2024
Financial Accounting by
Understanding the basics of financial accounting can be a tricky task to master. This practical guidebook provides an overview of the fundamental principles in a jargon-free and simple format. Financial Accounting: The Basics provides concise overviews of the key financial accounting topics supplemented by practical examples and exercises to enable readers to test their knowledge and understanding in bitesize chunks. In empowering students to learn at their own pace, the book enhances course learning to maximise chances of overall success. Topics covered include: The interpretation of financial statements and the accounting equation Processing accounting information Accounting for inventories Non-current assets and depreciation Cash flow statements and analysis With the latest coverage of IFRS terminology, and separate chapters on cashflow statements and ratio analysis, Ilias Basioudis' text will be valuable reading for new students of accounting. IFRS terminology, and separate chapters on cashflow statements and ratio analysis, Ilias Basioudis' text will be valuable reading for new students of accounting.
ISBN: 9781138605503Publication Date: 2019-04-03
Artificial Intelligence in Accounting by
Artificial intelligence (AI) and Big Data based applications in accounting and auditing have become pervasive in recent years. However, research on the societal implications of the widespread and partly unregulated use of AI and Big Data in several industries remains scarce despite salient and competing utopian and dystopian narratives. This book focuses on the transformation of accounting and auditing based on AI and Big Data. It not only provides a thorough and critical overview of the status-quo and the reports surrounding these technologies, but it also presents a future outlook on the ethical and normative implications concerning opportunities, risks, and limits. The book discusses topics such as future, human-machine collaboration, cybernetic approaches to decision-making, and ethical guidelines for good corporate governance of AI-based algorithms and Big Data in accounting and auditing. It clarifies the issues surrounding the digital transformation in this arena, delineates its boundaries, and highlights the essential issues and debates within and concerning this rapidly developing field. The authors develop a range of analytic approaches to the subject, both appreciative and sceptical, and synthesise new theoretical constructs that make better sense of human-machine collaborations in accounting and auditing. This book offers academics a variety of new research and theory building on digital accounting and auditing from and for accounting and auditing scholars, economists, organisations, and management academics and political and philosophical thinkers. Also, as a landmark work in a new area of current policy interest, it will engage regulators and policy makers, reflective practitioners, and media commentators through its authoritative contributions, editorial framing and discussion, and sector studies and cases.
ISBN: 9781003198123Publication Date: 2022-08-05
ChatGPT And AI For Accountants by
Unlock the potential of AI to elevate your accounting skills by applying ChatGPT across audit, tax, consulting, and beyond Key Features Discover AI's role in modern accounting, from audits to corporate governance Use ChatGPT to streamline your accounting tasks with practical hands-on techniques Understand the impact of AI in accounting through in-depth chapters covering various domains, including ethical considerations and data analytics Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free PDF eBook Book Description In the fast-paced AI world, accounting professionals are increasingly challenged by the complexities of AI. Many struggle to integrate these advanced tools into their workflows, leading to a sense of overwhelm. ChatGPT for Accounting bridges this gap by not only simplifying AI concepts but also offering practical insights for its application in various accounting domains.This book takes you from the foundational principles of Generative Artificial Intelligence (GAI) to its practical applications in audits, tax planning, practice management, fraud examination, financial analysis, and beyond. Each chapter equips you with essential skills, showing you how AI can revolutionize internal control systems, enhance recruitment processes, streamline marketing plans, optimize tax strategies, and boost efficiency in audits. You'll then advance to exploring the role of AI in forensic accounting, financial analysis, managerial accounting, and corporate governance, while also addressing ethical and security implications.Concluding with a reflective outlook on the promises and challenges of AI, you'll gain a holistic view of the future of accounting. By the end of this book, you'll be equipped with the knowledge to harness the power of AI effectively and ethically, transforming your accounting practice and staying ahead in the ever-evolving landscape. What you will learn Understand the fundamentals of AI and its impact on the accounting sector Grasp how AI streamlines and enhances the auditing process for high accuracy Uncover the potential of AI in simplifying tax processes and ensuring compliance Get to grips with using AI to identify discrepancies and prevent financial fraud Master the art of AI-powered data analytics for informed decision-making Gain insights into seamlessly integrating AI tools within existing accounting systems Stay ahead in the evolving landscape of AI-led accounting tools and practices Who this book is for Whether you're a seasoned accounting professional, a C-suite executive, a business owner, an accounting educator, a student of accounting, or a technology enthusiast, this book provides the knowledge and insights you need to navigate the changing landscape in applying GAI technology to make a difference in all you do. An appreciation and understanding of the accounting process and concepts will be beneficial. ]]>
ISBN: 9781835466537Publication Date: 2024-06-28
2023
Research Methods for Accounting and Finance by
Research Methods for Accounting and Finance is an essential text for accounting and finance students undertaking research for the first time. It demystifies the research process by providing the novice researcher with a must-have guide through all of the stages of the research process, from identifying a research topic to the finished project. Jargon-free and written in a user-friendly style, it utilises a variety of methods to carefully link the subject matter and topics. Packed with appropriate examples and reflective exercises to support skills and knowledge development, each chapter includes a useful reference list and suggested further read¬ings. It offers a comprehensive overview of key research methods and the choices available when undertaking research in accounting and finances. It includes:* an exploration of the nature and scope of research within the disciplines of accounting and finance; * how to identify a suitable research project and the importance of understanding and contextualising your research ideas via a thorough literature review;* which type of research most suitable to undertake and the researcher's choice of data collection method;* an analysis of qualitative and quantitative research methods - and which is more appropriate for your study;* Ethical issues and research codes of practice and advice on the writing process.To help support their learning, readers have access to a range of online resources including chapter-by-chapter multiple choice questions which will enable them to assess how well they have grasped individual chapters. The text also features a range of supplementary readings, in text exercises and cases/examples to help bring concepts to life. Visit www.goodfellowpublishers/rmforacc for details.The Global Management Series is a complete portfolio of global business and management texts that successfully meets the needs of students on international undergraduate and postgraduate business and management degree courses. Each book is clear, concise and practical and has a thorough pedagogic structure to suit a 12 week semester. The series offers a flexible 'pick and mix' choice of downloadable e-chapters, so that users can select and build learning materials tailored to their specific needs. See www.goodfellowpublishers.com/GMS for details. Each book in the series is edited and contributed to by a team of experienced academics based in the UK, Dubai and Malaysia it provides an essential learning aid for students across a wide range of business and management courses and an invaluable teaching tool for lecturers and academics. Series Editors: Robert MacIntosh, Professor of Strategy and Kevin O'Gorman, Professor of Management, both at Heriot-Watt University, UKAbout the Editors:Audrey Paterson is an Associate Professor in Accounting and manager of the PhD programme within the Department of Accounting, Economics & Finance at Heriot-Watt University, UK. David Leung is an Associate Professor in Accounting at Coventry University, UK.William (Bill) Jackson is Head of the Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance at Heriot-Watt University, UK.Robert MacIntosh is Professor of Strategy and Head of School at Heriot-Watt University, UK.Kevin O'Gorman is Professor of Management and Business History in Heriot-Watt University, UK.
ISBN: 9781910158906Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Accounting and Financial Reporting Challenges for Government, Non-Profits, and the Private Sector by
To follow the macroeconomic scenario in which the entities are inserted, financial reporting is constantly evolving. In addition to the topics that need to be considered, there is also an evolution in how the report itself is produced and analyzed where technological developments exert a permanent influence on the process. Several of the trending topics do not fall within the jurisdiction of the competent authorities. The needs of the users of the report also influence the form and content of the report as an element that also changes over time. Accounting and Financial Reporting Challenges for Government, Non-Profits, and the Private Sector addresses the latest accounting topics and their practical and educational relations with local and international regulations, standards, and practices. It deals with new challenges and trends in accounting and reporting for organizations from different institutional sectors, including private, public, and non-profit ones. Covering topics such as creative accounting, financial reporting, and stakeholder participation, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for accountants, government officials, business leaders, managers, policymakers, students and educators of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668472965Publication Date: 2023-05-18
Introductory Accounting by
Introductory Accounting adopts a measurement approach to teaching graduate students the basics of accounting. Integrating both financial and managerial principles from the U.S. and around the globe, it links accounting to other areas of business (such as finance, operations, and management). Providing students with the context to understand how and why accounting is a valuable part of business, readers will gain an understanding of accounting's role in financial analysis and managerial decision-making. Tinkelman discusses accounting as an imperfect measurement system, offering guidance on how quantitative data can benefit analysts and managers when used with an understanding of its limitations. The book is strongly grounded in research, and also draws on plenty of examples and cases to bring these issues to life. The conversational style of Introductory Accounting will appeal to MBA students, while key terms and illustrative problems make assignments easy for instructors. Additional materials for students and instructors are available on the book's companion website.
ISBN: 9781138956209Publication Date: 2015-12-10
The Past, Present, and Future of Accountancy Education and Professions by
Accountancy provides a significant role and impact on the public and private sectors through its various disciplines and specialties. Trust in human and technological interactions is a primary objective of public accounting. Accountancy provides the strategic capability to access and interpret organizational performance. Therefore, because of its impactful role, it is important to understand and project how accountancy will change as a profession. As accountancy continuously evolves, it mandates agility among stakeholders, particularly those in education and the professions. The Past, Present, and Future of Accountancy Education and Professions broadly covers the ways accountancy will require new roles and knowledge for its constituents in the emerging future. The book explores how technological, educational, professional, and societal changes will transform accountancy. Covering topics such as business demands, professional competencies, and student success, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for financial reporters, financial advisors, auditors, accountants, administrators and educators of both K-12 and higher education, students of higher education, pre-service teachers, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668454855Publication Date: 2023-06-19
Economics, Accounting and the True Nature of Capitalism by
this book proposes a new definition of capitalism that brings about considerable changes in the attitude to be had towards this economic system, in particular the means to bring about its replacement. This book will be of significant interest to readers to political economy, history of economic thought, critical accounting and heterodox economics
ISBN: 9781003194132Publication Date: 2021-11-29
Wiley GAAP 2023 by
The gold standard in US GAAP resources--fully revised to reflect the latest pronouncements US GAAP undergoes constant revision and review, requiring accountants and other financial practitioners to keep a close eye on updates and changes. Wiley GAAP 2023 offers the most comprehensive coverage of all Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Topics--including all the latest updates. Every chapter offers a discussion of relevant perspectives and issues, GAAP sources, practice-oriented examples, and clear definitions of terms, concepts, and rules. Every FASB Topic is clearly explained in a reader-friendly way and includes dynamic graphics to help the reader understand and retain the nuanced subject matter. Extensively updated to reflect all current US GAAP changes, this invaluable practice resource: Reviews all the latest changes to accounting principles Offers expert guidance on complex issues raised by specific pronouncements For ease of research, includes topic-specific chapters and comprehensive cross-references Illustrates how each standard applies to common, real-world scenarios Clarifies how to implement each standard with numerous practical examples The 2023 edition includes the latest revisions to standards on credit losses, leases, derivatives, and more, plus guidance on a new FASB Codification topic on government assistance. Non-compliance with GAAP is not an option for effective accounting and financial professionals. Wiley GAAP 2023 is your one-stop resource for staying current with constantly evolving guidelines and delivers the insight and guidance you need. BONUS: Online, downloadable Financial Statement Disclosure and Presentation Checklist, now including industry- specific disclosures!
ISBN: 9781394152674Publication Date: 2022-11-16
