Library Guides: Industry Research: Associations

Key resources for associations

Associations can be found in the following databases in our library collection

= Users listed next to this icon have access on campus. (This will often say ALL indicating all users have access on campus. There are a few exceptions.)
= Users listed next to this icon have access off campus.

First Research
more...less...
First Research provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 600 industry segments. This powerful research tool features in-depth, up-to-date information and gives you the insight you need to provide greater value to students, professors, small business owners and job seekers. Profiles are comprehensive and include the following: industry overviews; the competitive landscape; products, operations and technology; finance and regulation; regional and international issues; human resources; and labor statistics. First Research profiles are prepared by analysts that hold advanced degrees in business and on average have more than 20 years of practical business experience. This translates to a clear and direct writing style that makes information easy to understand, remember and utilize.

Search tips:

Gale: Business Insights
more...less...
Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale: Business Insights features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.

Search tips:

Use Advances search. Type in the keyword(s) representative of your industry, then in the Keywords field to the right scroll down to Associations – description.
If you are looking for associations within a particular NAICS code, type the code in the keyword field and scroll down to NAICS under Associations in the menu.

Gale Directory Library
more...less...
Contains Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies, 46th and on Editions (2003-present); Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; Business Rankings Annual; and Market Share Reporter

Search tips:

Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations - associations and societies that are organized and function at the regional (both interstate and intrastate), state, county, city, neighborhood, and local levels.
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. - American membership organizations of national scope. Covers more than 23,000 organizations.
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations - includes U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership.

IBISWorld
more...less...
Whether your company requires a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts; whether you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or whether you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s comprehensive reports will keep you informed. IBISWorld’s industry research reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. IBISWorld’s industry risk rating determines how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.

Search tips:

See About section - names of associations, among other types of organizations can be found under Additional Resources.