For students
The Case Center lists student case competitions
John Molson MBA International Case Competition
Cengage Learning
Copenhagen Business School Case Club
The following NSU Alvin Sherman Library guides list valuable resources available to our students as well as instructions on how to use them.
For faculty
Books
The Art and Craft of Case Writing by
Anyone conducting case research in business or the social sciences - whether experienced or novice - should get the new edition of The Art and Craft of Case Writing. It is a practical, comprehensive, and multidisciplinary guide that blends an informal, workshop style with solid theory and practice. The authors are veteran case writers, and have conducted numerous case-writing workshops with leading organizations. They take readers through the entire case-writing process, including the development of objectives, data collection, drafting the case, testing and revising, and the development of polished teaching notes. Skills for writing both teaching cases and research cases are included, and the book also features many helpful checklists, charts, and suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 0765616815Publication Date: 2006-07-15
The Case Writing Workbook by
Readable and practical, this workbook provides technical assistance and concrete advice for researching, writing, and teaching with cases. The exercises and worksheets encourage practicing skills and serve as a handy and affordable workshop alternative for both novice and experienced case writers. Nine stand-alone modules and 79 exercise worksheets guide case authors through the entire case writing process from research through publication. Special topics such as teaching students to write cases, learning how to review for others, and collaborative writing techniques are explained and will grab the readers attention. The book is written in a to-the-point, engaging manner and avoids academic jargon, acronyms, and inside terminology. It can be used as a stand-alone volume, or in concert with any other case writing manual.
ISBN: 9781315700182Publication Date: 2014-12-18
How to Write Great Business Cases by
Offering a step-by-step guide on how to write an impactful decision-based teaching case for business education, this book aids in the creation of resources that will be essential for an academic curriculum. It demonstrates how the case and teaching note can be prepared and presented for a successful submission to publishers. How to Write Great Business Cases provides concise case writing guidance applicable to case writers from any business discipline. It covers the core elements of writing a decision-based case such as interviews and case testing. Ultimately, readers of this essential book will be taught how to write an engaging business case that will pique students' interests. This accessible book will be perfect for novice case writers endeavouring to succeed in the case writing process, with particular focus applied to North American case writing opportunities. It will additionally be beneficial for experienced case researchers as well as academics of business and management wishing to enrich their practice and author further publications. How to Write Great Business Cases delivers just what its title promises--a practical guide to crafting cases that engage students and instructors' manuals that show how to meet learning objectives in the classroom. Useful for both new and experienced writers, this book covers it all, from selecting a topic to getting your case published."-Anne T. Lawrence, PhD Chair, Case Research Foundation, US'How to Write Great Business Cases is a comprehensive, yet easy to read guide that can be used as a quick reference, as well as an introduction to case writing. It will prove useful to those authors new to the scholarship of business cases, as well as previously published case authors.'- John D. Varlaro, Johnson & Wales University and Past President, the North American Case Research Association (NACRA), US'Teaching cases are a frequently underappreciated, and often misunderstood, genre of academic literature. It is hard for newcomers to apprehend what goes into writing an effective case and Instructor Manual. This book provides a straight-to-the-point practical introduction to case writing that is priceless for new case writers. Well-published case writers will also find this work a useful resource for honing their craft. The authors have distilled decades of case writing learning and wisdom into a book worth owning, that includes a case writing step-by-step process from beginning to end, with many actionable ideas. Easy to read and digest, this book is a must-read for all those interested in a rigorous approach to the case method. It also provides valuable leads and pointers to connect with the buoyant growing global case writing community.'- Maria A. Ballesteros-Sola, California State University Channel Islands, US'How to Write Great Business Cases is a fantastic resource for any case researcher, regardless of experience. This extremely thorough and comprehensive book provides readers everything they need to get their case writing projects off the ground and to improve their existing skills. I am especially impressed with the value provided through practical, usable tips for case writers. High level and big picture is prevalent throughout the book, but it is the details that really set it apart. I have, in the past, considered the idea of writing a book on how to write a case, and now, because this one exists, I don't see the need.'- Eric Dolansky, Editor Case Research Journal, Brock University, Canada'Through accessible writing, illustrative examples, and in-depth research, Schnarr and Woodwark offer case writers of all levels a timely, substantial, and up-to-date guide to making an even greater scholarly and practical impact through business cases. I applaud their work and encourage its widespread usage.'- Michael M. Goldman, University of San Francisco, US
ISBN: 9781803920641Publication Date: 2023-07-21
The Ultimate Guide to Compact Cases by
This ultimate guide focuses on case research, writing, and teaching for a revolutionary new form of teaching case--Compact Cases. Designed to be read in 15 minutes or less, Compact Cases provide a more engaging learning experience for today's students. Compact Cases overcome students' lack of preparation for case discussions by making cases more accessible, readable and engaging. Whether students read a Compact Case before class or in class, better learning outcomes can be achieved by actively engaging students in case analysis and discussion. Annotated cases, examples from published cases, helpful checklists, roadmaps, and writing prompts are provided to assist others in mastering the writing of short teaching cases and the accompanying teaching notes. Readers will learn to identify suitable case topics, develop effective learning objectives, use appropriate research methodologies, write lively and short prose, create more engaging exhibits, and prepare value-added teaching notes. Teaching strategies for effectively using Compact Cases online, in person, or blended teaching modes are provided. Strategies for publishing cases are provided to help case writers successfully share their work with others. Novice and experienced case writers will find tips, ideas, and strategies to improve student learning by using and writing Compact Cases.
ISBN: 9781803828497Publication Date: 2022-09-01
- North American Case Research Association (NACRA) 2024 Annual ConferenceA workshop for less-developed cases will be hosted on October 17. The workshop is appropriate for newer case authors wishing to learn how to develop effective teaching cases and instructor’s manuals, as well as experienced authors looking for advice on a new case approach.
Guides
Penn State
The Case Centre
John Lawrence, University of Idaho, Kay Guess, Samford University, Rebecca Morris, Westfield State University
Case writing competitions
- Outstanding Case Writer competition You must be a business or management teacher to enter this competition. Cases can be written by a team of two or more authors. Students and research assistants can be part of your writing team, but a faculty member must lead the team*. Deadline for submission is 3 October 2024
- Outstanding Case Teacher competition Deadline - 1 November 2024
Journal
North American Case Research Association - Case Research Journal - The CRJ is the leading academic journal for cases in business and related disciplines in North America. The Case Research Journal publishes outstanding field-research-based, decision focused teaching cases drawn from research in real organizations, dealing with issues in all administration-related disciplines. Occasionally, the Journal publishes papers concerning case research, case writing or case teaching. Keep an eye on their calls for cases.
Please see the Books section of this guide.
Case Study Methodology in Higher Education by
In higher education, case studies can be utilized to have students put themselves into problems faced by a protagonist and, by doing so, address academic or career-related issues. Working through these issues provides students with an opportunity to gain applied perspective and experiences. Professors in higher education who choose this method of teaching require navigational tools to ensure that students achieve stated learning objectives. Case Study Methodology in Higher Education is an essential research publication that focuses on the history and theories relating to case study methodology including techniques for writing case studies and utilizing them in university settings to prepare students for real-life career-related scenarios. This publication features a wide range of topics such as educational leadership, case writing, and teacher education. It is essential for educators, career professionals, higher education faculty, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781522594314Publication Date: 2019-06-28
Guides
The Case Centre
Harvard Business Publishing
Case Center
Case writing scholarships - ten Case Writing Scholarships are offered each year to both individuals and teams. You can apply if you are an unpublished case writer and a faculty member or PhD student with teaching responsibilities. Scholarship teams will share the financial award and send one member of their team on the free case writing workshop.