2024
Buildings for People by
BUILDINGS FOR PEOPLE Buildings for People: Responsible Real Estate Development and Planning explores how to balance social concerns with financial and investment considerations without sacrificing profit. This timely volume provides key technical and practical knowledge while exploring real estate development and planning through a multi-level lens--revealing the systemic factors that both govern and are governed by the real estate process. Beginning with site selection, the authors discuss financing, site improvement, architecture, landscape architecture, site planning, construction, and evaluation within a broader political, economic, and social context. Throughout the text, the authors explain key theories and methods of professional practice, and highlight how important social issues are interconnected to the business of real estate development and planning. Demonstrating how the desire for profit can be balanced with the needs of society Buildings for People: Responsible Real Estate Development and Planning is an excellent textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in real estate, urban planning, urban design, and urban studies courses, as well as a valuable resource for researchers and professionals who want a multidisciplinary understanding of the built environment.
ISBN: 9781119846604Publication Date: 2023-06-23
Introduction to Real Estate Development and Finance by
This book provides readers with a basic understanding of the principles that underlie real estate development. A brief historical overview and an introduction to basic principles are followed by examples from practice. Case studies focus on how cities change and respond to the economic, technological, social, and political forces that shape urban development in North America. It is important to have a framework for understanding the risks and rewards in real estate investing. In measuring return, consideration must be given to both investment appreciation and the cash flow generated over the life of a project. In addition, metrics are presented that can be useful in assessing the financial feasibility of a real estate development proposal. This book also provides an overview of the forces of supply and demand that gauge the potential market for a new project. In determining the size of "residual demand", estimates for population growth, family formation, and new development are important. All development projects fall under the auspices of one or several jurisdictions. Though every jurisdiction has different rules and procedures, basic knowledge of the planning process is critical to the success of all development projects regardless of location. Furthermore, all projects have a legal component. Basic issues of land ownership, property rights, property transfer, and land registration are reviewed, all of which need to be considered when a property is sold or purchased. This book also provides a primary on the design and construction process. In constructing a building, a team of experts is first required to design the architectural, structural, and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems for a building. An overview is provided of each building system: wood, concrete, and steel. Critical to a successful real estate development, project management principles for the processes of design, bidding, and construction are explored, with close attention given to budgeting, scheduling, and resource management. Essential reading for anyone involved in the development of our built environment, this is a must-read introduction for students and professionals in architecture, urban planning, engineering or real estate seeking an approachable and broad view of real estate development and finance.
ISBN: 9781138602441Publication Date: 2019-11-19
The Routledge Handbook of Housing Policy and Planning by
The Routledge Handbook of Housing Policy and Planning provides a comprehensive multidisciplinary overview of contemporary trends in housing studies, housing policies, planning for housing, and housing innovations in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Continental Europe. In 29 chapters, international scholars discuss aspects pertaining to the right to housing, inequality, homeownership, rental housing, social housing, senior housing, gentrification, cities and suburbs, and the future of housing policies. This book is essential reading for students, policy analysts, policymakers, practitioners, and activists, as well as others interested in housing policy and planning.
ISBN: 9781138188433Publication Date: 2019-07-12
Commercial Property Valuation by
A practical guide to the best approaches for commercial real estate value assessment Commercial Property Valuation provides a comprehensive examination of principles and methods of determining the accurate value of commercial assets. This invaluable resource covers all key elements of commercial property valuation, including valuation queries, real estate report structure, market analysis, capitalization and discount rates estimation, and more. This book details the economic characteristics unique to commercial property and illustrates property-specific risk factors and mitigation strategies. Drawing from years of professional and academic experience, the authors provide accurate information on multiple valuation approaches suitable for commercial real estate such as sales comparison, income capitalization and residual land value. Favoring real-world practicality over complex formulas, this book provides a powerful set of tools to assist readers in selecting and applying the best valuation approach to various situations. Actual case studies of office buildings, hotels, high street retails, and residential developments allow readers to understand and apply appropriate valuation methodologies. Commercial property is a major investment class that offers abundant opportunities but poses unique risks. Thorough and inclusive knowledge is essential to success in this complex and competitive sector of real estate. This book provides expert coverage of critical topics allowing readers to: Identify the unique economic characteristics and potential risks of commercial real estate valuation and investment Focus on methods specific to commercial real estate valuation Learn how to select and apply the appropriate valuation method in a variety of scenarios Access sample Excel spreadsheets and ancillary online resources including slides and useful Internet links Commercial Property Valuation is an essential resource for investors, appraisers, consultants, accountants, and students in real estate courses.
ISBN: 9781119512134Publication Date: 2019-07-09
Real Estate Analysis: A Toolkit for Property Analysts by
"Real Estate Analysis: A Toolkit for Property Analysts presents economic and financial models, applications and insights, packaged as a toolkit for analysts and other participants in commercial and residential real estate markets.
ISBN: 9781003111931Publication Date: 2023
Housing and the Financial Crisis by
Conventional wisdom held that housing prices couldn't fall. But the spectacular boom and bust of the housing market during the first decade of the twenty-first century and millions of foreclosed homeowners have made it clear that housing is no different from any other asset in its ability to climb and crash. Housing and the Financial Crisis looks at what happened to prices and construction both during and after the housing boom in different parts of the American housing market, accounting for why certain areas experienced less volatility than others. It then examines the causes of the boom and bust, including the availability of credit, the perceived risk reduction due to the securitization of mortgages, and the increase in lending from foreign sources. Finally, it examines a range of policies that might address some of the sources of recent instability.
ISBN: 9780226030586Publication Date: 2013-08-19
2023
Facilities Management and Corporate Real Estate Management As Value Drivers by
Facilities Management (FM) and Corporate Real Estate Management (CREM) are two closely related and relatively new management disciplines with developing international professions and increasing academic attention. Both disciplines have from the outset a strong focus on controlling and reducing cost for real estate, facilities and related services. In recent years there has been a change towards putting more focus on how FM/CREM can add value to the organisation. This book is driven by the need to develop a widely accepted and easily applicable conceptual framework of adding value by FM and CREM. It presents the state of the art of theoretical knowledge and empirical evidence about the impact of buildings and facilities on 12 value parameters and how to manage and measure these values. The findings are connected to a new Value Adding Management model. The book is research based with a focus on guidance to practice. It offers a transdisciplinary approach, integrating academic knowledge from a variety of different fields with practical experience. It also includes 12 interviews with practitioners, shedding light as to how they manage adding value in practice. This is a much needed resource for practitioners, researchers and teachers from the field of FM and CREM, as well as students at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.
ISBN: 9781317442097Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Furthering Fair Housing by
The 2015 Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing Rule was the most significant federal effort to increase equality of access to place-based resources and opportunities, such as high-performing schools or access to jobs, since the 1968 Fair Housing Act. However, in an effort to appeal to suburban voters, the Trump administration repealed the rule in 2020, leaving its future in doubt. Furthering Fair Housing analyzes multiple dimensions of this rule, identifying failures of past efforts to increase housing choice, exploring how the AFFH Rule was crafted, measuring the initial effects of the rule before its rescission, and examining its interaction with other contemporary housing issues, such as affordability, gentrification, anti-displacement, and zoning policies. The editors and contributors to this volume--a mix of civil rights advocates, policymakers, and public officials--provide critical perspectives and identify promising new directions for future policies and practices. Placing the history of fair housing in the context of the centuries-long struggle for racial equity, Furthering Fair Housing shows how this policy can be revived and enhanced to advance racial equity in America's neighborhoods.
ISBN: 9781439920749Publication Date: 2021-03-19
Real Estate Prospecting by
The ultimate guide to real estate prospecting for both rookies and veterans In Real Estate Prospecting: Create a Million-Dollar Life Through Relationships, Online Leads, Technology, and Social Media, founder, consultant, and real estate team leader Tristan Ahumada delivers a comprehensive discussion of the resources and strategies available to rookie and experienced agents who wish to succeed at the highest levels of the industry. In the book, you'll explore techniques used by leading agents to become the best brokers, agents, and team leaders they can be. From developing a championship mindset to setting up an unbeatable sales system, the author also explains how to: Create and take advantage of a powerful real estate lead database Use live, virtual, and hybrid connections to round out your strategy Network with precision and efficiency to make the most of your time and energy An essential and exciting new resource from one of the masters of the real estate industry, Real Estate Prospecting is a hands-on demonstration of the tactics, strategies, and tools you need to master to become the best agent, sales leader, or broker in your region.
ISBN: 9781394172177Publication Date: 2023-04-19
Profitable and sustainable real estate investing : an investor's guide by ISBN: 9798390852842Publication Date: 2023
Real Estate License Exams for Dummies by
Get ready to close on your new career as a real estate agent Real Estate License Exams For Dummies is packed with all the information you need to know to get your license and begin your lucrative and rewarding real estate career. With four practice tests and 525 flashcards online, you'll be well on your way to launching the real estate career of your dreams. Plus, there are more practice questions throughout each of the subject review sections in the book, so you can work through all the topics covered on the test. With real estate laws for all 50 states, this is your perfect study guide, no matter where you're planning to work. Learn the latest on real estate taxes, contracts, mortgage types, and beyond. Then, get test-day tips that will help you succeed. Real estate, here you come. Review everything you need to know to pass your real estate licensing exam Get proven study techniques and testing strategies to help you earn a high score Use flash cards, a glossary of terms, and online practice tests to prepare Learn about new fair housing initiatives and other changes in the market Looking to start or restart a career in real estate? Real Estate License Exams For Dummies is your guide.
ISBN: 9781394204113Publication Date: 2023-10-31
