Library Guides: Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: Clinical Resources

Martin and Gail Press HPD Library Image Resources

For HPD students and faculty:

Red Book Online
more...less...
Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents. Online format designed to help you stay in step with the latest developments and clinical guidelines.

Martin and Gail Press HPD Library Drug Resources

For HPD students and faculty:

Clinical Pharmacology
more...less...
Full-text information on all US prescription drugs, as well as herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and investigational drugs.
Facts and Comparisons eAnswers
more...less...
Facts and Comparisons online provides quick access to comprehensive drug information to assist with comparing prescription drugs, drug interactions, drug identification, patient counseling and education and much more.
Lexicomp
more...less...
This product provides access to continually updated pharmacology information, interaction and allergy screening tools, patient medication management, and a complete collection of biomedical reference databases.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
more...less...
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.
NLM Drug Information Portal
Information available for 19,351 drugs.
RxList
Internet Drug Index

Patient Education

Consumer Health Resources
Consumer health Library Guide
Proquest Health & Medical Collection
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration

Martin and Gail Press HPD Library Clinical Information Databases

For HPD students and faculty:

Access Medicine
Clinical Key
Cochrane Clinical Answers
Cochrane Clinical Answers is a physician-focused resource that provides answers to clinical questions. The content in Cochrane Clinical Answers is based on the high-quality evidence found in Cochrane systematic reviews
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.
Embase
Five Minute Clinical Consult
more...less...
This point of care diagnostic and patient management tool is designed to help support patient care decisions.
Harrison's Online
more...less...
Full-text, illustrations, and expanded features from 15th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes additional references, many links to MEDLINE abstracts, and important information from emerging fields.
Johns Hopkins HIV Guide
more...less...
Johns Hopkins POC-IT Guides are evidence-based clinical decision resources. Trusted content in the HIV Guides is easily accessed, promptly applied, and frequently updated
MEDLINE (Pubmed)
more...less...
NLM's provided Version of MEDLINE - Includes Old-MEDLINE and PreMedline. OutSide Tool for NSU Enabled
Red Book Online
more...less...
Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious disease in infants, children and adolescents. Online format designed to help you stay in step with the latest developments and clinical guidelines.
UpToDate
more...less...
Illustrated, full-text, evidence-based topic guides provide clinical information on a wide variety of diseases and disorders including their diagnosis, management and therapy. Also includes drug information, as well as screening and prevention strategies.
Natural Medicines
more...less...
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.

Differential Diagnosis

Diagnosaurus via Access Medicine
1000+ differential diagnoses from AccessMedicine
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2017
Access quick guidance on diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, medical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines, while additional electronic content equips you with e-only topics, images, tables, and much more.
Glossary of Clinical Trial Terms
HStat: Health Services/Technical Assessment
From NLM includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Churchill's Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis, Fourth Edition

Useful books

Spanish Terminology for the Dental Team by Mosby
Call Number: WU 15 S735 2011
ISBN: 0323069916
Publication Date: 2010
Surgical Knots and Suturing Techniques by F. D. Giddings
Call Number: WO 39 G453s 2009
ISBN: 1889326038
Publication Date: 2009

Practice Guidelines

AHRQ
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Access Medicine Practice Guidelines
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care

Clinical Procedures

Please suggest additional videos in the comments:

Medscape
Clinical Procedures

eBooks

The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2017 by Frank J. Domino (Editor); Robert A. Baldor (Editor); Jeremy Golding (Editor); Mark B. Stephens (Editor)
ISBN: 9781496339966
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by Richard A. Jaffe (Editor)
Call Number: Online via R2 Library
ISBN: 9780781766708
Publication Date: 2009-02-26

Create Alerts for Articles and Journals

Docphin
Follow key journals and collections of landmark articles. Available on iOS, Android, and the web.
Evidence Updates
Create article alerts customized by specialty and relevance. Articles rated by clinical impact and newsworthiness. Created by the BMJ and McMaster University.
MyNCBI
Email notifications for new articles from specific journals or saved searches. Create collections of articles to read later as you search.
NEJM Resident 360
Includes quick facts, major research articles, recent review articles, and guidelines for conditions commonly seen in major Internal Medicine specialties. Also includes Learning Lab series of educational modules, and moderated resident-focused discussions. Register using vcu.edu or vcuhealth.org email. Confirm email while on Nova network.
Read (QxMD)
Follow journals, specialties, user collections, or create keyword alerts. Available on iOS, Android, and the web.