Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: PreMD Prep Immunology and Microbiology

Laboratory guides

Teaching slides (PPT), old exams, and other links

Mini Course You Tube

Teaching Resources

Includes immunological short talks using a smartboard

From the Howard Hughes Medical Institute demonstrates how an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA) is carried out.

From the Federation of American Scientists is a 3-D game in which the player must navigate a nanobot through blood vessels and connective tissue in an attempt to save an ailing patient

an innovative educational game for college students that brings immunology to life. Designed to augment an educator’s existing curriculum, ImmuneQuest allows students to build and control a virtual immune system to defend their human host from increasingly cunning microbes. ($)

This course explores the molecules of life, starting with building blocks and culminating in complex metabolism and associated diseases (Free Registration Required to View)

Buying guide and data information. Chemical compound search results include molecular formula, weight, CAS number, boiling & melting point, structure, prices, MSDS, etc

Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as nylon and polyester; aluminum, cobalt, and other metals and alloys; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials

Molecules on this entertaining, award-winning site are contributed by scientists worldwide. Includes explanations of each molecule, some history, uses, and sometimes references

Part of the National Institute of Standards and Technology's portal, Chem WebBook offers data on organic and inorganic compounds and reactions: thermochemical, IR, mass, UV, visible, electronic, physical constants. Search by name, formula, CAS registry, molecular weight

A comprehensive searchable database of enzymes, BRENDA is maintained by the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne. Scientists collect and evaluate enzyme functional data from primary sources. Links to literature citations, images, and other databases

Free chemical database searches 26 million+ structures, by registry numbers and other identifiers, elements, text sources, properties, and a structure-drawing program. Award-winning site from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Portal for PubChem, Structure Search, Protein, PubMed, and numerous other databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

A worldwide repository on the 3D structures of large biological molecules (proteins, nucleic acids, etc.). Searchable for sequence, structure, and function from sets derived from X-ray crystallography, NMR, electron microscopy, and more

The Saccharomyces Genome Database (SGD) provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms

This EPA database provides risk information on ~1,500 chemicals used in consumer and industrial applications. Search by chemical name or CAS number. Check the User's Guide for more options

Material Safety Data Sheets: :Cornell University's vetted links to safety information plus useful guidelines.

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes ChemIDplus: search by name or registry number for information on structure, properties, and toxicity.

The Approved Lists of Bacterial Names was published in the International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology

The Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases supports a comprehensive set of resources for researchers. Their purpose is to facilitate the preclinical and clinical research needed to translate the ideas generated through basic research into safe and effective drugs, vaccines, and diagnostics to control and prevent infectious diseases.

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM), originally the Society of American Bacteriologists, is a professional organization for scientists who study viruses, bacteria, fungi, algae, and protozoa as well as other aspects of microbiology.

The Guidebook contains current protocols for analytical tests required by FSIS regulatory activities on meat, poultry and egg products

Provides access to the following Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: Chemical Abstracts (1907-present), Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations. Users must create a personal account to use this database. Click here to register.

CHEMnetBASE is a collection of online reference books containing extensive information on chemical substances. It includes the classic Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and a number of other collections of chemical substance information including ones on Organic Compounds, Marine Natural Products, Drugs, Polymers, Natural Products, and others. Information included are names, chemical diagrams, molecular formula, and a wide range of chemical properties.
Limited to two simultaneous users. If you are unable to access, please try again later

Picmonics uses pictures with a series of mnemonic devices to help students learn. It covers pre-health subjects, as well as, fundamental science courses like anatomy and physiology, biochemistry, microbiology, and straight-up medical courses like pharmacology, pathology, and epidemiology. There are also books available for purchase, include ones to help students prepare for the USMLE ($)