2024
2023
Project Finance in Theory and Practice by
Project Finance in Theory and Practice: Designing, Structuring, and Financing Private and Public Projects, Fourth Edition provides essential, core coverage of project finance, offering new insights into Sharia-compliant instruments and a comprehensive overview of the current state of international regulation of banking post financial crisis. This updated edition includes new case studies and topics related to country risk, along with insights from project finance experts who share their specialized knowledge on legal issues and the role of advisors in project finance details. The book will be useful for readers at all levels of education and experience who want to learn how to succeed in project finance. Features useful, illustrative case studies Addresses human rights and sustainability issues, in particular the Equator Principles for determining, assessing and managing environmental and social risk in projects Explores treatment of guarantee mechanisms that governments are increasingly providing to private developers to attract private capital
ISBN: 9780323983730Publication Date: 2023-05-24
Budgeting, Auditing, and Evaluation by
As governments the world over work to sustain public policy and develop much needed policy initiatives, there is increasing need for better budgetary management and sound evaluation of both past and prospective policies. Budgeting, Auditing, and Evaluation presents in-depth, comparative examinations of budgetary processes in seven major Western governments (United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Spain, Sweden, and Finland). Contributors focus specifically on the important links between budgeting, auditing, and policy evaluation. The authors identify both commonalities and divergences and make comparative statements of the consequences of these for the policy process.
ISBN: 9780429336225Publication Date: 2020-03-12
Government Contracting by
Government contracting is one of the most important issues facing federal, state, and local governments. As governments contend with lower tax revenues and a growing belief that smaller government is better government, contracting has become a fundamental means of providing goods and services to citizens. This volume, which is geared toward practitioners as well as students, addresses the broad range of issues that comprise government contracting - from the political, economic philosophy, and value of contracting - to the future of government contracting. Throughout the volume academic theory provides a foundation to address practical subjects, including the contract process, monitoring and evaluating contracts, ethics, and both federal and state local government contracting. Contributors to this volume are both academicians and practitioners, who together offer their scholarly expertise and practical experience, encouraging readers to ask the very question "What is the role of government in American society?" Through this approach, students will acquire the knowledge needed to understand the various aspects of government contracting, and practitioners will enhance their public procurement skills. Government Contracting is ideally suited to MPA students, practitioners in the public sector, and elected officials looking to enhance their understanding of privatization and contracting in order to provide public services more effectively.
ISBN: 9781315686370Publication Date: 2015-12-07
The Routledge Handbook of State-Owned Enterprises by
State-owned enterprises make up roughly 10 percent of the world economy, yet they are woefully understudied. This handbook offers the first synthesis of the topic since the 1980s and offers a comprehensive reference for a generation. The authors provide a detailed explanation of the theory that underpins the expansion of state-owned enterprises in the 21st century. Each chapter delivers an overview of current knowledge, as well as identifying issues and relevant debates for future research. The authors explain how state-owned enterprises are used in both developed and developing countries and offer an insight into complex and fascinating organizations such as the German municipal conglomerates or the multinational companies owned by states. New modes of governance and regulation have been invented to make sure they act in the public interest. This handbook brings together a wealth of international scholars, offering multiple theoretical perspectives to help shape a brave new world. It will be of interest to teachers and students of Economics, Public Administration and Business, academics, established researchers and PhD students seeking rigorous literature reviews on specific aspects of SOEs, as well as practitioners and decision makers in international organizations.
ISBN: 9781351042543Publication Date: 2020-05-27
State and Local Public Finance by
Now in its 4th edition, State and Local Public Finance provides a comprehensive and sophisticated analysis of state and local government public finance practices and issues, using the basic tools of economics. For this new edition, there is a focus on the most important services provided in the state-local sector: education, health and welfare, public safety, and transportation. This textbook provides an examination and analysis of public finance practices and problems in a federal fiscal system, focusing on the fiscal behaviour and policies of state and local governments. The author presents detailed descriptions of significant institutions. Modern economic theory is applied to examine the way these institutions are used to produce and finance services, and to provide evaluation of alternative policies. Although the emphasis is on U.S. institutions and issues, much of the economic analysis can be applied to any federal system or to fiscal decentralization. This fully revised new edition sees updates throughout to data, topics, and applications. The Headlines and Applications sections reflect the most current policy issues affecting state and local governments. These include the effects of the Great Recession on state and local governments, changes in the tax treatment of internet purchases, the Affordable Care Act and implications for Medicaid spending by state governments, demographic changes and the implications for state-local finances, the implications of changes in automobile technology for transportation financing, and the potential for increased gambling activity. This text will continue to be invaluable reading for those who study public finance, local government finance, urban economics and public policy and public administration.
ISBN: 9781315718729Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Teaching Public Budgeting and Finance by
Many universities offer the Master of Public Administration (MPA) or other public affairs degree, which includes at least one course in public budgeting or public financial management. The faculty who teach these courses can however sometimes struggle to cover the breadth of material required and to fully engage students in what can be a technical subject. Teaching Public Budgeting and Finance: A Practical Guide addresses this challenge by sharing hands-on classroom expertise from leading scholars and creative instructors in the field. Drawing on their extensive experiences with teaching, researching, and engaging in service, each contributor reflects on how their area of expertise can be taught most effectively, providing a discussion of student learning outcomes, pedagogical approaches, relevant resources, and appropriate course assignments. While no one book can provide a final say on classroom instruction, this first-of-its kind primer on teaching public budgeting and financial management courses is a detailed, indispensable guide for all faculty looking to improve the learning experience of students in the classroom. Teaching Public Budgeting and Finance: A Practical Guide is required reading for early career faculty as they prepare to teach the course for what may be the first time, as well as for more senior faculty looking to update their course, complement their own teaching strengths, or teaching the course for the first time in several years.
ISBN: 9781003240440Publication Date: 2021-12-24
The Art of Audit by
On the occasion of the retirement of Saskia J. Stuiveling as the president of the Netherlands Court of Audit, eight former heads of audit institutions took to the stage to talk candidly about their work. Topics covered included innovations in the field, the effects of the financial crisis on their profession, changes resulting from the open data movement, and the need for new skills to audit the oil industry. This book presents their discussion, offering a snapshot of the current state of the profession at its highest levels.
ISBN: 9789462980914Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Resisting garbage : the politics of waste management in American cities by
Resisting Garbage provides new avenues for evaluating municipal action and fostering practices that will create environmentally meaningful change.
ISBN: 9781477323717Publication Date: 2021
