Skip to Main Content

Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI)

NSU's Artificial Intelligence Policy for Students

     The academic standards section of the NSU Student Handbook (p. 13) states:          

Students’ use of generative artificial intelligence (e.g., ChatGPT, Google Bard, DALL-E, Midjourney, etc.) or similar resources on any coursework or academic assessments without the prior permission of their faculty member, or the use of these resources in any way that violates the academic standards of NSU and/or a student’s academic program, is expressly prohibited.

AI in Library Databases

Click on each database to learn about its AI tools:


Web of Science Research Assistant

The research assistant is a generative AI-powered tool that offers natural language, multilingual search capabilities, concise overviews of results, task-based guided walkthroughs, and visualizations to enhance your research.

It supports a wide variety of research needs, including but not limited to:

  • Exploring a topic
  • Starting a literature review
  • Finding a journal to publish in
  • Identifying experts in a field

It includes various visualizations:

  • Citation Network Visuals - Given a specific paper, Research Assistant will display a visual graph of connections to other papers by citation to identify clusters of closely or co-citing papers or distantly related papers. 
  • Topic maps - map showing relationships between that topic and sub-topics or related topics
  • Publication Over Time Graph
  • Enriched Cited References - Research Assistant will return 8 relevant references. Given a document or documents in a response from WoS RA that have enriched cited references, users can view papers which support, differ, discuss, or include these papers in their background.
  • Top Researchers/Researcher Profile Tiles for Top 5 Researchers 

Learn more   |     Access the Database


ProQuest Research Assistant

Proquest One Academic is currently running on GPT-40 mini but the specific version will change as new models become available.

AI generated insights are only visible at the article level and only for those articles that are available in full text.

Key features:

  • It provides a summary of the full text article
  • Suggested sources (now presented as AI feature, this is a former feature kept in the new interface)
  • Indexing terms (now presented as AI feature, this is a former feature kept in the new interface)
  • Brainstorm related research topic - Research topics are extracted exclusively from the text of the document. They’re made up of 2 components: a main topic and a more defined sub-topic. Next to each research topic you will find a magnifying glass icon that will allow you to run a search to retrieve further documents related to that specific research topic.
  • Describe important concepts - Concepts are not just definitions of the terms, they include an explanation of why the term is relevant to the document. The definition of the terms is not derived from external sources but is generated using the text of the document with the goal of explaining the concept but always in the context of the document text itself.

Availability:

ProQuest Research Assistant is now available in beta in all ProQuest One and ProQuest Subject products. The NSU library subscribes to ProQuest One Academic. The assistant can help users craft better, more targeted searches. On the results page, it will suggest additional related terms that you can add to your initial query in order to reduce the number of results and get only to the most relevant ones.

Learn more  |     Access the Database


Wolters Kluwer

CCH AnswerConnect now leverages generative AI to help you find the answers you need faster. Simply enter a query into the new search bar, and the search assistant produces a concise response from Wolters Kluwer’s verified content library, along with links to more in-depth analysis and the Internal Revenue Code.

Learn More |   Access the Database


JSTOR Interactive Research Tool

JSTOR now includes this tool which is currently being tested in beta. The company is inviting users to explore an interactive research tool and a sign up button is currently available on their website.

The tool appears on the content page for journal articles, book chapters, and research reports, and as an addition to JSTOR’s standard keyword search.

Features:

  • Assess content relevance - The tool supports your ability to skim text by highlighting key points and arguments so you can assess its relevance. It also highlights why the text is related to your search terms.
  • Deepen your research - Discover related topics, enrich your reading with similar content from the JSTOR corpus, and try new ways of searching.
  • Be conversational - Use natural, conversational language to ask questions and get quick answers about what you’re reading or researching.

Learn more |  Access the Database


Statista

Statista Research AI - Through efficiency, quality and ease of use, Research AI enables you to think in a data-driven, fact-based and unbiased way. This tool is a unique combination of human-curated, rich data, perfectly intuitive operation, speed, and an almost infinite variety of languages. Research AI is designed to give you exactly the valuable insights you’re looking for, regardless of your experience with AI or Statista, what language you speak, or how specific your search is.

With Research AI, artificial and human intelligence work hand in hand to create unique synergies: the AI presents you with data that has been curated and carefully checked by Statista experts.

Learn more |  Access the Database


IBISWorld

Paragraph analysis – this is a feature that allows users to switch between the traditional list style format to a paragraph analysis format (narrative form). IBISWorld uses Generative AI to adapt their human-generated list-style analysis into paragraph form.

One needs to open a report to be able to activate the feature.

Learn More  |  Access the Database


Lexis Nexis

Lexis+ AI is a comprehensive legal research, drafting, and insights tool—with the added power of a generative AI assistant—that helps legal professionals accelerate their work with precision and accuracy.

Simplify time-consuming legal research, drafting, and document analysis with generative AI assistance that extracts, summarizes, and produces reliable insights in moments.

Support your positions and recommendations with grounded, current legal information—continuously tested by human subject matter experts.

Collaborate with your AI assistant in conversation to refine answers, adjust drafts, and extract insights.

Streamline new tasks, tackle complex analyses, and continue to fuel your exceptional work with Protégé, the next generation of the Lexis+ AI assistant.

Learn More |  Access the Database


Thompson Reuters

Westlaw Precision with CoCounsel - Get relevant answers to your legal research questions with AI-Assisted Research. Verify the results using links to trusted Westlaw authority so you can make better-informed decisions and complete the remainder of your research more efficiently.

  • Claims Explorer - Use generative AI to simplify your claims research whether you are identifying claims, counterclaims, or risks to a client.
  • Quick Check - Rely on this intelligent document analysis tool enhanced with GenAI to help detect mischaracterizations and omissions with case quotations.
  • AI Jurisdictional Surveys - Start with a search query and, in minutes, have a solid starting point in every jurisdiction you need to research.
  • Precision Research - Run a search that gathers all the potentially relevant cases, then filter your results by legal issue, fact pattern, motion type, outcome, and more.
  • KeyCite Cited With - Find connections between cases that would traditionally be difficult to uncover.
  • Outline Builder - Open Outline Builder side by side with a document while researching, then drag and drop important text or citations directly into your outline.
  • KeyCite Overruled in Part - Identify the specific point of law in a case that has been invalidated so that other valid points of law aren’t missed.
  • Keep List/Hide Details - Save potentially useful cases and hide cases you don’t want to inadvertently re-review.
  • Litigation Analytics - View relevant data-driven insights on judges, courts, attorneys, law firms, damages, and case types.
  • KeyCite Overruling Risk - Quickly determine when a point of law has been implicitly undermined based on its reliance on an overruled or otherwise invalid prior decision.
  • WestSearch Plus - WestSearch Plus uses advanced AI to surface the information you need right to the top of your results.
  • Statutes Compare  & Regulations Compare - instantly see the most recent changes to a statute or regulation and compare any two versions.

Learn More |  Access the Database (available to NSU Law students & faculty)

Oxford Academic Research Assistant

The conversational AI Research Assistant will rapidly navigate books and articles, pulling out the most relevant information related to your prompt and delivering generated responses.

Each generated response is linked to the source material with an indicator for relevance, so you can quickly see which links to follow to find out more.

Everything entered into the tool is secure, and because only trusted sources are included, you can be confident the information you’re getting.

Access the database

LinkedIn Learning AI Coaching

LinkedIn Learning’s chatbot can answer learner’s questions in real-time, referencing the entire LinkedIn Learning library of resources to provide expert-informed answers and links to relevant courses and additional information.

The feature can be accessed from the menu on the left – click AI Coaching to launch the bot. The chatbot gives different answers to different learners that might ask the same starting question - it would look at their job titles to determine what level of advice they may be looking for. Based on how each learner answers follow-up questions, the chatbot quickly provides highly personalized insights and course recommendations.

LinkedIn will store each learner’s conversations with the chatbot for one year and apply the same security controls to this information as it does with all other learner data.

Learn more  |  Access the database

Learn AI with NSU Libraries

You can always ask your librarians about AI and we will be happy to share what we know. 

  • Workshops

Advance your research skills with AI - This webinar offers an overview of the various ways these new tools can be used to improve or speed up your research, with a focus on the discovery stage of the process. Several tools are featured in a live demo and no prior knowledge is required.

  • Guides

ChatGPT - This LibGuide is designed to answer some basic questions about ChatGPT and artificial intelligence and provide educators and students with an understanding of how this new technology will impact education going forward.

Artificial Intelligence (A.I.) - The resources included in this reference guide focus on explaining what A.I. is, how it being used in law, how it can be used by educators, and what are the risks inherent in its usage.

Learn AI at NSU

College of Computing and Engineering, NSU Florida

College of Computing and Engineering, NSU Florida

Faculty Resources for Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Learning and Educational Center’s Faculty Resources for Artificial Intelligence (AI) webpage serves to familiarize, support, and guide faculty in AI matters that affect both their practice and the student experience.  It includes resources that provide comprehensive insights into the principles of generative AI, its applications, and ethical considerations.

AI Webinars

Check out the first video in Shark Media's Generative AI Playlist, which features trainings on AI presented by NSU faculty. 

You can see the entire Generative AI playlist here.