2024
Routledge Handbook of Global Sustainability Governance by
The Routledge Handbook of Global Sustainability Governance provides a state-of-the-art review of core debates and contributions that offer a more normative, critical, and transformatively aspirational view on global sustainability governance. In this landmark text, an international group of acclaimed scholars provides an overview of key analytical and normative perspectives, material and ideational structural barriers to sustainability transformation, and transformative strategies. Drawing on pivotal new and contemporary research, the volume highlights aspects to be considered and blind spots to be avoided when trying to understand and implement global sustainability governance. In this context, the authors of this book debunk many myths about all-too optimistic accounts of progress towards a sustainability transition. Simultaneously, they suggest approaches that have the potential for real sustainability transformation and systemic change, while acknowledging existing hurdles. The wide-ranging chapters in the collection are organised into four key parts: * Part 1: Conceptual lenses * Part 2: Ethics, principles, and debates * Part 3: Key challenges * Part 4: Transformative approaches This handbook will serve as an important resource for academics and practitioners working in the fields of sustainability governance and environmental politics.
ISBN: 9781138048287Publication Date: 2019-11-06
Sustainable Management for Managers and Engineers by
In a competitive and complex world, where requirements from different fields are ever-growing, organizations need to be responsible for their actions in their respective markets. However, this responsibility must not be deemed one-time-only but instead should be seen as a continuous process, under which organizations ought to effectively use the different resources to allow them to meet the present and future requirements of their stakeholders. Having a significant influence on their collaborators� performance, the role developed by managers and engineers is highly relevant to the sustainability of an organization�s success. Conscious of this reality, this book contributes to the exchange of experiences and perspectives on the state of research related to sustainable management. Particular focus is given to the role that needs to be developed by managers and engineers, as well as to the future direction of this field of research.
ISBN: 9781119804215Publication Date: 2020-12-03
The Palgrave Handbook of International Energy Economics by
Addressing key topics such as energy production and distribution, renewables and corporate energy structures, alongside global energy trends, regional case studies and emerging areas such as the digitalization of energy and energy transition, this handbook provides a major new contribution to the field of international energy economics.
ISBN: 9783030868840Publication Date: 2022
Sustainable Development Disciplines for Society : Breaking down the 5Ps--People, Planet, Prosperity, Peace, and Partnerships by ISBN: 9789811951459Publication Date: 2022
Road to Net Zero : Strategic Pathways for Sustainability-Driven Business Transformation by
Embark on a collaborative learning journey and explore key issues along the road to transformation, such as crafting corporate sustainability strategies, new forms of corporate disclosure, transforming value chains, and harnessing the power of technological innovation. Packed with guiding questions and distilled findings from research, this book is a must-read for all decision-makers, strategists, engaged citizens, educators, and learners committed to driving change and shaping a more sustainable future.
ISBN: 9783031422249Publication Date: 2024
Utilizing AI and Smart Technology to Improve Sustainability in Entrepreneurship by
Businesses must confront a pressing challenge--how to navigate the turbulent seas of market dynamics and technological advancements. As traditional business models face obsolescence in the wake of relentless innovation, enterprises failing to quickly to harness the power of advanced technologies risk fading into obscurity. This predicament sets the stage for a critical exploration of the profound impact of artificial intelligence (AI) and smart technology on the sustainability of entrepreneurial ventures. Without a strategic embrace of these innovations, businesses find themselves adrift, struggling to cope with the demands of a rapidly evolving market. Utilizing AI and Smart Technology to Improve Sustainability in Entrepreneurship serves as a guide for entrepreneurs seeking to thrive in this era of unprecedented change. Readers begin with a deep dive into the challenges faced by contemporary businesses. This book meticulously dissects these challenges and provides guidance for those ready to chart a course toward sustainable success by leveraging the transformative and compelling aptitudes of AI. The proposed solution of the integration of AI and smart technologies into the business landscape is one of great promise. For scholars immersed in the world of academia, this book is an invaluable resource, offering many insights into the symbiotic relationship between technology and entrepreneurship. It addresses not only the theoretical underpinnings but also the practical strategies that can reshape the entrepreneurial landscape. By examining key topics such as blended entrepreneurship strategies, the role of AI in digital entrepreneurship, and the readiness of small and medium-sized enterprises to embrace AI, the book becomes an indispensable tool for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the intersection between technology and sustainable business development.
ISBN: 9798369318430Publication Date: 2024-03-18
Changing the Game by
We are at the beginning of the sustainability era. The biggest challenge of our generation is to reach the Sustainable Development Goals. For this we must be willing to understand and change the root causes that create these challenges in the first place. The system itself needs to change. But how to do that? This ground-breaking book Changing the Game reveals the missing insights and strategies to actually achieve system change. The authors Lucas Simons and André Nijhof bring decades of real life and academic experience, and state that most of the sustainability challenges are actually caused by the same system failures, every time. Therefore, the way to accelerate and manage system change is also similar every time - if you know where to look and how to act. The theory of sustainable market transformation and system change is described in a compelling and easy to understand eight-step approach applied to eight different sectors. The authors, together with respected sector experts, describe the drivers, triggers and dominant thinking in each of these sectors as well as the strategies needed to move towards higher levels of sustainability. This book is highly accessible and engaging, and is perfect for use by professionals, leaders and students for understanding how to move markets to a more sustainable future.
ISBN: 9780429628573Publication Date: 2020-10-29
Gold Standard Sustainability Reporting by
This highly practical and concise book shows you how to undertake a reporting process and produce a sustainability report in line with the new standards and frameworks presented by the International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) and the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI). Fully updated to ensure compliance with the new standards, this second edition shows how to actually produce a sustainability report as well as the key processes in the planning: how to produce a business case; the development of actions plans; process and team leadership; and generating cross-functional buy in. Templates are provided for certain steps in order to simplify the tasks involved at each point in the process. Anyone involved in delivering or developing a process to embed sustainability reporting for an organization will find this book invaluable, for example Chief Sustainability Officers, Chief Financial Officers and Company Secretaries. It will also be of interest to students in the field of sustainability.
ISBN: 9781000029925Publication Date: 2020-03-24
Social Entrepreneurship and Sustainable Development by
This volume discusses the seminal interface between social entrepreneurship and sustainable development along with their inter-linkages. It traces the role of social entrepreneurship and innovations in societal transformation in creating sustainable societies, especially in developing nations. It explores how social entrepreneurship and enterprise is integral to the promise of fostering opportunities for socially disadvantaged groups (including the poor, women, and young people), as well as in addressing environmental and ecological issues apart from wealth creation. The book presents key concepts, case studies, and multiple innovative models involving social entrepreneurship, such as green financing, serial social entrepreneurship, sustainable livelihood creation, and well-being, in addition to highlighting global sustainable development goals of the United Nations. The chapters are organised under the broad themes of sustainability of the organisation, sustainability of the community, sustainability of the development, and sustainability of the community-organisation interface. They examine social change, social innovation, social enterprise, small and micro-enterprises, microfinance institutions, inclusive growth, education, productivity, physical health, waste management, energy retention, self-reliance, and corporate social responsibility. They contain emerging research issues in the field as well as critical assessments while bringing together theoretical and practitioners' perspectives. This book will be useful to scholars and researchers of development studies, social entrepreneurship, sustainable development, environmental studies, public policy, and political sociology. It will also greatly interest professionals from non-profit, corporate, and public sectors, other development practitioners, and international bodies.
ISBN: 9781000079791Publication Date: 2020-06-13
The ESG and sustainability deskbook for business: A guide to policy, regulation, and practice by
Written in a straightforward and conversational tone, you'll embark on a knowledge journey on the progression of ESG and sustainability and how it directly shapes and informs current practice. The book provides insights, discussion, and topical briefings as a side-by-side reader to accompany the rise of ESG and sustainability in business and the markets. You will learn about the origins of sustainability in treaties and policy, the differentiation of ESG, sustainability, and social responsibility, and the emerging trends. Readers will examine the respective roles of the corporation, the financial and investment sector, the international bodies, the business interest groups, the NGOs and the philanthropic community.
ISBN: 9798868802614Publication Date: 2024
Digital Sustainability: Leveraging Digital Technology to Combat Climate Change by
The chapters included in this book are designed to provide some key definitions and concepts related to digital sustainability and its evolution, and more detailed insights on some of the key priority areas outlined in the European Green Deal, namely energy, mobility, buildings, food and the circular economy. A critical review of these topics will summarise and present different perspectives that challenge old assumptions and highlight emerging trends and possibilities for digital sustainability. Industry and society face significant challenges in the twin transition to digital and green transformation, not least of which is the need to balance investment in digital technologies with environmental sustainability. This open-access book can serve as a primer for scholars, policymakers, and enterprise decision-makers, providing insights on navigating innovation ecosystems to support both green and digital objectives.
ISBN: 9783031617492Publication Date: 2024
Sustainable Enterprise Value Creation : Implementing Stakeholder Capitalism Through Full ESG Integration by
This Open Access book provides a practical guide to the creation of sustainable enterprise value and implementation of the principles of stakeholder capitalism for corporate boards and management teams. The authors argue that business leadership is on the threshold of a new era driven by major shifts in technology, society, political economy and climate change. They set this transition in international and historical context and outline a comprehensive leadership agenda for fully integrating environmental, social, governance (ESG) and data stewardship risks and opportunities into corporate governance, strategy, reporting and partnerships. This systematic approach is illustrated with good practices by leading companies and includes an explanation of how sustainability reporting is making the leap into formal accounting standards set by the same body that oversees international financial accounting standards and what companies should do to prepare. The book's combination of scholarly analysis and practical guidance make it a valuable resource for anyone seeking to navigate the new business context, whether from the perspective of a board director, C-suite executive, manager, policymaker, scholar or student.
ISBN: 9783030935603Publication Date: 2022
2023
The Impact of Environmental Emissions and Aggregate Economic Activity on Industry by
As economic growth continues to rise, so does economic degradation. Though certain rules and regulations do exist, pollution is fast becoming an unpaid factor of production, unlike the remunerations of labour and capital inputs. In this context, the environment is thus used as a factor of production which is not fully compensated. However, its use in the production process can be accurately captured by introducing emissions as an input in an aggregate production function, as Mihir Kumar Pal and other leading experts demonstrate. In a reverse approach, they examine the effect of emissions on industrial growth as opposed to that of growth on emissions, enhancing an awareness of this pivotal trade-off where the intersection between economy and environment currently needs it most. Offering both theoretical and empirical perspectives, The Impact of Environmental Emissions and Aggregate Economic Activity on Industry: Theoretical and Empirical Perspectivesis an insightful and original contribution to the sustainable development and economics canon.
ISBN: 9781803825793Publication Date: 2023-02-06
Renewable Energy Investments for Sustainable Business Projects by
With such a wide range of social and economic uses, energy has become essential to global infrastructure and operations, regardless of economic or environmental cost. Renewable energy sources, where energy is obtained from natural sources such as the sun and wind, currently stand as important alternatives to fossil fuels. Yet their comparatively high installation costs continue to deter investors and further propel the planet towards catastrophic climate change. Conscious of these complexities, Renewable Energy Investments for Sustainable Business Projectsidentifies multiple solutions for improving the appeal of renewable energy projects. Breaking down myths about their viability and practicality, Hasan Dinçer and Serhat Yüksel take a variety of issues into consideration, including finance, competition, risk management, customer relations, technological factors and learning and growth to formulate a practical rather than theoretical examination of renewable energies and their potential. From tax advantages to hydrogen sourcing, Renewable Energy Investments for Sustainable Business Projectsexplores a variety of the latest practices and technological developments surrounding renewable energy, offering practical insight and tangible advice to academics and researchers in environmental management.
ISBN: 9781803828855Publication Date: 2023-04-13
Understanding corporate sustainability by
Learning Objectives Discover what corporate sustainability is Explore examples of corporate sustainability Recognise the three pillars of corporate sustainability.
ISBN: 125108AYPOD
Data Science Applied to Sustainability Analysis by
Data Science Applied to Sustainability Analysis focuses on the methodological considerations associated with applying this tool in analysis techniques such as lifecycle assessment and materials flow analysis. As sustainability analysts need examples of applications of big data techniques that are defensible and practical in sustainability analyses and that yield actionable results that can inform policy development, corporate supply chain management strategy, or non-governmental organization positions, this book helps answer underlying questions. In addition, it addresses the need of data science experts looking for routes to apply their skills and knowledge to domain areas. Presents data sources that are available for application in sustainability analyses, such as market information, environmental monitoring data, social media data and satellite imagery Includes considerations sustainability analysts must evaluate when applying big data Features case studies illustrating the application of data science in sustainability analyses
ISBN: 9780128179772Publication Date: 2021-05-11
Future Ready by
Rethink climate, resilience, and sustainability for your organization In Future Ready: Your Organization's Guide to Rethinking Climate, Resilience, and Sustainability, a team of business leaders with deep expertise in engineering, planning, finance, project, program implementation and advisory consulting perspective delivers an essential guide for executives, managers, and other business and infrastructure organization leaders to set and implement a resilience, sustainability and ESG strategy in complex project and operating environments. Through practical examples and proven insights, readers will learn to proactively engage with stakeholders, successfully plan, implement, and measure the impacts of their initiatives, and effectively communicate the results. In the book, the authors draw on hundreds of completed projects across a full range of client organizations, markets, sectors, and scales to equip readers with unprecedented insights and the behind-the-scenes work that went into making the projects successful. The authors also include: Strategies for identifying, cataloguing, and reporting risks--from the operational to the physical and transactional--as well as explanations of how climate risk scenarios can reveal hidden opportunities and unexpected vulnerabilities A Future Ready mindset and the specific examples of organizational sustainability and climate adaptation commitments and the paths companies have taken to meet their goals Critical questions that leaders must ask of themselves and their organizations before they begin a climate, resilience, and/or sustainability initiative A must-read guide for executives, board members, ESG professionals, and other business and infrastructure organization leaders, Future Ready belongs in the hands of anyone who finds themselves responsible for helping an organization achieve their environmental, social, and governance goals.
ISBN: 9781119894629Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Metrics for Sustainable Business by
Metrics for Sustainable Business is the first book to give students a comprehensive understanding of sustainability in organizations from an accounting perspective. The book walks student through the steps for doing a sustainability assessment, and aims to develop them into financial analysts who understand sustainability reports, and are able to create or audit them. While most books focus on environmental issues, Herriott trains his gaze on the corporate and institutional perspective, covering measurement systems, how to evaluate and improve a standard, and conducting a life cycle assessment. Walking students through the programs of disclosure, the varying standards for corporate ratings, and organizational certification, allows them to grasp the tools for conducting a sustainability assessment and auditing reports. Chapters on accounting for greenhouse gas emissions, water use, and waste introduce students to the technical details in sustainability accounting, while a chapter on the philosophies of sustainability offers an answer to the question, "Why are they asking us to report that?" Richly demonstrated with practical examples and informative visuals, this book will serve students of sustainability, accounting, and integrated reporting.
ISBN: 9781317450658Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Quantitative Methods for ESG Finance by
A quantitative analyst's introduction to the theory and practice of ESG finance In Quantitative Methods for ESG Finance, accomplished risk and ESG experts Dr. Cyril Shmatov and Cino Robin Castelli deliver an incisive and essential introduction to the quantitative basis of ESG finance from a quantitative analyst's perspective. The book combines the theoretical and mathematical bases underlying risk factor investing and risk management with accessible discussions of ESG applications. The authors explore the increasing availability of non-traditional data sources for quantitative analysts and describe the quantitative/statistical techniques they'll need to make practical use of these data. The book also offers: A particular emphasis on climate change and climate risks, both due to its increasing general importance and accelerating regulatory change in the space Practical code examples in a Python Jupyter notebook that use publicly available data to demonstrate the techniques discussed in the book Expansive discussions of risk factor investing, portfolio construction, ESG scoring, new ESG-driven financial products, and new financial risk management applications, particularly those making use of the proliferation of "alternative data", both text and images A must-read guide for quantitative analysts, investment managers, financial risk managers, investment bankers, and other finance professionals with an interest in ESG-driven investing, Quantitative Methods for ESG Finance will also earn a place on the bookshelves of graduate students of business and finance.
ISBN: 9781119903819Publication Date: 2022-11-22
Sustainable Resource Management by
Sustainable Resource Management: Modern Approaches and Contexts presents the application of the current concept of sustainability to the management of natural resources, such as water, land, minerals and metals using theoretical field knowledge and illustrative real-world examples. Initially, the book defines sustainability, detailing its evolution and how it has been adapted to each of the contexts in which it is used. Furthermore, sustainability is made up of three main areas of science--environmental, social and economic--which are rarely considered together. This book is a complete reference guide to sustainability of natural resources for academics, researchers, practitioners and postgraduate-level students, and more. As sustainability is an interdisciplinary field, linked to most sciences, it is also of use to all fields of science that need to maintain sustainable practices and specific details on the methodologies and techniques needed for sustainable resource management. Provides an integrated approach for modern tools, methodologies and indicators for sustainable resource management Evaluates emerging trends and advanced approaches in sustainable resource management, detailing the most up-to-date research and management considerations Describes advanced sustainable resource management technologies and presents case studies where applicable
ISBN: 9780128243435Publication Date: 2021-06-20
Foundations of a Sustainable Economy by
This book addresses current practices related to sustainable development, its challenges and the future. People belonging to different genders regardless of their age, social class and education should be equal as citizens and individuals, and identical in their rights and responsibilities. The business sector, authorities, societies and religious circles have the potential to play a fundamental role in curbing social ills and the degradation of the environment in this modern world. The authors of this book argue that without good governance, the status of a human being is unlikely to improve. They make the case that to achieve sustainability, government, society and the economy must ensure a platform for people to participate in decision-making and benefit from the rights they are accorded. By covering a range of perspectives across economic, social and moral life, the book will shed light on the problems and possible solutions to sustainable development and the triple bottom line, of people, planet and profit, under the umbrella of morals and divine law. This will be a useful guide for undergraduate and postgraduate students across multiple disciplines, such as economics, religious studies, business studies, political science, anthropology and sociology.
ISBN: 9781003010579Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Green Planet Blues by
Revised and updated throughout, this unique anthology examines global environmental politics from a range of perspectives and captures the voices of both the powerless and the powerful. Paradigms of sustainability, environmental security, and ecological justice illustrate the many ways environmental challenges and their solutions are framed in contemporary international debates about climate, water, forests, toxics, energy, food, and biodiversity. Organized thematically, the selections offer a truly global scope. Seventeen new readings explore climate justice, globalization, land and water grabs, climate change and conflict, China's international environmental relations, and the future of climate politics in the wake of the Paris Agreement. This book stresses the underlying questions of power, interests, authority, and legitimacy that shape environmental debates, and it provides readers with a global range of perspectives on the critical challenges facing the planet and its people. This new edition of Green Planet Blues connects directly with a wide-range of upper-level undergraduate and graduate-level courses.
ISBN: 9780429322204Publication Date: 2019-09-06
Pricing the Priceless by
In Pricing the Priceless, renowned environmental strategist, speaker, world traveler, and author Paula DiPerna brings a unique voice and optic to demystify and unveil today's most fascinating financial disruption-pricing the priceless to flip conventional ideas of how we value natural assets and why. She asks the provocative question long ignored: Why do we value the indispensable atmosphere at zero, but dispensable production in the trillions? She digs into alternatives, with real-life examples from around the globe of fascinating and pioneering financial innovations.With power, clarity, and real-world experience, the author also examines: fascinating new financial inventions and experiments-insurance, bonds, markets, investment funds-all aimed at pricing what is precious and vital to human well-being; how the great current intergenerational shift in wealth and attitudes is redefining investment trends and the idea of what constitutes wealth and return; how climate change and other urgent environmental problems now require entirely new financial thinking to trigger solutions; how once-radical ideas about measuring economic progress are now reimagining the very purpose of capitalism; and why finance needs critical reinvention to remain credible in the face of increasing public skepticism of business-as-usual economic practice.
ISBN: 9781663727398Publication Date: 2023-08-15
Greener Products by
Written by a renowned sustainability expert, Greener Products: The Making and Marketing of Sustainable Brands, Second Edition makes the case for why the people and the planet need products to be made in a different, more sustainable way. The growth of the global middle class, with an additional 3 billion people expected to enter the consumer market by 2030, is putting an unprecedented demand on resources and straining the global supply of raw materials, fossil fuels, food and water. This book provides insights on how to raise the bar on product development and investigates the best practices for making and marketing sustainable brands. Over 40 case studies are analyzed in this book and summarized for the reader to easily see what it is that makes leading companies successful. Analysis on marketing campaigns and greener product development range from leading companies like Apple, Nike, Samsung Electronics, BASF, GE, Johnson & Johnson, Unilever, and Method. New updated content in this second edition includes: New developments like the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals with concepts of biomimicry, circular economy, emerging issues management, and eco-innovation. Novel tools and examples for bringing sustainable products to market. New chapter dedicated to natural capital. Analysis of current green marketing methods and market trends. Best practices for making and marketing sustainable brands. For more information, visit the author's book website at www.greenerproducts.biz.
ISBN: 9781315229188Publication Date: 2017-08-03
Handbook of Research on Socio-Economic Sustainability in the Post-Pandemic Era by
The COVID-19 pandemic intensifies underlying structural obstacles and systemic inefficiencies. However, it also provokes the accelerated adoption of innovations made possible by the already growing technological development, before being accompanied by necessary institutional and systemic adjustments. This leads to multidimensional crises, while also opening new socio-economic challenges and prospects globally. The Handbook of Research on Socio-Economic Sustainability in the Post-Pandemic Era engages global aspects of the crisis by means of standard and innovative economic policies at the national and international level. It confronts the challenges facing businesses and reveals models of effective transformations and strategies in the present circumstances. The book further investigates individual and collective societal challenges in light of sustaining our constantly upgrading humanitarian values in the 21st century. Covering topics such as fiscal adjustment measures, sustainable marketing, and state-society relations, this major reference work is a dynamic resource for government officials, sociologists, economists, business leaders, human resource managers, libraries, students and faculty of higher education, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781799897637Publication Date: 2023-08-18
The New Triple Constraints for Sustainable Projects, Programs, and Portfolios by
The ongoing changes in population, climate, and the availability of energy have resulted in unprecedented threats and opportunities that all project and program managers, portfolio managers, and public planners need to be aware of. The New Triple Constraints for Sustainable Projects, Programs, and Portfolios offers a clear look at how these constra
ISBN: 9780429088643Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Perspectives on the Transition Toward Green and Climate Neutral Economies in Asia by
Knowledge management and advanced information technologies such as AI, IoT, machine learning, and more can create digital tools and solutions to build more resilient, climate neutral, and green economies and societies. These digital tools and solutions and knowledge management can have a heavy impact on the achievement of sustainable development goals (SDGs) in Asia. Perspectives on the Transition Toward Green and Climate Neutral Economies in Asia offers innovative conceptual frameworks and theories, case studies, and empirical studies to understand how knowledge management and digital innovation can foster the transition towards more circular and climate neutral economies as well as greener economies in Asia. This book discusses how key and enabling digital tools and solutions and knowledge management can support the achievement of SDGs by 2030. Covering topics such as climate neutral economies, image recognition, and usability evaluation, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for deans, heads of departments, directors, politicians, policymakers, corporate heads, senior general managers, managing directors, librarians, students and educators of higher education, academicians, and researchers.
ISBN: 9781668486153Publication Date: 2023-07-24
Taking on Climate Change Through Green Taxation by
Since environmental issues entered the global agenda, governments have directing businesses towards sustainability. The term "sustainability" is commonly associated with a firm's environmental attentiveness, although there are two other areas in which companies should be sustainable: social, to achieve an adequate relationship and fluid communication with their stakeholders, and economic, to accomplish transparent management and correct distribution of the wealth that is generated. The growing demand for corporate transparency encourages the publication of sustainability or corporate social responsibility (CSR) reports, providing information of a non-financial nature concerning the social and environmental dimensions of business activity, namely relations with local communities, the protection of human rights, corporate governance, and adaptation to climate change. Being no exception, and following the European agenda for sustainability development, several governments have implemented tax measures that promote sustainable consumption and production patterns to reduce energy dependence on external sources and efficiently achieve international targets, among others, within a context of neutrality of the tax system. This is where environmental tax incentives come in, underlying a paradigm shift. The relationship between tax policy and environmental policy is seen by governments as an opportunity to adjust the tax system to a more energy-efficient economy in the use of resources. For instance, green tax incentives motivate investors to invest in green properties, encouraging them to opt for greener solutions. That is, tax incentives should be viewed as a tool to empower taxpayers to change actions that may reduce carbon emissions and contribute to sustainability. Taking on Climate Change Through Green Taxation provides applied research on increasing green tax literacy to build the capacity of companies to adopt sustainable practices in favor of environmental protection, to raise companies' awareness of sustainable reporting, and to increase international discussion on the issue of environmental taxation and its impact on more sustainable business decisions. Led by business experts with over 20 years of experience, this book will cover topics such as corporate social responsibility, environmental tax management, and sustainable tax policy. This resource is ideal for policymakers, corporate governance and social responsibility professionals, and researchers interested in taxation, accounting, auditing, finance, corporate governance, and corporate social responsibility.
ISBN: 9781668485958Publication Date: 2023-08-10
Resisting garbage : the politics of waste management in American cities by
Resisting Garbage provides new avenues for evaluating municipal action and fostering practices that will create environmentally meaningful change.
ISBN: 9781477323717Publication Date: 2021
Sustainable Growth and Global Social Development in Competitive Economies by
In the process of transitioning to the New Normal model of society and economy, business models, development patterns, and structural transformations have started to become major instruments in creating the new reality. Creating the basic conditions and promoting the sustainable economic development criteria for contemporary communities needs not only a massive rearrangement of the classical structures but also a rethinking of the old economic paradigm to promote new business models and sustainable entrepreneurship. Sustainable Growth and Global Social Development in Competitive Economies fulfills a gap between theory and practice in the field of resilient economies, sustainable growth, and global social development in the New Normal. It also provides some holistic approaches regarding business models, development patterns, and transformations in the New Normal paradigm. Covering key topics such as globalization, business process modeling, and resource economics, this premier reference source is ideal for business owners, managers, government officials, policymakers, industry professionals, researchers, academicians, scholars, practitioners, instructors, and students.
ISBN: 9781668488133Publication Date: 2023-09-05
Enhancing Sustainability Through Non-Financial Reporting by
The issue of sustainability has become increasingly important at a global level, prompting governments, international organizations, and private and public organizations to seek ways to contribute to sustainable development. However, the lack of accountability and transparency in organizations has made it difficult to identify, measure, and disclose their sustainable practices and impacts. Additionally, there is a lack of consensus on the determinants and impacts of the extent and quality of non-financial information reporting. Enhancing Sustainability Through Non-Financial Reporting is a book edited by Albertina Monteiro, Ana Pinto Borges, and Elvira Vieira that offers a comprehensive analysis of the relationship between sustainability/ Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) practices and reporting, and the accounting, finance, and management fields. The book provides a high-quality vehicle for the dissemination of new knowledge and tendencies, using both qualitative and quantitative methods. It welcomes and encourages articles from both academics and practitioners, with empirical and theoretical articles accepted to reach various audiences and a diversity of topics. The book aims to better understand the contributions of organizations to sustainable development, the level, determinates, and impacts of non-financial information reporting, the impact of sustainability reporting standards on the extent and quality of non-financial reporting, and the role and challenges of accounting, finance, management, and auditing. It is an essential resource for academics and practitioners in accounting, finance, and management, as well as other interested groups and individuals seeking to enhance sustainability through non-financial reporting.
ISBN: 9781668490785Publication Date: 2023-10-16
Optimizing Energy Efficiency During a Global Energy Crisis by
The interplay between economic growth and sustainable development is a recurring theme, with discussions centering around the potential effects of nutrition on developmental outcomes. Optimizing Energy Efficiency During a Global Energy Crisis is a comprehensive and scholarly examination of the factors influencing economic development and their implications. This book delves into the multifaceted aspects of economic growth, encompassing social, political, cultural, and most notably, economic dimension to heighten awareness about their effects and consequences. The book also offers insights into investment policies and their implications for industrial business organizations, as well as the intricate dynamics of the health insurance market. Drawing upon diverse fields of study such as economy, development, informatics, and policy, this book offers a wide range of topics and methodologies to enrich the existing literature. It seeks to address the gaps in understanding and unexplored territories within these domains by employing original research and innovative approaches. Within these pages, readers will find an in-depth analysis of significant factors impacting economic development. The book explores digital transformation and its far-reaching effects, including the role of mobile technology adoption in shaping economic landscapes. Additionally, the book investigates energy efficiency, a critical concern amidst the global energy crisis, while shedding light on the ramifications of renewable energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions. Optimizing Energy Efficiency During a Global Energy Crisis is a valuable resource for scholars, researchers, and professionals in the fields of economics, finance, and development strategies. With an academic approach, this book will appeal to those seeking a deeper understanding of the complex interactions between economic factors and their consequences. It is particularly relevant for individuals involved in related markets and industries, offering practical insights and knowledge for informed decision-making.
ISBN: 9798369304006Publication Date: 2023-09-18
Sustainable Investing: an ESG starter kit for everyday investors by
The Essential Starting Point for Values-Driven Investors You are passionate about the important issues facing our world: Climate change. Racial justice. Gender equality. And you do things to reflect those passions - volunteering, donating, voting, recycling. But there's an even more powerful way to advocate for what matters to you: Changing your investments. This book is perfect for individuals looking to make their first investments in "ESG" funds, which consider the Environmental, Social, and Governance aspects of the companies they invest in, as well as their financials. It contains useful and practical guidance on how to understand your choices in the rapidly expanding world of sustainable investing, and it offers concrete steps to invest in funds and companies that reflect your values.
ISBN: 9781637425114Publication Date: 2023-10-09
The Notorious ESG by
Environment, Social, Governance (ESG) has become the noun, verb, and adjective of the modern business era. Faced with societal and regulatory pressure, big business in America, Asia, and Europe has been forced to define and articulate ESG goals to combat climate change and save the planet. The only problem is that ESG has been captured by the PR hype machine as a few prominent business leaders make bold promises to save the planet but are vague about how they propose to achieve this. Eager to showcase their green credentials, companies are making all kinds of promises to reduce their carbon footprint and to play their part in reducing global warming and improving social outcomes. How to separate fact from fiction and exaggerated commitments from realistic goals? Vasuki Shastryspent several years at the coal face itself - running ESG for a major international bank in the City of London - and argues that corporate cultures are too focused on the profit motive and quarterly business targets. Change can only really come through a paradigm shift for business which aligns business with social purpose. Getting there will require a corporate revolution which will disrupt and dislodge the ancien régimeand usher in a new age of sustainable business. The author offers a solution in the form of a Climate Manifesto for Business that will Make Our Planet Great Again!
ISBN: 9781804555446Publication Date: 2023-09-04
