Library Guides: Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: Drug Information

[Subscription] Drug Information Databases

AccessPharmacy
Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across McGraw-Hill pharmacy and medical textbooks. NOTE: You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies

More AccessPharmacy Training Videos

Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey
Full-text information on all US prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and investigational drugs.

Facts and Comparisons eAnswers
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers offers online access to up-to-date drug information to help enable better therapeutic decisions in less time. Backed by more than 60 years of editorial expertise, you can be assured of unbiased, reliable content from the publishers of the definitive industry reference, Drug Facts and Comparisons®.
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers User Guide Introduction

[ONLINE TUTORIAL]

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

What's in IPA and who makes it?

IPA, the International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, is an index of the world's pharmacy literature. IPA indexes more that 750 journals with coverage of new drug development, drug evaluations, pharmacy practice, cosmetics, herbal preparations, state pharmacy association journals and abstracts of papers presented at ASHP meetings. There are more than 400,000 abstracts dating from 1970 to present. This index was originated by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 1964, but has been wholly owned by Thomson Reuters since 2005.

Ebsco info guide for International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

LexiComp (LexiDrugs Online with AHFS - w/ Lexi-Tox)
Full-text information on all prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and investigational drugs. Also includes Pharmacological text books, drug interactions, IV compatibility, Facts & Comparisons, and toxicology
More-Lexicomp Online Training Videos

Medical Letter
includes : The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics - Objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs; Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter- Unbiased reviews of drug classes used to treat common disorders. Includes the doses, adverse effects and the recommendations of Medical Letter consultants; Antimicrobial Therapy; Adverse Drug Interactions and CME's.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available
Video Tutorial for Natural Medicines Comprehensive

[ONLINE TUTORIAL]

U.S. Pharmacopeia - National Formulary (USP-NF)
The U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP) and The National Formulary (NF) contains standards for (chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations), excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements.
USP-NF Online Help Guide
Learn to use the online version of the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP- NF). This guide is designed to enhance your usage of USP-NF through the use of the following features:
● Quick and Advanced search features, Search conditions, Bookmarks, Saved searches, Print functionality

[FREE] Pharmacy Resources

Drug Information Portal (NLM)
The NLM Drug Information Portal is a free resource that searches U.S. government agencies, including the National Library of Medicine, FDA and CDC. Includes current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS–related drug information, MeSH® pharmacological actions, PubMed® biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure. The portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials through entry into the U.S. marketplace.

Orange Book
The Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (also known as The Orange Book) identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act)
Orange Book FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions on The Orange Book, published by the US Food & Drug Administration (FDA).

LactMed
The LactMed® database, produced by the NLM, contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.