Library Guides: Allopathic Medicine: NSU MD Library Guide: Web Resources

Recommended Websites:

Patient Handouts and PubMed Open Access:

NIH Senior Health: Periodontal Disease
MedlinePlus: Dental Health
PubMed Central
PubMed Health
PubMed Health Clinical Guide
more...less...
PubMed Health from the National Library of Medicine is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials. This database refers to evidence-based medicine as clinical effectiveness.
Europe PubMed Central
SciTech
Public access gateway to full-text, peer-reviewed articles

Cases

Cultural Competencies

DiversityRx
The purpose of DiversityRx is to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities.
Ethnomed
Harborview Medical Center’s EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Health Resources Services Administration
Resources are organized by gender, ethnicity, special populations, age, and a general resources section.
National Center for Cultural Competence
The mission of Georgetown University's NCCC is to increase the capacity of health care and mental health care programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems to address growing diversity, persistent disparities, and to promote health and mental health equity.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Specialized Information Services
Provides links to a variety of cultural competency websites as well as glossaries, laws, refugee health portals, and health resources in multiple languages.
Physician's Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care
Physician's Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care - A self-directed training course for physicians and other health care professionals with a specific interest in cultural competency.
HealthReach Health in Many Languages
a database of multilingual public health resources for those providing health care for refugees and asylees. Database of documents, audio and video resources.
Roadmap for Hospitals-Advancing Effective Communication, Cultural Competence, and Patient- and Family-Centered Care
This monograph provides recommendations to help hospitals address unique patient needs, meet the new Patient-Centered Communication standards, and comply with existing Joint Commission requirements.

Evaluating Websites:

Credibility:

Is there an author listed?

Does the author cite sources?

Does the author have credentials?

Can you contact the author?

Who sponsored the page?

Bias:

Is the point of view objective?

Is the author biased?

Are they selling anything?

Audience:

What level is the target audience?

Is the content comprehensive or lite?

Accuracy:

Is the information source cited?

Does this site contradict other sites?

What research methods were used?

Currency:

The site was last updated when?

Is the information outdated?

Relevance:

Is the site relevant to your topic?

Is the site popular or relevant?

Evaluating publishers

If you are wriing an article for publication it is important in the current publishing climate to evaluate the publisher. Here is a presentation by Courtney Mlinar, NSU College of Dental Medicine Library Liaison about evaluating publishers with definitions of the different types of open access publication models.

If there is not much information available about the publisher, evaluate the publisher's web site using the model shown in the box above. You can also find more information using Ulrichs Periodical Directory.