Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: Databases

What are Databases?

• Collections of journal articles and abstracts
• Access: HPD Students, Faculty, Staff
• See the Library Guide for your group (Nursing, Pharmacy etc.) to see which databases are best for use in your subject area
• Tutorials: select "How do I learn to use the databases?" tab on this Guide

Peer-reviewed journals are also called:

• scholarly
• refereed

 Urichs Periodical Directory

• Indicates if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed
• Type full name of journal

Create a Power Search in EBSCOhost  or Ovid by searching multiple databases simultaneously.

EBSCOhost

Ovid

PA Students – ACLS and ECGs PB Practice Resources 

What is PubMed?

PubMed (MEDLINE) is the National Library of Medicine database for medical research.

PubMed has a public website that does not link to HPD Library subscriptions.

Use the NSU PubMed to link to full-text articles using the Find It! button.

Free resources:

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

BestBETs

K4Health (Knowledge for Health)

TRIP Database

Library subscription resources:

Multiple Medical Dictionaries
NLM Gateway 
PA Students – ACLS and ECGs PB Practice Resources

Gray Literature from NY Academy of Medicine

Free resources:

NLM Drug Info Portal

Drug Trials: Center Watch

Library subscription resources:

National Guidelines Clearinghouse

Search Dissertations

Find Journals with high impact factors in Journal Citation Reports

OR

Find out how many times your article was cited as a reference by other authors:

• Go to Web of Science
• Choose Cited Citation Search

Audio-Digest is a library of podcasts.

Subjects:

• Anesthesiology
• Emergency Medicine
• Family Practice
• General Surgery
• Internal Medicine
• Neurology
• OB/GYN
• Oncology
• Opthalmalogy
• Orthopaedics
• Pediatrics
• Psychiatry
• Urology