Marketing
Getting started
This guide covers topics related to marketing: advertising, market research, public relations, branding and more.
When launching products or services, expanding into new areas or simply just taking the pulse of their market, most companies will perform some type of market research involving information about their industry. They will also want to know more about their target clientele in order to find the best way to reach potential clients. Typically, they will gather data about individuals’ age, gender, occupation, income, education, marital status and much more.
While demographics take into account factual information, psychographics are used to classify consumers according to their attitudes, beliefs, interests, lifestyle.
For more information on market research, please consult our Demographics and Market Research guide.
Primary versus secondary data
Primary data involves some sort of observation and/or interaction with a sample population. Popular methods used to gather primary data are interviews, focus groups, surveys. Another good source for primary data represents the messaging coming directly from a company in what it says about itself in their communications (annual reports, press releases, direct interactions with their clients via tweets for example)
Secondary data is information that has already been collected by someone else. Examples of secondary data: market reports, news, statistics (industry or sociodemographic), books, etc. Trade associations, the government, media are good sources for secondary data.
If you are looking for market reports resources, please consult our Industry Information guide.
Introduction to marketing
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
The Advanced Dictionary of Marketing by
This advanced dictionary of marketing focuses on leading-edge terminology for use by individuals who are serious about the theory and practice of marketing: researchers, directors, managers, and anyone studying marketing for a professional and/or academic qualification. Covering 1,098 terms, the dictionary includes over 500 major entries. All terms are extensively cross-referenced and thematic indices allow the reader to locate terms by their applications and bykeywords.All major and emerging marketing approaches, from ambient marketing and fusion marketing, to tribal marketing and word-of-mouth marketing, are included, as are hundreds of other advanced concepts such as brand community, disintermediation, dynamic capabilities, and share of voice. Further, entries spanning 132 theories and 45 marketing-related laws and principles are presented, making this dictionary more theoretically complete than any other marketing dictionary available. Finally, anextensive collection of 107 marketing effects, such as the loyalty ripple effect and mere exposure effect are also included, where, in all cases, their marketing implications and applications are presented fully.Each term covered in this advanced dictionary includes six elements:Description -- how the term is definedKey insights -- important insights provided by an understanding of the termKeywords -- words to further understand the nature of the termImplications -- what knowledge of the term means to marketersApplication areas and further readings -- areas where the term's knowledge is being put to useBibliography -- articles and books referencedExample entries include:Agency Theory, Audience Effect, Blog Marketing, Boomerang Effect, Confirmation Bias, Country of Origin Effect, Customer Equity, Disruptive Technology, Double Jeopardy Effect, Eclectic Paradigm, E-marketing, First Law of Marketing, Foot-in-the Door Technique, Free Rider Effect, Game Theory, Glocal Marketing, Green Marketing, Halo Effect, Honeymoon Effect, Law of Comparative Advantage, Leapfrogging, Market Entry Timing, Megamarketing, Metcalfe's Law, Moore's Law, Network Effect, Not Invented HereSyndrome, Odd Price Effect, Permission Marketing, Psychic Distance, Recency Principle, Retro-Marketing, Rule of Ten Percent, Sagacity Segmentation, Salutary Products, Snob Effect, Social Marketing, Stealth Marketing, Substitute Awareness Effect, Sunk Cost Fallacy, Sustainable Competitive Advantage,Value-Based Marketing, Viral Marketing, Winner's Curse.
ISBN: 9780191536649Publication Date: 2007-12-01
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more-all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most "webinitions." And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
ISBN: 9780814420287Publication Date: 2013-04-23
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing by
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series is comprised of 11 stand-alone volumes, each covering a major subject area in the field. All of the volumes provide informative definitions and explanation of the key concepts in their area. For students, researchers, academics and practitioners they should act as a reference, bringing together specially-commissioned and edited entries from an international team of scholars and teachers.
ISBN: 1557869391Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Diccionario inglés de publicidad y marketing by
Este diccionario constituye una herramienta esencial e indispensable para todos aquellos profesionales del mundo de la Comunicacion que en algun momento necesiten averiguar el significado exacto de cualquier anglicismo - tan omnipresentes hoy en dia
ISBN: 8480884053Publication Date: 2000
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by
From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it. For the neophyte professional, it describes the various players and strategies of the industry. For the student, it summarizes the key ideas of the most important cultural theorists introduced in advertising and marketing courses. For everyone, it helps explain the cultural, economic, and psychological role that advertising concepts play in society. A handy introduction for students and a quick reference for young professionals.
ISBN: 9781611329872Publication Date: 2013-08-31
A Dictionary of Marketing by
Offering international coverage, this accessible and wide-ranging guide provides over 2,600 alphabetical entries on virtually every aspect of marketing, ranging from traditional marketing techniques and key theories to the recent explosion of internet-related marketing methods. Users will find entries on planning, pricing, promotion, positioning, pod-casting, social media marketing, and search engine optimization, among many other topics. The book also features a time line of key events and over 100 web links, accessed via an up-to-date companion website. In addition, the main appendix provides greater depth on the subject, including advertising and marketing case studies with a strong international focus. These are arranged thematically--automobile industry, food and drink, luxury goods, and so on--illuminating the iconic brands, marketing campaigns, and the slogans that have permeated our collective consciousness, exploring how the ideas defined in the main text of the book have been utilized successfully in practice across the globe. This dictionary is an indispensable resource for students of marketing and related disciplines, as well as a practical guide for professionals.
ISBN: 9780199590230Publication Date: 2011-05-15
Dictionary of Marketing by
This dictionary contains more than 5000 definitions and explanations of the terms used in the fields of marketing and advertising. In cases where a term or definition was originated by, or is otherwise closely linked with, a specific person, the name is given in parenthesis.
ISBN: 0566076128Publication Date: 1995-01-06
Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising by
Authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date defintions of every important word, term, and phrase used in marketing and advertising today Written by one of the industry's most respected experts and consultant to the Oxford English Dictionary, the Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising combines the precision, authority, and informative breadth professionals and students have come to expect of the Rosenberg dictionaries. With clear, concise, multicontextual definitions of over 5,500 words, terms, and phrases, the Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising covers an entire spectrum of interrelated disciplines in a well-organized, easy-to-access format. Defines terminology used in marketing, print and broadcast advertising, merchandising, packaging, sales, consumer behavior, direct mail, and market research Defines words in all current professional contexts--widest usage is cited first and remaining definitions are listed by area of specialty and thoroughly cross-referenced Incorporates terms from both government and private-sector organizations--definitions are prepared in cooperation with leading specialists Encompasses new terms from international marketing and advertising Provides a wealth of synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations
ISBN: 0471025038Publication Date: 1995-03-02
Dictionary of marketing communications by
The Dictionary of Marketing Communications contains more than 4,000 entries, including key terms and concepts in the promotion aspect of marketing with coverage of advertising, sales promotion, public relations, direct marketing, personal selling and e-marketing.
ISBN: 9781452229669Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of Marketing Terms by
Brief entries define some 2,500 marketing terms in this dictionary covering everyday professional terminology and the specialized vocabulary in corporate and academic use. This second edition reflects the explosion of the language over the past quarter century. Useful for students and executives. An
ISBN: 0585167915Publication Date: 1995-01-01- The international dictionary of marketing: Over 2000 professional terms & techniques by
Written in clear English, this title provides descriptions of the techniques, practices, terminology and jargon used in all marketing-related areas. Presented alphabetically in the book, these include the areas of: marketing communications, the media, advertising, public relations, sales promotion, corporate communications and the Internet. It seeks to be useful to professional practitioners as well as to students.
ISBN: 141759389XPublication Date: 2002
Marketing-Wörterbuch / Marketing Dictionary by
Dieses W#65533;rterbuch kn#65533;pft unmittelbar an das Standard-W#65533;rterbuch f#65533;r Werbung, Massenmedien und Marketing/Standard Dictionary of Advertising, Mass Media and Marketing an. Es unterscheidet sich von dem Vorg#65533;ngerwerk dadurch, dass die Begriffe erg#65533;nzt und erweitert wurden. Zu jedem Begriff finden sich die in der Marketingpraxis g#65533;ngigen #65533;bersetzungen zusammen mit einer kurzen Begriffsdefinition und/oder Erl#65533;uterung. Damit wird es den Bed#65533;rfnissen von Nutzern in der Praxis gerecht, die hier verl#65533;ssliche #65533;bersetzungen und pr#65533;gnante Begriffserkl#65533;rungen in einem Satz finden.
ISBN: 9783110815641Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising by
At your fingertips--find advertising terms and concepts quickly and easily in this A-Z reference guide! As with many institutions, advertising has developed its own vocabulary. While some terms and concepts may overlap with other areas, many are used in a particular way and have specific meanings in advertising. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is a comprehensive yet to-the-point compilation of terms and concepts used in the advertising industry. It provides brief, easy-to-understand definitions and explanations of common advertising terms and covers all major concepts used in the industry. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is unique in that it completely covers all terms and examines all aspects of advertising. This book will help bring you up-to-date with current advertising jargon. It is laid out in an easy-to-use alphabetical format, which allows you to easily access and understand the information. For further reference, it also includes a list of advertising experts who have recently written articles or textbooks on advertising. Some of the terms and concepts in the Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising include: advertising appeals evaluation criteria of advertising Internet advertising magazine advertising television advertising advertising campaign management sponsorship marketing and many more! The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising provides advertisers, marketers, consumers, and businesses a handy reference to the terminology that is used in the advertising industry. Those new to the business or trying to get into the business can use this book to familiarize themselves with terms and concepts they will need to know. Individuals already in the business can use this book as a quick reference tool for terms they are unsure of or have forgotten. It is also useful as a textbook for students of advertising.
ISBN: 9780789022103Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Concise Encyclopedia of Professional Services Marketing by
Concise Encyclopedia of Professional Services Marketing provides readers with a detailed account of the concepts and strategies necessary to successfully market professional services and grow a business. Complete with practical information relevant to a wide range of professionals--including accountants, architects, attorneys, consultants, dentists, engineers, and physicians--this guidebook is an indispensable reference for anyone looking to learn the concepts and applications needed to market professional services. In addition to essay-length articles arranged from A to Z, and detailed expositions of both the theories and practical techniques necessary to formulating and executing a successful marketing plan, Concise Encyclopedia of Professional Services Marketing contains an appendix of information on launching a multimedia advertising campaign, with special focus on effective website design and other contemporary media formats. For anyone creating their own business or looking to expand an already existing one, Concise Encyclopedia of Professional Services Marketing is a comprehensive and vital reference.
ISBN: 9780203884713Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands Series by
This three-volume reference contains information highlighting 600 products alphabetically by brand name, and places particular emphasis on those brands which have been prominent since 1950.
ISBN: 1558623353Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Encyclopedia of consumer culture by
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture covers consuming societies around the world, from the Age of Enlightenment to the present, and shows how consumption has become intrinsic to the world′s social, economic, political, and cultural landscapes.
ISBN: 9781412994248Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
This completely new second volume explores nearly 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns from 1999-2005. Entries profile recent print, radio, television, billboard and internet campaigns. Both major marketing campaigns of new companies and new product campaigns from well-established companies are covered. Historical context is provided along with the expected and actual outcomes of each campaigns. Photos and sidebars enhance the text.
ISBN: 9781414406077Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Encyclopedia of major marketing strategies. Volume 3 by
This completely new third volume of Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands from 2011-2012. Entries will profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and television strategies amongst other types. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome.
ISBN: 9781414499222Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of major marketing strategies. Volume 4 by
A continuation of Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (1999,2007, 2013), this volume expands its international coverage through its 100 essays covering some of the top global and emerging brands that appeared from 2014 to 2018.
ISBN: 9781410389336Publication Date: 2019- Encyclopedia of public relations by
The two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations, arranged alphabetically, contains nearly 450 entries spanning all aspects of the public relations field - from theory and practice to history, including the great, famous and infamous practitioners.
ISBN: 9781452276236Publication Date: 2013
AMA Marketing Encyclopedia by
Capitalize on the challenges of uncertainty and change that have become part of everyday marketing. Here, a panel of leading marketing experts have surveyed the key areas of marketing, identified current trends, and provided their prescriptions for the future. Jeffrey Heilbrunn keeps you informed of cutting-edge marketing terminology as well as classical, mainstream concepts.
ISBN: 0844235938Publication Date: 1995-05-01
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
APA Handbook of Consumer Psychology by
The APA Handbook of Consumer Psychology presents a comprehensive survey of the field, including its historical background and critical sources of information in both core and emerging literature. This 33-chapter handbook is designed as a library reference that captures up-to-date content on consumer psychology, with insights offered by an outstanding roster of contributors. Broad coverage areas include perspectives on consumer psychology, consumer characteristics and contexts, use of psychology to communicate with consumers, consumer cognitions and affect, and use of psychology to carry out business functions. Chapters pinpoint practical issues; probe unresolved and controversial topics in a balanced manner; and present future theoretical, research, and practice trends. The handbook provides a starting point for an examination of consumer psychology and ways to move the knowledge forward in this meaningful and vital area of human behavior.
ISBN: 1433836424Publication Date: 2021-12-01
Digital Marketing Management by
This book is for managers and would-be managers who need to upgrade their knowledge of digital marketing. Told from the perspective of marketing strategy, it puts digital marketing in the context of rm strategy selection. The rst step in digital marketing is to understand your company and your brand. The second step is to put content and keywords on your website so that they can be found in search. Third, use the other delivery platforms of digital marketing, e-mail, social, and mobile, to deploy that content to the customer. The nal topics in the book focus on the importance of data management and privacy. The author discusses how to develop a database and to create an organization that puts data quality at its center. These practices are as critical to digital marketing success as the delivery platforms. Without quality data, no digital marketing program can be successful.
ISBN: 9781606499252Publication Date: 2015-01-27
The Essential Social Media Marketing Handbook by
It's time to take the fear and frustration out of social media. In today's crowded marketplace, it's harder than ever to rise above the noise and clutter. For millions of businesses, a savvy approach to social media is the secret to creating sustainable engagement with a profitable niche audience. Social media done right can build and strengthen your relationship with your customers, encourage brand loyalty, extend your influence, and expand your credibility. Social media changed the world--and today's social media platforms evolved to meet the world's changing needs. You've got more choices than ever before--online video, web audio, teleseminars, and more--plus new ways to attract prospects, retain customers, and reach a bigger audience. The trick is learning how to put the pieces together to create a powerful social media presence that draws in your ideal clients around the clock and around the world. By using the powerful strategies in The Essential Social Media Marketing Handbook, you will: Jump ahead of the competition. Expand your visibility and influence as a leader in your industry. Increase your expert credibility and create powerful new ways to collaborate. Build your brand into a powerhouse. Maximize your profit-making potential.
ISBN: 9781632659118Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Gale business insights handbook of global marketing by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Global Marketing examines the questions How can a business measure the cost effectiveness of expanding globally 01 How do you build and manage an international brand?| and |How can I identify new product opportunities in emerging markets?
ISBN: 9781414499352Publication Date: 2013
Gale business insights handbook of social media marketing by
The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Social Media Marketing examines the questions What is social media marketing and How can it be used in my business?| This volume focuses on building an internal business case for using social media, highlighting its importance, the benefits it can provide, and how to implement a successful strategy and measure its effectiveness. Entries examine such topics as the types of social media and their followers; how to increase discoverability; and how to define and protect your brand; legal challenges with social media, and more.
ISBN: 9781414499383Publication Date: 2013- Handbook of advances in marketing in an era of disruptions by
Leading scholars from around the world, who have keenly observed the changing market environment, business policies, parameters, theories, methods and practices, have put forth their theses on how marketing thinking needs to evolve to keep pace with the market reality.
ISBN: 9789353287733Publication Date: 2019
The Handbook of Communication and Corporate Reputation by
With the latest insights from the world of communication studies into the nature of corporate reputation, this new addition to Wiley-Blackwell's series of handbooks on communication and media reflects the growing visibility of large businesses' ethical profiles, and tracks the benefits that positive public attitudes can bring. Serves as the definitive research collection for a fast-growing field featuring contributions by key international scholars Brings together state-of-the-art communication studies insights on corporate reputation Identifies and addresses the lacunae in the research literature Applies new theoretical frameworks to corporate reputation
ISBN: 9781118335451Publication Date: 2013-03-21
Handbook of culture and consumer behavior by
Research on the influence of culture on consumer decision-making and consumption behavior has witnessed tremendous growth in the last decade.
ISBN: 9780190228347Publication Date: 2015
The Handbook of International Advertising Research by
This timely handbook brings academic excellence to international advertising research in the form of 28 contributions from over 40 leading scholars. The handbook's comprehensive treatment highlights existing knowledge, reports major findings across the subject, and recommends directions and agendas for future research. Fills the existing gap between the rapid growth in scholarly research on international advertising and the pressing need for more high-quality research in the area Covers 28 major areas in international advertising research, with contributions from more than 40 international advertising scholars based in over 10 countries or territories Comprehensive treatment includes the history of international advertising, audiences and media, strategy and execution, content effects, regulation, ethics, and advertising education Highlights existing knowledge in international advertising, reports major findings on a broad range of topics, and offers expert recommendations on directions for future research Contributors represent the most highly respected academics among international advertising researchers
ISBN: 9781118378496Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Handbook of Market Intelligence by
An important update to this roadmap for the development of a corporate intelligence program Market intelligence is the distinct discipline by which organisations systematically gather and process information about their external operating environment in order to facilitate accurate and confident decision making that is based on insight. For companies to thrive in the global post-recession marketplace, their management needs future-oriented business information. The Handbook of Market Intelligence provides a one stop shop, step-by-step roadmap for establishing, conducting and further developing corporate intelligence programs within an organisation and then shows how organisations can turn market data into actionable insights. * Full of best practice advice from hundreds of real-life international case studies * Outlines the anticipated future trends in Strategic Market Intelligence based on unique global survey data * Provides guidance on extracting relevant, useful and accurate market information that can be used for successful business development
ISBN: 9781118923627Publication Date: 2014-06-30
The Handbook of Mobile Market Research by
The premier guide to mobile market research The Handbook of Mobile Market Research is the first guide to focus exclusively on the use of mobile technology in market research. From a global perspective, more people own mobile phones than landlines or computers, and most people have their mobile phones with them at all times--along with their tablets, smartwatches, media players, and navigation devices. The continuous surge of mobile innovation provides unprecedented access to real-time consumer behaviour. Mobile market research allows users to reach more people, engage more people, and collect more valuable data as respondents are free to engage at their own pace, on their own time. Industry forerunners Ray Poynter, Navin Williams, and Sue York employ decades of study to examine the present and future state of mobile market research, as well as the advantages and disadvantages of various approaches. This book contains clear, comprehensive knowledge for those who implement, utilise, and study the field. Readers will learn: The characteristics, scope, and importance of mobile market research Purposes and effects of principal tools like brand tracking, ad testing, customer satisfaction research, and research technology How mobile devices are used for qualitative and quantitative research by way of online focus groups, online discussions, mobile diaries, mobile ethnographies, and mobile surveys Aspects and implications of mobile computer interviews, mobile phone interviews, mixed-mode research, international mobile research, and research using passive data, panels, lists, and communities The significance of the mobile ecosystem, market research ethics, and research on research Designed to be accessible and helpful for beginners and advanced users alike, The Handbook of Mobile Market Research is an extensive guide to one of the most promising, dynamic methods of data collection.
ISBN: 9781118935767Publication Date: 2014-08-05
The Handbook of Online Marketing Research: Knowing Your Customer Using the Net by
Examines the techniques and trends used to conduct online research, including how to leverage existing sources, online chat-based sessions, email feedback, online focus groups, and more. This book also demonstrates how both large and small companies can take proven traditional market research techniques and adapt them to the Web.
ISBN: 0071361146Publication Date: 2000-09-11
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods in Marketing by
The Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods in Marketing offers both basic and advanced treatments intended to serve academics, students, and marketing research professionals. The 42 chapters begin with a history of qualitative methods in marketing by Si
ISBN: 9781847204127Publication Date: 2006-12-21
The handbook of strategic public relations and integrated communications by
The most authoritative, comprehensive resource of its kind, The Handbook o f Strategic Public Relations and Integrated Marketing Communications, Second Edition, is a gathering of 70 of the brightest, most influential figures in the field. It includes 27 new chapters as well as 44 new authors addressing the major changes in the field since the last edition
ISBN: 9780071770989Publication Date: 2012
International Handbook of Market Research Techniques by
The International Handbook of Market Research Techniques is a major text for all levels of marketing professionals and market researchers. It presents market research techniques that have been developed and polished for over four decades. The aim of this handbook is to provide you with a shortcut to experience and knowledge on all key techniques by presenting contributions that have been written by the industry's leading market research practitioners.This comprehensive and practical second edition of The International Handbook of Market Research Techniques covers everything needed from market research survey planning and quantitative research over the Internet to geodemographics, analysis, modelling and report writing. The major areas covered include- Preparation- Data collection- Communications, advertising, the media and the internet- Analysis and modelling- Presenting the results- The impact of the internet on research techniquesThis is a key text for research practitioners as well as for students of business, marketing or professional qualifications, which will be referred to again and again by serious market research practitioners.
ISBN: 0749438657Publication Date: 2002-08-27
Marketing Plan Handbook by
This practical, hands-on supplement enables readers to develop a realistic, customized marketing plan. The Marketing Plan Pro software packaged with the book is a powerful tool that offers readers the opportunity to create and critique marketing plans for all kinds of organizations.
ISBN: 0131485253Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Routledge Companion to Contemporary Brand Management by
The amount and range of brand related literature published in the last fifty years can be overwhelming for brand scholars. This Companion provides a uniquely comprehensive overview of contemporary issues in brand management research, and the challenges faced by brands and their managers. Original contributions from an international range of established and emerging scholars from Europe, US, Asia and Africa, provide a diverse range of insights on different areas of branding, reflecting the state of the art and insights into future challenges.　 Designed to provide not only a comprehensive overview, but also to stimulate new insights, this will be an essential resource for researchers, educators and advanced students in branding and brand management, consumer behaviour, marketing and advertising.
ISBN: 9781315796789Publication Date: 2016-07-15
The Routledge Companion to Marketing Research by
This single-volume reference provides an alternative to traditional marketing research methods handbooks, focusing entirely on the new and innovative methods and technologies that are transforming marketing research and practice. Including original contributions and case studies from leading global specialists, this handbook covers many pioneering methods, such as: Methods for the analysis of user- and customer-generated data, including opinion mining and sentiment analysis Big data Neuroscientific techniques and physiological measures Voice prints Human-computer interaction Emerging approaches such as shadowing, netnographies and ethnographies Transcending the old divisions between qualitative and quantitative research methods, this book is an essential tool for market researchers in academia and practice.
ISBN: 9781315544892Publication Date: 2021-06-27
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
Handbook of Research on Consumerism in Business and Marketing by
The modern era of business has prompted an increased focus on the consumer and the responsibility of corporations to consider their ethical and social obligations to their customers. The rise of the consumerist movement has encouraged further research and development on the topic of consumerism, enabling business to succeed in a consumer-driven market. Handbook of Research on Consumerism in Business and Marketing: Concepts and Practices features research on diverse topics on consumerism in the global marketplace, focusing on the ways in which businesses can improve their relationships with customers as well as analyze and influence purchasing behavior. As a comprehensive reference source on topics pertaining to consumer management, identity, and behavior, this publication is intended for use by marketing professionals, business managers, students, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781466658813Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Handbook of Research on Digital Marketing Innovations in Social Entrepreneurship and Solidarity Economics by
Technological advances in the realm of business have attributed to the global interest of using digital innovations to increase consumer traffic. Utilizing these new techniques can increase the profitability of business industries and consumer analytic information for future reference. The Handbook of Research on Digital Marketing Innovations in Social Entrepreneurship and Solidarity Economics is a collection of research on social entrepreneurship as a critical element of economic growth with a look at the evolutionary aspects of digital technologies on the industry. While highlighting topics including social media, microfinance, and consumer behavior, this book is ideally designed for marketers, managers, professionals, academics, and graduate-level students concerned about the fields of economics, sociology, education, politics, and digital technology innovation.
ISBN: 9781522589402Publication Date: 2019-04-26
Handbook of Research on Effective Advertising Strategies in the Social Media Age by
Social media pervades people's awareness and everyday lives while also influencing societal and cultural patterns. In response to the social media age, advertising agents are creating new strategies that best suit changing consumer relationships. The Handbook of Research on Effective Advertising Strategies in the Social Media Age focuses on the radically evolving field of advertising within the new media environment. Covering new strategies, structural transformation of media, and changing advertising ethics, this book is a timely publication for policymakers, government officials, academicians, researchers, and school practitioners interested in furthering their research exposure and analyzing the rapidly evolving advertising sector and its reflection on social media.
ISBN: 9781466681262Publication Date: 2015-02-28
Handbook of Research on Integrating Social Media into Strategic Marketing by
To survive in today's competitive business environment, marketing professionals must look to develop innovative methods of reaching their customers and stakeholders. Web 2.0 provides a useful tool in developing the relationships between business and consumer. The Handbook of Research on Integrating Social Media into Strategic Marketing explores the use of social networking and other online media in marketing communications, including both best practices and common pitfalls to provide comprehensive coverage of the topic. This book is intended for marketing professionals, business managers, and anyone interested in how social media fits into today's marketing environments.
ISBN: 9781466683549Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Handbook of Research on Intelligent Techniques and Modeling Applications in Marketing Analytics by
The success of any organization is largely dependent on positive feedback and repeat business from patrons. By utilizing acquired marketing data, business professionals can more accurately assess practices, services, and products that their customers find appealing. The Handbook of Research on Intelligent Techniques and Modeling Applications in Marketing Analytics features innovative research and implementation practices of analytics in marketing research. Highlighting various techniques in acquiring and deciphering marketing data, this publication is a pivotal reference for professionals, managers, market researchers, and practitioners interested in the observation and utilization of data on marketing trends to promote positive business practices.
ISBN: 9781522509981Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Handbook of Research on Leveraging Consumer Psychology for Effective Customer Engagement by
Consumer behavior is becoming increasingly complex in the current global market. A broader understanding of the psychologically-driven motivation of consumers and characteristics of the consumer decision-making process is vital for effective customer engagement in the global economy. The Handbook of Research on Leveraging Consumer Psychology for Effective Customer Engagement provides current research on topics relevant to consumer beliefs, feelings, attitudes, and intentions and how best to utilize this research improving consumer appeal and relationships. Emphasizing critical topics in the field of consumer behavior research, this publication is a comprehensive resource for marketing professionals, managers, retailers, advertising executives, scholars, and graduate-level students in marketing, psychology, and MBA programs.
ISBN: 9781522507475Publication Date: 2016-07-22
Handbook of Research on Managing and Influencing Consumer Behavior by
In recent years, all types of businesses have increasingly focused on the importance of the relationship with the customer. Customer knowledge management has become a well-known term used in the business and academic worlds for understanding how to control consumer behavior. The Handbook of Research on Managing and Influencing Consumer Behavior discusses the importance of understanding and implementing customer knowledge management and customer relationship management into everyday business workflows. This comprehensive reference work highlights the changes that the Internet and social media have brought to consumer behavior, and is of great use to marketers, businesses, academics, students, researchers, and professionals.
ISBN: 9781466665484Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Handbook of Research on Narrative Advertising by
Narration can be conceptualized as conveying two or more events (or an event with a situation) that are logically interrelated and take place over time and have a consistent topic. The concept includes every storytelling text. The advertisement is one of the text types that includes a story, and the phenomenon conceptualized as advertising narration has gained new dimensions with the widespread use of digital media. The Handbook of Research on Narrative Advertising is an essential reference source that investigates fundamental marketing concepts and addresses the new dimensions of advertising with the universal use of digital media. Featuring research on topics such as branding, mobile marketing, and consumer engagement, business professionals, copywriters, students, and practitioners will find this text useful in furthering their research exposure to evolutionary techniques in advertising.
ISBN: 9781522597926Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Handbook of Research on Promotional Strategies and Consumer Influence in the Service Sector by
Economic growth is directly impacted by a multitude of different industries; in recent years, the service industry has emerged as a significant contributor to the global economy. As such, the effective management of this sector has become a widely studied topic. The Handbook of Research on Promotional Strategies and Consumer Influence in the Service Sector is an authoritative reference source for the latest research on emerging methods for innovative service design and delivery, examining how growing customer expectations and global competition has influenced this industry. Featuring quality factors, marketing tools, and the effects of consumer behavior, this publication is ideally suited for researchers, professionals, and academicians actively involved in the service industry.
ISBN: 9781522501442Publication Date: 2016-04-11
Handbook of Research on Retailer-Consumer Relationship Development by
Though based on an economic transition, retailer-consumer relationship is also influenced by non-economic factors and is a context of social interaction. With the emergence of modern merchandising techniques and a rise in large retail companies, consumers have become increasingly vigilant of practice within the retail industry. Handbook of Research on Retailer-Consumer Relationship Development offers a complete and updated overview of various perspectives relating to customer relationship management within the retail industry and stimulates the search for greater integration of these views in further research. Offering different angles to analyze the exchange between the retailer and the consumer, this handbook is a valuable tool for professionals and scholars seeking to upgrade their knowledge, as well as for upper-level students.
ISBN: 9781466660755Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
SAGE Brief Guide to Marketing Ethics by
Marketing ethics is the systematic study of how moral standards are applied to marketing decisions, behaviors, and institutions. This guide to marketing ethics provides all the key terms and concepts in a short, easy-to-use format, with each entry written by a scholar from the field of business or marketing ethics. This essential companion can be used in a number of marketing courses and will be a valuable reference for practitioners.
ISBN: 9781412995146Publication Date: 2011-03-14
The SAGE Handbook of Advertising by
′In this era of ′snackable′ content which satisfies only in the moment, it′s great to have a comprehensive Advertising Handbook which one can consult repeatedly. The references are comprehensive and the Handbook opens up many key areas for practitioners′ - Hamish Pringle, Director General, IPA ′Finally, a Handbook of Advertising that brings the field up-to-date. I am impressed with its comprehensive coverage of topics and the distinguished specialists who have shared their key findings with us′ - Philip Kotler, Kellogg School of Management ′When trying to make sense of the mystifying world of advertising, academics and practitioners often seem to inhabit separate universes. Not in this Handbook. For once, the best brains from each side genuinely collude - with constructive results. Wise agencies will read it before their clients do′ - Sir Martin Sorrell, CEO, WPP ′This mighty tome brings together a vast range of views of advertising based on deep experience and scholarship. For practitioners and academics alike, it will be a voyage of discovery and enlightenment′ - Lord (Maurice) Saatchi, Chairman, M&C Saatchi ′This magnificent volume captures all we need to know about how advertising works and its context′ - Baroness (Peta) Buscombe, Director General, Advertising Association, London Advertising is a field that has attracted a great deal of academic attention, but to date there has been no summarising of the state of the art of research. This far reaching and scholarly Handbook is edited by two highly respected and trusted thinkers in the field and includes contributions from leading academics based in both the UK and the USA. Tim Ambler and Gerald J Tellis archive their aim of setting advertising and the theory that underpins it in its historical and societal context, show-casing the most significant advertising research questions of our time and pointing readers in the direction of future avenues for fruitful investigation. The SAGE Handbook of Advertising would be a welcome addition to any marketing academics bookshelf.
ISBN: 9781412918862Publication Date: 2007-11-08- The SAGE handbook of international marketing by
In an internationally minded and detailed analysis, the contributors seek to examine the state of the art in research in international marketing, with particular emphasis on the conceptual framework and theory development in the field.
ISBN: 9780857021007Publication Date: 2009
- The SAGE handbook of marketing ethics by
PART 1: Foundations of Marketing Ethics
PART 2: Theoretical and Research Approaches to Marketing Ethics
PART 3: Marketing Ethics and Social Issues
PART 4: Issues in Consumer Ethics
PART 5: Ethical Issues in Specific Sectors
PART 6: Ethical Issues in the Marketing Mix
PART 7: Concluding Comments and Reflections
ISBN: 9781529739725Publication Date: 2021
- The SAGE handbook of marketing theory by
This collection gives greater conceptual cohesion to marketing theory by drawing together many disparate perspectives and presenting them in one volume. It covers the historical development of marketing theory, its philosophical underpinnings, major theoretical debates and contemporary issues in marketing theory.
ISBN: 9781446222454Publication Date: 2009
- The SAGE handbook of social media by
This international Handbook addresses the most significant research themes, methodological approaches and debates in the study of social media. It contains substantial chapters written especially for this book by leading scholars from a range of disciplinary perspectives, covering everything from computational social science to sexual self-expression.
ISBN: 9781473984066Publication Date: 2018
- The SAGE handbook of social media research methods by
Step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with 'big and broad data', from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. The handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters.
ISBN: 9781473983847Publication Date: 2016
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Here is a list of books you can use if you need to familiarize yourself with marketing related terms and concepts.
Handbook of Marketing Scales by
The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition, represents a clear and user-friendly collection of multi-item, self-report measures developed and frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. Key FeaturesMore than 150 scales are included in the Handbook. Many scales were originally published in marketing and consumer journals, and including them in one volume helps reduce the time it takes researchers to locate instruments for survey research. More than 70 new scales have been added to the Third Edition. New scales were selected based upon actual usage and citations by researchers in articles where a major objective was scale development.Each scale is prefaced by the same information. Details are provided of construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, sources, references, and other evidence.The book includes a number of measures that have been used in several studies. The volume serves as a guide to the literature and may spur further refinement of existing measures in terms of item reduction, dimensionality, reliability, and validity.This Handbook also aims to help identify areas where measures are needed, thus encouraging further development of valid measures of consumer behavior and marketing constructs.
ISBN: 9781412980180Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Marketing Scales Handbook by
When published, this was the first-of-its-kind handbook that provided detailed descriptions of multi-item rating scales used to measure marketing related constructs. Covering the period from 1980 to 1989, this easy-to-use reference tool details 588 marketing scales used in Consumer Behavior; Advertising; and Organizational, Sales Force, and Miscellaneous fields. With both Volume I and II on their book shelves, contemporary market researchers and academics have easy access to nearly 1000 different measurement scales, including some history of the scales' use in scholarly studies.
ISBN: 9780877572268Publication Date: 1992-07-01
Marketing Scales Handbook by
"The Marketing Scales Handbook series is the longest-running set of books that provide reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This volume picks up where the previous volume ended and has reviews of 433 scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published in 2014 and 2015. These scales are new to the series and were not in any of the previous volumes. Each review provides the scale items (questions, statements, or semantic differentials) as well as information about the scale's origin, previous users, and measurement quality. The bulk of the scales in this book involve topics typical to the series such as brands, advertising, stores, purchasing, and pricing. Measures of other topics in this volume have to do with newer topics including environmentalism, service dominant orientations, symbolic embeddedness, word-of-mouth activity, switching costs, product installations, place attachment, interactions with employees, and sports. As with the rest of the series, this book is a unique and valuable resource for researchers in a variety of fields who want tested and reliable measures of attitudes, emotions, or traits for their studies of consumers or similar types of respondents such as viewers, patients, patrons, or citizens. Many of the measures could also be used in business settings when studying employees, members, or administrators. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build and refine sophisticated measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to learn from the experts who have already crafted quality scales and had their measures vetted by other experts. By using these precision metrics, the expectation is that accuracy is increased as will the quality of the decisions based upon them."
ISBN: 9780692845936Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Marketing Scales Handbook by
The Marketing Scales Handbook series is the longest-running set of books that provides reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This volume begins where Volume 9 ended and has new reviews of 402 scales that were reported in top marketing journals. These scales are new to the series and were not in any of the previous volumes. Each review provides the scale items (questions, statements, or semantic differentials) as well as information about the measure's origin, previous users, and measurement quality. The bulk of the scales in this book focus on topics well known in the fields of marketing and consumer science such as products, branding, advertising, retailing, and purchasing. Measures of many other topics are covered as well, including benevolence, co-production, corporate social responsibility, food, emotions, engagement, environmentalism, games, health, personality traits, satisfaction, social media, websites, and word-of-mouth.The book, along with the rest of the series, is a valuable resource to researchers in a variety of fields who want statistically reliable measures for use in their studies of consumers or similar groups such as viewers, clients, patients, or citizens. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build, test, and refine measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to borrow from the experts who have already crafted quality metrics. By using better measures, the precision of analyses is increased and should improve the decisions based upon the results.
ISBN: 9780578470023Publication Date: 2019-03-08- Handbook of Marketing Scales by
The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition, represents a clear and user-friendly collection of multi-item, self-report measures developed and frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. Key FeaturesMore than 150 scales are included in the Handbook. Many scales were originally published in marketing and consumer journals, and including them in one volume helps reduce the time it takes researchers to locate instruments for survey research. More than 70 new scales have been added to the Third Edition. New scales were selected based upon actual usage and citations by researchers in articles where a major objective was scale development.Each scale is prefaced by the same information. Details are provided of construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, sources, references, and other evidence.The book includes a number of measures that have been used in several studies. The volume serves as a guide to the literature and may spur further refinement of existing measures in terms of item reduction, dimensionality, reliability, and validity.This Handbook also aims to help identify areas where measures are needed, thus encouraging further development of valid measures of consumer behavior and marketing constructs.
ISBN: 9781412980180Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Please note some of these books might be reference books; reference books are only available for use in the library. You can identify those by looking at the Copies tab in the record of each book – the Location section should say Sherman Library Reference and the Status section should say LIB USE ONLY.
Required/recommended materials for selected marketing courses
| MKT 5125 | Marshall, David. Marketing Management. |
| MKT 5200 | Xanedu. Case Studies |
| MKT 5200 | Weinstein, Art. Superior Customer Value. (2019) |
| MKT 5235 | Keegan, Warren J.; Green, Mark C. Global Marketing. |
| MKT 5255 | Venkatesan. Marketing Analytics. |
| MKT 5256 | Hanlon, Annmarie. Digital Marketing. |
| MKT 5270 | Belch, George E.; Belch, Michael A. Advertising and Promotion: An Integrated Marketing Communications Perspective. |
| MKT 3050 | Armstrong, Gary; Kotler, Philip. Marketing. (2013) |
| MKT 3060 |
Solomon. Consumer Behavior-mylab Marketing. |
| MKT 3210 | Manning, Gerald. Selling Today - 2019 MyLab Marketing with eText |
| MKT 3320 | Cateora, Philip R. International Marketing. (2009) |
| MKT 3600 | Visser. Digital Marketing Fundamentals. |
| MKT 3620 |
Barry, James M. Social Content Marketing for Entrepreneurs. (2015) |
| MKT 4100 | Revel For Integrated Advertising, Promotion and Marketing Communications. |
