started with SPSS, write research questions, and create tables and figures. This book is an ideal supplement for courses in either statistics or research methods taught in departments of psychology, education, and other social and health sciences. The Instructor's Resource CD features PowerPoint slides and answers to and additional information on the questions and problems.
Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 1410610535Publication Date: 2004-07-21
Online Tutorials and Training
-
SPSS Statistics Essential Training
SPSS is a statistics and data analysis program for businesses, governments, research institutes, and academic organizations. In these tutorials, author Barton Poulson takes a practical, visual, and non-mathematical approach to SPSS. From importing spreadsheets to creating regression models, to exporting charts, this course covers all the basics, with an emphasis on clarity, interpretation, communicability, and application. Barton will help you:
Build charts, scatterplots, and box plots
Calculate descriptive statistics such as means and standard deviations
Use inferential statistics such as t-tests and chi-squares
Enter and read data
Create new variables and crosstabulations
Model associations with correlations, contingency tables, and multiple-regression analysis
Format and export presentations to share your data
Plus, learn how to extend the power of SPSS with Python and R. This course is ideal for first-time researchers and those who want to make the most of data in their professional and academic work.
-
SPSS for newbies, by Phil Chan
Welcome to my SPSS playlist - a video "how to do stuff in SPSS" guide. Since it is for newbies, I go at a gentle pace, so gentle that some of you might have to be patient. -
SPSS for Beginners
A guide on SPSS for beginners.
-
Choosing the Correct Statistical Test in SAS, STAT, SPSS and R
The UCLA Institute for Digital Research & Education offers a table that you can use to choose statistical tests, as well as instructions on how to run the tests in SAS, STATA, SPSS, and R.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
O'Reilly for Higher EducationLocal access only for NSU. Remote access only for NSU. - ProQuest
Provides over 5,500 e-books covering topics including IT networking, programming, project management, certification preparation, and digital media. Content is published by more than 100 publishing partners including O'Reilly, IBM Press, Adobe Press, Que, Microsoft, and Wiley. Contents are frequently updated with the latest titles and editions. After logging in, users must select "Institution not listed". Users without a personal O’Reilly account should then enter their NSU email to sign in. Users who previously created a personal O’Reilly account should select "already a user" to sign in or reset a password.
If you experience login issues with your personal O'Reilly user account please email customercare@oreilly.com so that your account can be updated. 