Emergency Medicine: Secrets
Emergency Medicine Secrets, 5 th Edition, by Drs. Vincent J. Markovchick, Peter T. Pons, and Katherine M. Bakes, gives you the emergency medicine answers you need for successful emergency medicine care. Featuring new chapters and revised content to bring you completely up to date, this dependable review and reference retains its engaging question-and-answer format.
Get the most return for your study time with the proven Secrets(R) format - concise, easy to read, and highly effective.
Skim the "Top 100 Secrets" and "Key Points" boxes for a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice.
Enjoy faster, easier review and master the top issues in emergency medicine with mnemonics, lists, quick-reference tables, and an informal tone that sets this review book apart from the rest.
Carry it with you in your lab coat pocket for quick reference or review anytime, anywhere.
Understand the latest concepts in emergency medicine with all-new chapters such as Evidence-based Rational Use of Diagnostic Imaging, Common Drugs of Abuse, and One Pill Can Kill, plus extensive updates on Asthma - COPD and Pneumonia - Esophagus and Stomach Disorders - Soft-Tissue Infections - Evaluation of Fever in Children Younger than Three - Seizures in Infancy and Childhood - Acute Respiratory Disorders in Children - Evaluation of Child Abuse - Procedural Sedation and Analgesia of the Pediatric Patient - Bites and Stings - Sexual Assault - Third Trimester Complications and Delivery - Abdominal Trauma - Burns - Domestic Violence - EMTALA, JC, and HIPAA - and Medical Oversight and Disaster Management
Stay current with thorough updates to both text and references in all chapters, and related websites added to the bibliography.
Case Files: Emergency Medicine
The closest a student can get to the wards without seeing patients
4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW
"I think any student doing a rotation in emergency medicine would benefit from these case scenarios. It provides a practical approach to a disease while highlighting the points that are often tested on USMLE."--"Doody's Review Service"
Designed to teach through clinical cases, this text offers 60 of the most common clinical problems in emergency medicine along with case discussion questions, clinical pearls, key terms and concepts, and USMLE-style questions and answers to reinforce learning. This is an excellent study guide for the emergency medicine shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2
Case Files: Critical Care
Case Files: Critical Care provides 42 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in critical care. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize.
Learn from 42 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions
Master key concepts with clinical pearls
Practice with review review questions to reinforce learning
Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving and to patient care
Perfect for residents, medical students, PAs, and NPs working in the ICU
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Secrets
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Prehospital Emergency Medicine Care Secrets is an all-new addition to this popular series, offering practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This new resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics including disaster and multiple casualty incidents, psychiatric emergencies, and prehospital skills and procedures for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on public health and EMS, infectious disease emergencies/sepsis, telemedicine and emerging telecommunications, transport of the highly infectious patient, mass casualty evacuation and patient movement, biological and chemical terrorism, community disaster preparedness, and airway management, oxygenation, and ventilation. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Tintinalli's emergency medicine a comprehensive study guide
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates.
Highlights of the Ninth Edition:
Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information
Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information
Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions
World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children
Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies
Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies
Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders
Updated information on procedural sedation
Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients
Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies
Pediatric emergency medicine secrets
Now in a smaller, more portable format, the 2nd edition of this best-selling pocket reference offers concise, yet complete clinical guidance on pediatric emergency care in the highly practical question-and-answer format of The Secrets Series(R). Each chapter covers an important topic by asking key questions and providing helpful answers. This second edition again features six sections: the first addresses life threatening conditions and immediate stabilization of children, followed by a section on common chief complaints that are often managed in the Emergency Department. Subsequent sections focus on important medical emergencies, surgical emergencies, major and minor trauma and environmental emergencies.
Covers important areas including cardiac arrest, respiratory failure, neurosurgery emergencies, ophthalmology emergencies, burns/smoke inhalation, toxicology, neck and spine injuries, and much more.
Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and tips from the authors. Includes a chapter containing the "Top 100 Secrets" in pediatric emergency medicine, enabling you to quickly review essential material.
Includes new chapters on Technology Assisted Child in the Emergency Department (ED), Sports Related Injuries, Emergency Medical Services for Children, and Patient Safety in the ED. Offers a new two-color page layout and "Key Points" boxes to enhance your reference power.
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets
Urgent Care Secrets, a new volume in this bestselling series, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective.
Provides an evidence-based approach to medical and traumatic complaints presenting to urgent care centers, focusing on presenting signs and symptoms, differential diagnosis, office management, and when to refer for higher level of care.
Covers the full range of essential topics for understanding today's practice of urgent care - essential information for physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants.
Clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams expedite reference and review.
Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams.
Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime.
Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Secrets
You'll find all of the features you rely on the Secrets for--such as a question-and-answer format · bulleted lists · mnemonics · "Key Points" boxes · and tips from the authors.
Equips you with the evidence-based guidance you need to provide optima care for the critically ill.
Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors.
Features a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful web sites to enhance your reference power.
Presents a chapter containing "Top Secrets", providing you with an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment
Provides coverage of the principles of gas and fluid flow · pulmonary mechanics · and electronic circuitry.
Discusses protocols and guidelines.
Offers effective solutions to patients' medical and ethical problems from a wide range of specialists such as pulmonologists · surgeons · anesthesiologists · psychiatrists · pharmacists · and infectious disease experts.
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice
For nearly 40 years, Rosen's Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains your #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice. Offers the most immediately clinically relevant content of any emergency medicine resource, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations and workflows with clear indications and preferred actions. Contains eight entirely new chapters covering coronaviruses/COVID-19, the morbidly obese patient, human trafficking, sexual minority (LGBTQ) patients, social determinants of health, community violence, and humanitarian aid in war and crisis. Features over 1,700 figures, including more than 350 new anatomy drawings, graphs and charts, algorithms, and photos. Includes new information across the spectrum of emergency care, such as adult and pediatric airway management, shock, pandemic disease, emergency toxicology, sepsis syndrome, resuscitation, medical emergencies of pregnancy, the immunocompromised patient, child abuse, pediatric sedation, pediatric trauma, and more. Features revised and refined chapter templates that enhance navigation, making it easy to find key information quickly. Provides access to more than 1,200 questions and answers online to aid in exam preparation, as well as two dozen new video clips showing how to best perform critical emergency procedures in real time. Reviewed and verified cover-to-cover by a team of expert clinical pharmacists to ensure accuracy and completeness of all drug information and treatment recommendations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Please note the following important change for printed copies of Rosen's Emergency Medicine, 10e. On page 1029, in table 74.3, the dosage for Rivaroxaban should be 15mg by mouth. You may contact Elsevier Customer Service to request a sticker (Part no. 9996133834) to make the correction in your printed copy. Corrections have been made to the eBook versions of this title.
Family Medicine
The closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it "PreTest Family Medicine" is the best question-and-answer review for family medicine questions on the USMLE Step 2 and shelf exams. You will find 500 board-format questions, complete with explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been student-tested and reviewed to ensure they truly reflect the exam experience. This high-yield resource is written by an Assistant Professor of Family Medicine who has won excellence in teaching awards every year for the past five years and truly targets what you really need to know.
Case Files Family Medicine, Fifth Edition
REAL-LIFE CASES FOR THE FAMILY MEDICINE CLERKSHIP You need exposure to high-yield cases to excel in the family medicine clerkship and on the shelf exam. Case Files#65533; Family Medicine presents 60 real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in family medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions. With this system, you'll learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts. #65533; 60 cases with USMLE-style questions help you master core competencies to excel in the clerkship and ace the shelf exams #65533; Clinical pearls highlight key points #65533; Primer teaches you how to approach clinical problems #65533; Proven learning system maximizes your exam scores
Graber and Wilbur's Family Practice Examination and Board Review, 5e
In addition to its use as a board review book for family medicine, this publication can be employed as a general review for primary care physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners
Textbook of Family Medicine
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review
Nothing prepares you for exam success like Harrison's! VIBRANT FULL-COLOR PRESENTATION INCLUDES COLOR ATLAS -- 500 ALL-NEW QUESTIONS! Now you can add the unmatched authority of Harrison's to your board review or test preparation. Based on the content of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition, this rigorous study aid is essential for Internal Medicine Board certification or recertification/maintenance of certification, or as a refresher for any internal medicine examination. Reflecting the accuracy, currency, and wide scope of Harrison's, this complete review of internal medicine delivers more than 1,000 extremely challenging review questions, many of which utilize realistic patient scenarios, including radiographic and pathologic images. Each question is accompanied by explanations for correct and incorrect answers. These explanations -- which are derived from and cross-referenced to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - are one of the most effective ways to learn and teach internal medicine. They are designed to bolster your understanding of pathophysiology, epidemiology, differential diagnosis, clinical decision making, and therapeutics. The format of the book has also been enhanced, allowing for a more effective use of color images throughout. Readers will appreciate the convenience of having color images next to their citations in the text. A GREAT WAY TO LEARN INTERNAL MEDICINE: * Coverage spans the entire spectrum of internal medicine * Each topic is covered in proportion to its level of importance on the Internal Medicine Examination Blueprint * Approximately 500 NEW, never-before-published Q&As (more than 60% of the questions are NEW!) * Includes full-color atlas * Content follows the organization of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition - making it perfect for side-by-side study * Beautiful full-color presentation
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review
The 11th edition of Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review is fully revised to reflect the latest information necessary to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations. Published in an all-inclusive and easy-to-use volume,the book provides a wide array of concise chapters that review focused subjects within each specialty, followed by a series of questions and answers at the end of each section. With this new formatting, readers can study by fitting review into their busy schedules. This authoritative resource provides a succinct review of allergy, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology and hepatology, general internal medicine, hematology, infectious diseases, nephrology, neurology, oncology, psychiatry, pulmonology, and rheumatology. This book is a necessary resource foranyone studying for board examinations and is an important addition for those looking to include a reference on internal medicine to their medical library.
Case Files Internal Medicine
The authors of this book have constructed a collection of clinical vignettes to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to internal medicine.
Create a free MyAccess profile to sign in and access Comprehensive Review Questions and track your progress through cases
The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine Question and Answer Companion
This question-and-answer companion to The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine, which is based upon the popular review course from Harvard Medical School, is a study guide for the American Board of Internal Medicine certification or maintenance of certification examination, as well as for general practice review by physicians and residents. Editors Ajay K. Singh and Joseph Loscalzo recruited leading authorities from Harvard as well as former chief residents at Brigham and Women's Hospital to contribute to this book. This thorough resource features 500 board review questions and answers on internal medicine specialties including: Infectious Disease, Hematology and Oncology, Rheumatology, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, Endocrinology, Nephrology and Hypertension, Digestive Diseases and Disorders of the Pancreas and Liver, Cardiovascular Disease, Neurology, and General Internal Medicine. As the required content for the American Board of Internal Medicine continues to evolve, studying can prove challenging. The Brigham Intensive Review of Internal Medicine Question and Answer Companion is the ideal study guide for anyone preparing for certification or recertification.
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation Intensive Review of Internal Medicine
Succeed on internal medicine board certification and recertification exams with Cleveland Clinic Intensive Board Review of Internal Medicine, 6e! The new edition contains ancillary and online exclusive content, drawing from the expertise of the distinguished Cleveland Clinic faculty. Taking a more clinical approach than other review texts, this practical resource includes a unique and well-structured set of exercises that offer a challenge at the end of each chapter. · Master essential concepts of the major subspecialty areas in internal medicine with expert information, clinical vignettes, and coverage of crucial clinical points in each chapter. · Streamline your study with the book's emphasis on the facts and scenarios most likely to be encountered in internal medicine boards. · Build your confidence, competence, and test-taking skills through online board exam simulations that integrate relevant clinical cases, pathology, and imaging studies. · Assess your areas of personal strength and fill in any gaps in knowledge with concise, focused guidance from distinguished Cleveland Clinic faculty. · Test your knowledge and skills using the book's more than 700 board-review style questions and answers in print. · Quickly access the facts you need through the book's combination of prose and bulleted lists. · Focus your review time on specific clinical areas using the fully searchable text online, organized by topic and packed with clinical pearls and vignettes.
Endocrine Secrets
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Endocrine Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from prominent endocrinologists - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Keeps you up to date with new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Equips you for effective practice with coverage of the most current developments in obesity management, weight loss drugs, and bariatric surgery; type 2 diabetes mellitus; insulin therapy; thyroid cancer; osteoporosis therapies; and much more. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nephrology Secrets
Nephrology Secrets, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Edgar V. Lerma and Allen R. Nissenson, gives you the nephrology answers you need to succeed on your rotations and boards.. Its unique, highly practical question-and-answer format, list of the "Top 100 Nephrology Secrets," and user-friendly format make it perfect for quick reference.
Get the most return for your study time with the proven Secrets (R) format -- concise, easy to read, and highly effective.
Skim the "Top 100 Secrets" and "Key Points" boxes for a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success on the boards and in practice.
Enjoy faster, easier review and master the top issues in nephrology with mnemonics, lists, quick-reference tables, and an informal tone that sets this review book apart from the rest.
Carry it with you in your lab coat pocket for quick reference or review anytime, anywhere.
Handle each clinical situation with confidence with chapters completely updated to reflect the latest information.
Find the answers you need faster thanks to a new, more streamlined and problem-based organization.
Step-Up to Medicine, 5e by 
Fast Facts for Patient Care
For nearly 25 years, Ferri's concise, pocket-sized resource has served as the go-to reference for practical, clinical information among students, residents, and other medical professionals. Formerly known as Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, this volume continues to provide a fast, effective, and efficient way to identify the important clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic imaging information you need to get through your internal medicine clerkship or residency. "...informative and detailed ...useful for those planning an elective or clinical work in the USA...". Reviewed by: Jacob F de Wolff, on behalf of British Journal of Hospital Medicine Date: October 2014 Benefit from the expert guidance of Dr. Fred Ferri, a leading teacher, clinician, and author. Confidently manage patients with the latest clinical information, drug therapies, and lab tests. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with this updated and streamlined title, which still stays true to the Ferri name. Quickly find important information with content organized into three major sections: Section I, titled "Surviving the Wards," contains information on charting, laboratory evaluation and formulary; Section II provides the differential diagnosis of common signs and symptoms likely to be encountered in the acute care setting; Section III has been completely revised and subdivided into 11 specialty specific diseases and disorders. Carry just the sections you need, add personalized materials, and keep everything together and safe with an improved ring binder and design. Access the full text and procedural videos online at Expert Consult. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued. Registration and use of the web site is subject to the terms of the non-transferable, limited license under which access to the site and its content is granted by Elsevier. Access to the site by individuals is limited to the first retail purchaser and may not be transferred to another party by resale, lending or other means.
Kumar and Clark's Cases in Clinical Medicine
2014 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Medicine category! More than 200 cases
NMS Medicine
NMS Medicine, Seventh Edition is the ideal reference and review text for medical students in the internal medicine clerkship. The book provides medical students with a comprehensive and meticulously organized review of internal medicine and USMLE-style questions and case studies to reinforce key topics and concepts. Features include 500 USMLE-style questions in vignette format for self-study and assessment, a comprehensive exam, and a convenient outline format.
Medical Secrets
Medical Secrets is an easy-to-read, best-selling volume in the Secrets Series(R), perfect for use in clerkships, for board prep, or as a handy clinical reference. Mary P. Harward, MD presents core medical knowledge in the trusted question-and-answer format to help you better meet the challenges you face every day.
Prepare effectively with the proven question-and-answer format of the highly acclaimed Secrets Series(R).
Master all common conditions and their treatments.
Identify key facts and secrets using the "Top 100 Secrets" section.
Review material quickly thanks to bulleted lists, tables, and short answers.
Apply pearls, tips, memory aids, and "secrets" from experts in the field.
Stay current on the latest standards in medical care thanks to extensive updates, including new chapters on Medical Ethics, Vascular Medicine, and Palliative Medicine.
Get the latest key information at a glance with over 30 new tables and several new figures.
Consult the book wherever you go thanks to the portable size that fits in your lab coat pocket.
Find information easily using the two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and a highly detailed index.
Blueprints Neurology
Blueprints Neurology provides students with a complete review of the key topics and concepts—perfect for clerkship rotations and the USMLE. This edition has been completely updated—including new diagnostic and treatment information throughout—while maintaining its succinct, organized, and concise style. 100 board-format questions and answers with complete correct and incorrect answer explanations appear at the end of the book.
High-Yield Neuroanatomy
Now significantly revised based on student feedback, this best-selling text provides a quick, authoritative review of the most important clinical aspects of neuroanatomy. A new, full-color design highlights the essential information you need to know to excel on course exams and the USMLE Step 1. New objectives begin every chapter, contents have been reorganized and streamlined, and all information has been completely updated. A new Gross Structure chapter lays the foundation for understanding the sectional anatomy in the Atlas chapter, and all terminology is now consistent with Terminologia Anatomica. A companion website offers USMLE-style questions for study and review. Features: - A concise, streamlined review perfect for course exams or the USMLE Step 1. - New full-color design and illustrations make the text more visually appealing. - New objectives in every chapter help you focus on key content. - Reorganized contents are integrated and combined to group similar topics in a logical, easy-to-review fashion. - A new Gross Structure chapter lays the foundation for understanding the sectional anatomy in the Atlas chapter. - All terminology is up-to-date to comply with Terminologia Anatomica. - Online access to USMLE-style questions for self-assessment and review.
Neuroanatomy
Neuroanatomy: An Atlas of Structures, Sections, and Systems remains one of the most dynamic forces in medical education, delivering abundantly illustrated and clinically essential content in a rapidly expanding field of practice. Now in its Eighth Edition, this atlas continues to build upon its reputation as a premiere teaching resource, combining the best of both worlds--anatomical and clinical. New features include: even more clinical imaging and relevance, with 15 new CTs/MRIs and 25 new illustrations with nerves highlighted; new features that promote the understanding of neurobiology, including circuit drawings, 2-page spread summarizing hypothalmus, 2-page spread summarizing connections, and summaries added to Anatomical Orientation images; 50 USMLE-style review questions with extensive explanations and bonus Interactive Question Bank online, for a total of 235 Q&As offering self-paced review and exam preparation; 32 stained section photographs in Chapter 6, now printed in their original, accurate color, replacing the previous black and white versions.
Williams Gynecology
The only gynecology resource that combines a full-color text and a procedural atlas--revised and updated Part medical text, part surgical atlas, Williams Gynecology is written by the renowned team of ob-gyn clinicians at Dallas' Parkland Hospital who are responsible for the landmark Williams Obstetrics. The new edition of Williams Gynecology maintains the consistent tone, leading-edge clinical insights, and quality illustrations of the successful first edition, while expanding and refreshing its content to keep pace with the most recent developments in this dynamic field. The many important topics covered in Williams Gynecology are evidence-based, yet the book is specifically designed as a practical quick-reference guide, aided throughout by helpful teaching points. Reflecting the latest clinical perspectives and research, the second edition features outstanding new coverage of minimally invasive procedures, robotics, and gynecologic anatomy. Features Two resources in one--full-color medical text and surgical atlas--conveniently surveys the entire spectrum of gynecologic disease, including general gynecology, reproductive endocrinology and infertility, urogynecology, and gynecologic oncology Atlas of gynecologic surgery contains 450 figures that illustrate operative techniques Unique consistent text design for an efficient approach to diagnosis and treatment Strong procedure orientation covers a vast array of surgical operations, which are illustrated in detail Evidence-based discussion of disease evaluation reinforces and supports the clinical relevance of the book's diagnostic and treatment methods Distinguished authorship from the same Parkland Hospital-based team which edited Williams Obstetrics--the leading reference in obstetrics for more than a century Newly illustrated gynecologic anatomy chapter created with the surgeon in mind to emphasize critical anatomy for successful surgery New coverage of minimally invasive procedures and robotics, the latest procedures in gynecologic oncology, and in-vitro fertilization Numerous illustrations, photographs, tables, and treatment algorithms
Rudolphs Pediatrics Self-Assessment and Board Review
Add the authority of Rudolph's Pediatrics to your Pediatric Board Examination review! Rudolph's Pediatrics Self-Assessment and Board Review is a fast, efficient, and engaging way for you to incorporate the contents of Rudolph's Pediatrics into your board preparation. This powerful study guidedelivers more than 1,500 questions that focus on epidemiology, pathophysiology, presenting symptoms,clinical decision making, therapeutics, and prognosis of different pediatric disorders. Concise answer explanations illustrate key points and include references to pertinent sections in Rudolph's Pediatrics for more in-depth coverage of the topic. You'll find everything you need in one comprehensive review: questions, referenced answers, full-color illustrations, and the expertise of the field's leading text. FEATURES More than 1,500 multiple-choice questions with fully explained answers referenced to Rudolph's Pediatrics, Twenty-Second Edition An emphasis on important clinical issues An organization that simulates Rudolph's Pediatrics to facilitate side-by-side study Numerous full-color images to test your visual diagnostic skills Designed to help you quickly assess your knowledgeand remediate areas of weakness Valuable for certification/recertification or as a clinical refresher
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Fifth Edition
Create a free MyAccess profile to sign in and access Comprehensive Review Questions and track your progress through cases.
Case Files Gynecologic Surgery
The Cases You Need to Learn the Essential of Gynecologic Surgery Case Files: Gynecologic Surgery provides 40 clinical cases to illustrate evidence-based practice in the gynecologic surgery patient. Each case includes open-ended questions, extended discussion, Practice Pearls, a "Controversy" discussion, comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature with a brief critique of each article. With this unique learning system you'll learn how to become a better clinician in the context of real patients and the latest evidence-based medicine. Features 40 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management and understanding of disease (pathophysiology) in the gynecologic surgery patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps residents and fellows develop clinical thinking skills Based on current journal articles and landmark studies, with an accompanying brief critique "Practical Pearls" give evidence-based recommendations for patient management "Controversy" feature discusses current controversies and different views related to each case Multiple-choice comprehension questions accompany each case Approximately 25 original drawings and clinical images enhance the text Presents high-yield high-risk gynecologic surgery cases in an interactive and memorable format to help residents and fellows learn in the context of real patients Proven learning system improves exam scores
Case Files High-Risk Obstetrics
Real patients, real cases teach you high-risk obstetrics "This is an excellent handbook on high risk obstetrics. The ideal audience is medical students or residents in the field who like real life scenarios to accentuate their learning. It is best suited for those in a time crunch, and residents and students certainly qualify. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: High-Risk Obstetrics uses fifty clinical cases to illustrate evidence-based practice in high-risk obstetrics patients. Each case includes open-ended questions, extended discussion, Practice Pearls, a "Controversy" discussion, comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature with a brief critique of each article. This unique learning system teaches you to be a better clinician by learning in the context of real patients and reinforcing the latest evidence-based medicine. Features Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps residents and fellows develop clinical thinking skills Based on current journal articles and landmark studies, with an accompanying brief critique "Practical Pearls" give evidence-based recommendations for patient management "Controversy" feature discusses current controversies and different views related to each case Multiple-choice comprehension questions accompany each case Original line drawings and clinical images Proven learning system improves exam scores
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets
Fetal and Neonatal Secrets by Drs. Richard Polin and Alan Spitzer, uses the success formula of the highly popular Secrets Series to offer fast answers to the most essential clinical questions in fetal and neonatal medicine. With its user-friendly Q&A format, practical tips from neonatologists and fetal medicine experts, and "Key Points" boxes, this portable and easy-to-read medical reference book provides rapid access to the practical knowledge you need to succeed both in practice and on board and recertification exams. "Fetal and Neonatal Secrets is a book with an alternative setup that offers answers to a wide spectrum of clinical questions in the field of fetal and neonatal medicine. The book covers both fetal and neonatal medicine, and could be relevant for junior doctors aiming to become obstetricians or pediatricians." Reviewed by: Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica, January 2015 Get the evidence-based guidance you need to provide optimal care for your fetal and neonatal patients. Zero in on key fetal and neonatal information with a question and answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Enhance your reference power with a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful websites. Review essential material efficiently with the "Top 100 Secrets in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine" - perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Apply all the latest pediatric advances in clinical fetal neonatology techniques, technology, and pharmacology
Ob/Gyn Secrets
For 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Ob/Gyn Secrets, 4th Edition, by Drs. Amanda Mularz, Steven Dalati, and Ryan A. Pedigo, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. NEW: Expert Consult access provides an enhanced e-book version with the print, available online or on mobile devices. This edition features updated content to keep you current with what's new in obstetrics and gynecology, including new technologies that can improve your patient care. A new author team leads a team from prominent institutions, bringing a fresh perspective to this best-selling review.
Ward Rounds in Obstetrics and Gynecology
This book is a practical guide to obstetrics and gynaecology cases clinicians might encounter on an everyday basis. Divided into 34 chapters, the text begins with discussion on history taking and examination. The next sections cover the diagnosis and management of different obstetrical disorders including fever in pregnancy, gestational diabetes and anaemia, heart and liver diseases, preterm labour, and recurrent pregnancy loss. The following chapters present a variety of gynaecological disorders such as abnormal uterine bleeding, ovarian cancer, fibroids, infertility, and much more. Each chapter begins with a case history and investigation methods and concludes with questions and answers. Topics are further enhanced by clinical photographs, illustrations, medication tables, flowcharts, and comprehensive references. Key points Practical guide to obstetrics and gynaecology cases seen in daily practice Covers diagnosis and management of many different disorders Each topic includes a case history, and questions and answers to assist learning Highly illustrated with clinical photographs, diagrams, medication tables and flowcharts
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology
Published in collaboration with the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, this highly respected resource provides the foundational knowledge medical students need to complete an Ob/Gyn rotation, pass national standardized exams, and competently care for women in clinical practice. Fully compliant with the College's guidelines, treatment recommendations, and committee opinions, the text also aligns with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based. Six comprehensive units cover all essential information on General Obstetrics and Gynecology; Obstetrics, Medical and Surgical Disorders in Pregnancy; Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility ; and Gynecologic Oncology and Uterine Leiomyoma . In-depth updates throughout capture the current state of the field, including new minimally invasive and robotic gynecologic procedures, an expanded discussion of patient safety, many new ultrasound images, and much more. Concise, eminently readable chapters - with abundant headings and subheadings, lists, boxes, and tables - make key clinical concepts easy to understand and remember. Chapter-opening and -closing case studies demonstrate clinical applications of the material. A rich full-color art program of illustrations, photos, and imaging examples depicts the anatomy and clinical presentation of both normal and pathologic conditions. Clinical "pearls" highlight specific issues encountered in gynecologic and obstetric practice. Helpful appendices include the latest versions of the Well-Woman Care: Assessments and Recommendations by Age Group , the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Antepartum Record and Postpartum Form, and the Edinburgh Postpartum Depression Scale . A comprehensive image bank makes it easy for instructors to use the book's outstanding visuals in the classroom.
Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG)
Established as the standard resource of the obstetrics and gynecology clerkship, Obstetrics and Gynecology is now in its revised Seventh Edition. This is the only clerkship book on the market fully compliant with The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologist (College) guidelines, treatment recommendations, and committee opinions. The text aligns with the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' (APGO) educational objectives, upon which most clerkship evaluations and final exams are based and provides key features for self-assessment, including USMLE-style questions.
Orthopedic Secrets
Quickly reference the answers you need to the most important clinical questions in orthopedics with Orthopedic Secrets. Fully updated throughout, this classic medical reference book covers the entire range of essential topics in orthopedics, organized by subspecialty, for rapid access to the knowledge you need for success both in practice and on board and recertification exams. Zero in on key orthopedic information with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from the authors. Enhance your reference power with a two-color page layout, "Key Points" boxes, and lists of useful websites. Review essential material efficiently with a "Top 100 Secrets" chapter, perfect for last-minute study or self-assessment. Keep it close. A pocket-sized design makes this title easy to fit in your lab coat pocket! Take a fresh, updated approach to orthopedics with new editors and authors from the world-class orthopedic program at the University of Pennsylvania. Focus on the details most relevant to your needs through a new case-based approach that's perfect for student or resident reference/review, or for any practitioner looking for a broad overview of the field.
Blueprints Orthopedics
Designed as a quick read for both students on an orthopedics rotation and others who want to know more about the specialty, Blueprints Orthopedics covers the essentials of orthopedics that every student will need to know. Pocket-sized and practical, this book covers the most common conditions students are likely to encounter. The focus is on the essential content students need to know during a rotation, allowing for a fast, easy read. Blueprints Orthopedics is organized anatomically for quick, easy-to-use reference. Each chapter begins with a concise overview of high-yield surgical and functional anatomy, followed by review of the physical examination, diagnostic evaluation, and treatment of common orthopedic diseases and disorders. Fifty multiple-choice review questions are included to help students test their understanding of the subject. The book also features valuable appendices on career and residency opportunities, a handy reference list of commonly prescribed medications, a glossary of key words, terms, and tests, and suggested additional readings of current and classic evidence-based references. Blueprints Orthopedics is perfect for medical students. Physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and related health professionals will also find the book valuable.
Case Files: Orthopaedic Surgery
"Case Files: Orthopaedic Surgery" gives you 45 true-to-life cases that illustrate concepts critical to managing commonmusculoskeletal injuries and conditions. Each case includes a concise and accurate patient presentation, key exam findings, and clear radiologic images where applicable. Additionally, cases include in-depth discussions of the injury or condition represented, replete with evidence-based practice recommendations, basic procedural tips and techniques, and discussion ofpotential complications, pitfalls, and ultimate patient outcomes. Review questions and clinical pearls reinforce learning.Learn from 45 high-yield cases, each with review questionsMaster key concepts with clinical pearlsPolish your approach to clinical problems and think like a surgeonPerfect for students, orthopaedic interns, and residents who encounter orthopaedic conditions in daily practice
Comprehensive Board Review in Orthopaedic Surgery
Comprehensive Board Review in Orthopaedic Surgery Although the scope of orthopaedic surgery continues to expand on a daily basis, the fundamental information required to pass orthopaedic in-training, board, and maintenance of certification (MOC) exams remains largely unchanged, yet essential. Preparation for the Orthopaedics In-Training Exam (OITE) and American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) Part 1, is highly challenging. Recognizing the considerable challenges faced by residents and practicing orthopaedic surgeons, the authors have written an essential guide that provides invaluable knowledge and clinical pearls on the fundamentals of orthopaedic surgery. Every chapter is coauthored, providing readers with a well-rounded perspective from both a senior faculty member and a recently matriculated orthopaedic resident/fellow. Chapters are organized by subspecialty, with margin boxes that highlight test-taking components, clinical insights gleaned from years of experience, and figures specifically focused on helping readers understand and retain difficult concepts. Pertinent anatomy is precisely illustrated and described in each subspecialty chapter, enabling understanding of normal and pathologic musculoskeletal system structures and functions. Key Features: An emphasis on subjects that are frequently tested on exams Nearly 500 meticulously created illustrations Structured treatment algorithms that include best diagnostic modalities, expected outcomes, and most common complications Study tips, mnemonics, and classification schemes Easy-to-read bulleted formatting enables the reader to organize, synthesize, and memorize the information with ease This indispensable book will greatly benefit orthopaedic residents preparing for board examinations and board-certified orthopaedic surgeons who need to fulfill MOC requirements.
Rheumatology Secrets
This enhanced medical reference book addresses the treatment of common and uncommon rheumatic disorders, with each chapter reviewing basic immunology and pathophysiology, important disease manifestations, and practical management issues. The user-friendly style of the popular Secrets Series® makes this updated volume a valuable addition to your library!
Review basic immunology and pathophysiology, important disease manifestations, and practical management issues related to rheumatic disorders.
Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with content thoroughly updated by leaders in the field.
Quickly review key concepts with improved "Plus" formatting, such as larger figures and easier-to-read text.
Enhance your reference power through a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, "Key Points" summaries, lists of useful web sites, and practical tips from the authors.
Improve content knowledge with a special chapter containing "Top 100 Secrets," providing an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment.
Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Spine Secrets
This handy new reference follows the popular Secrets Series® question-and-answer format. The main purpose of this book is to provide an overview of all areas of the spine, including basic science, clinical studies, and the natural history of each disease.
Interactive Q&A format of the widely acclaimed Secrets Series®
Over 300 illustrations of anatomy, surgical procedures, and diagnostic imaging studies
Clear and concise summaries of controversies in management and treatment
Comprehensive index for easy reference to major issues
"The NBME provides subject examinations in the basic and clinical sciences for the purpose of assessing the educational achievement of individuals in specific subject areas. These examinations are provided to medical schools and other institutions with a legitimate interest in the education of physicians or other health professionals."
Case Files Pediatrics
Sixty high-yield pediatrics cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Pediatrics teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book. Updated to reflect the most current high-yield clerkship topics and the latest in medical management and treatment
Create a free MyAccess profile to sign in and access Comprehensive Review Questions and track your progress through cases.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Case Files Pediatrics
60 high-yield pediatrics cases, each with USMLE-style questions Clinical pearls highlight key concepts Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like a doctor Proven learning system maximizes your shelf-exam scores.
Create a free MyAccess profile to sign in and access Comprehensive Review Questions and track your progress through cases.
Pediatric Secrets
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Written by Drs. Richard A. Polin and Mark F. Ditmar, Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Emergency Medicine
2nd edition of this best-selling pocket reference offers concise, yet complete clinical guidance on pediatric emergency care in the highly practical question-and-answer format of The Secrets Series(R). Each chapter covers an important topic by asking key questions and providing helpful answers. This second edition again features six sections: the first addresses life threatening conditions and immediate stabilization of children, followed by a section on common chief complaints that are often managed in the Emergency Department. Subsequent sections focus on important medical emergencies, surgical emergencies, major and minor trauma and environmental emergencies.
Covers important areas including cardiac arrest, respiratory failure, neurosurgery emergencies, ophthalmology emergencies, burns/smoke inhalation, toxicology, neck and spine injuries, and much more.
Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, mnemonics, and tips from the authors. Includes a chapter containing the "Top 100 Secrets" in pediatric emergency medicine, enabling you to quickly review essential material.
Includes new chapters on Technology Assisted Child in the Emergency Department (ED), Sports Related Injuries, Emergency Medical Services for Children, and Patient Safety in the ED. Offers a new two-color page layout and "Key Points" boxes to enhance your reference power.
Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Board Review in Preventive Medicine and Public Health
Board Review in Preventive Medicine and Public Health prepares physicians for their initial and recertification board exams in the related specialties of preventive, occupational and aerospace medicine. Formatted in a question and answer based style that imitates material on specialty exams, each question is linked to a detailed answer. The book contains over 640 question and answer sets covering areas such as general public health, health management, health law, community health, infectious disease, clinical preventive medicine, occupational medicine, aerospace medicine, environmental medicine, correctional (prison) medicine, emergency preparedness, epidemiology and biostatistics. The book is an essential board preparation for physicians with a background in the fields of preventive medicine, occupational medicine, and aerospace medicine. It is also useful for medical students, public health students and those wishing to gain an understanding of the key points in these fields. Provides a question based format that imitates board exams in preventive, occupational and aerospace medicine Written by a specialist with board certification with the goal of elucidating the format, content and reasoning behind the board certification exam Enhances the reader's understanding of material with clear explanations of answers
Blueprints Psychiatry
More than just a Board review for USMLE Steps 2 and 3, Blueprints Psychiatry, Fourth Edition can help you during clerkship rotations and subinternship. This popular Blueprints book has been refined and updated while keeping the concise, organized style and clinical high-yield content of previous editions. Features include USMLE-style questions and answers with full explanations; Key Points in every section; and a color-enhanced design that increases the usefulness of figures and tables. This edition has more questions and answers and greater coverage of pediatric and geriatric disorders. Each chapter ends with evidence-based references (journals) for students to do additional reading/research.
Case Files Psychiatry
Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.
Create a free MyAccess profile to sign in and access Comprehensive Review Questions and track your progress through cases.
Psychiatry Board Review
Market: Psychiatry Residents seeking certification in psychiatry (1,200 per year) Recertifying Psychiatrists (750 per year); recertification is required every ten years. Residents preparing for yearly in-service examinations (4,800 per year) Unique "flashcards in a book" format allows test-takers to quickly evaluate their knowledge of the content, and complements studying with a partner. The format complements other review material and works well in conjunction with larger course books
Study Guide to Psychiatry
Study Guide to Psychiatry is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition. The Study Guide is made up of more than 400 questions divided into 44 individual quizzes containing up to 20 questions each that correspond to the chapters in the Textbook. Questions are followed by an Answer Guide that references relevant text (including page numbers) in the Textbook to allow quick access to needed information. Each answer is accompanied by a discussion that addresses the correct response and also (when appropriate) explains why other responses are not correct. The Study Guide's companion, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition, reflects advances in the understanding of the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of psychiatric disorders as well as the positive, transformational change that has taken place in the field of psychiatry as a whole since the last edition. This edition incorporates a deep understanding of mechanisms of disease, novel therapeutic methods, evidence-based clinical approaches, and adaptive systems and models of care.
Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review
asy to read and use, Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review provides a systematic and comprehensive review of all diseases and disorders frequently tested on addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine board examinations. This high-yield manual is divided into two sections: the first section contains short chapters covering important topics in addiction medicine and psychiatry, including alcohol, sedatives, opioids, tobacco, cannabis, and stimulants; the second section divides questions into three 50-question blocks to resemble the board exam format. This learning tool is essential for exam study in addiction psychiatry or addiction medicine and an excellent resource for interacting with patients with substance abuse disorders.
Includes close to 300 multiple choice questions and detailed answer explanations
Presents information on clinical concepts, etiologies of diseases, treatments, and preventive measures in a format that’s easy to remember and apply, with tables and clinical points.
Includes commonly missed concepts on exams for addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine to help users achieve optimal sores.
Offers quick access to high-yield content critical for success on board exams, clinical clerkships, and medical practice.
Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access the question bank, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Study Guide for the Psychiatry Board Examination
Psychiatrists and residents are faced with the important--but what may feel overwhelming--task of refreshing their knowledge of the whole of psychiatric practice, typically while remaining engaged in full-time clinical activity. Psychiatrists will find the logical structure, substantive questions, and thorough explanations provided by the Study Guide for the Psychiatry Board Examination to be as reassuring as they are educational. Although readers are advised to consult a range of resources in preparation for the examination, this guide is indispensable. It is the first and only guide to reflect the revisions contained in DSM-5, and it will ably assume a primary role in the study and review process. The guide is designed for maximum usefulness, with specific features and attributes to support knowledge recall and successful examination performance. * The authors are from a cross-section of accomplished students, fellows, and junior and senior faculty, all of whom have faced or will face the board examination and who understand its importance to the profession.* Topics were determined by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology Certification Examination in Psychiatry 2015 Content Blueprint.* The approximately 400 questions were formulated from information extracted from widely available American Psychiatric Publishing textbooks and accurately reflect the accepted psychiatric knowledge base.* Each multiple choice question is followed by an explanation of why the correct answer is correct and the others are incorrect, and every question and explanation is referenced, directing the reader to the primary material for more in-depth learning and study.* The volume was designed as a study guide for both the initial psychiatry board examination and the recertification examination. The process of working through the study guide will allow the reader to identify areas of strength and weakness, initiate further study, and test and retest knowledge, ultimately preparing for the examination's rigors. Only the Study Guide for the Psychiatry Board Examination offers support for the new, DSM-5--compatible examination, and that alone renders it essential.
Case Files Surgery
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care.Case Files#65533;: Surgery provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in surgery. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE#65533;-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files#65533;, you''ll learn instead of memorize. #65533; Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions #65533; Master key concepts with clinical pearls #65533; Cement your knowledge with 25 new integrated challenge questions #65533; Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and to patient care #65533; Perfect for medical students and physician assistant students
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches is your quick reference to the key anatomical landmarks and operative techniques needed to best perform general surgical operative procedures! This one-of-a-kind resource combines the unmatched surgical anatomy illustrations of Frank H. Netter, MD with endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images - integrated with expert descriptions of each operative procedure - to provide a clear overview of the exposures, incision sites, surgically relevant landmarks, structures, fascial planes, and common anatomical variants and operative methods that are critical to your success in the operating room. Vividly visualize the surgical anatomy you need to know through the uniquely detailed, memorable artwork of Dr. Netter, Carlos Machado, MD, and other anatomy illustrators working in the Netter tradition. View surgical anatomy from a clinical perspective through photographs and endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images that capture important landmarks and anatomy and are integrated into an expert description of each operative procedure. Access the complete contents online for quick look-ups, including videos of relevant surgical dissections to help you review approaches to common operations.
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets
The new edition of this leading volume in the Secrets Series#65533; offers the very latest overview of surgical practice. A two-color page layout, question-and-answer approach, and a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" in surgery gives you the perfect concise board review or handy clinical reference, while updated coverage throughout equips you with all of the most current and essential knowledge in the field. Valuable pearls, tips, and memory aids make this the perfect resource for a fast surgical review or reference. Uses bulleted lists, tables, short answers, and a highly detailed index to expedite reference. Includes pearls, tips, and memory aids, making it perfect as a handy surgical review for board exams or clinical reference. Covers all of today's most common surgical procedures and techniques. Presents a "Controversies" section in many chapters that highlights the pros and cons of selected procedures and approaches. Features a compact trim size for enhanced portability. Features revisions throughout to provide you with an up-to-date overview of today's surgical care and practice. Includes new chapters on mechanical ventilation, bariatric surgery, adrenal incidentaloma, mechanical circulatory support, and professionalism, to keep you current.