Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: My NCBI

1. Click Sign In to MyNCBI 
2. Sign in with Google, NIH Login or eRA Commons logins, click See more 3rd party sign in options or click Register for a NCBI Account
3. Follow the instructions to create a case sensitive permanent user name and a password (the password may be updated)
4. Provide an email address (which can be changed or removed later)
5. Select a security question and answer  for when a password is forgotten
6. Type in the appropriate security letters
7. Click the Create account button

Once registered, the user name (here: member) appears in the upper right.

After registration and when an email address is updated, NCBI sends a confirmation email message to that address. Upon receipt, click the link in the email. Once an address is confirmed, automatic email updates of searches will be received and the username may be retrieved.

The Send to: menu can be used to send or copy PubMed records to the following locations:

• File – Use to save citations as a file on your computer. You can send individual, selected, or all citations to a file in any of the PubMed formats such as Abstract, Summary or MEDLINE formats.
• Collections – Use Collections to build collections of records, to save indefinitely. See Collections for more details.
• Order – Use to order a copy of the article. This will be addressed under Getting the Articles, a later section of the tutorial.
• Citation Manager – Use to export your search results to a citation management program such as EndNote, Reference Manager or ProCite. The export will be in MEDLINE (tagged) format.
• Clipboard – Use the Clipboard to store records for today – to do something with before you sign out or close PubMed.
• E-mail – Use to send results to an email address.
• My Bibliography – Use My Bibliography if you are an NIH-funded researcher and are responsible for public access reporting. Or, use if you’d like to have a separate place to build a bibliography that contains citations from outside of PubMed.