2024
Product management fundamentals : the who, what, and why, and how of product management by
This video covers the fundamentals of product management--what it is, who does it, why it matters, and how to do it well. It offers a new model for understanding the CORE connective skills of product management (communication, organization, research, and execution) and provides an actionable overview of the role for new and aspiring product managers, plus those who are curious to better understand the role.
ISBN: 0636920954491Publication Date: 2023
The Art and Psychology of Board Relationships : The Secret Life of Boards by ISBN: 9780429340239Publication Date: 2023
How NOT to Lead by
Step Aside, Mediocre Leaders: Learn What NOT To Do! Ditch the fluff and sugarcoating and learn how to lead the way your people deserve. In How NOT To Lead, Dr. Chase Cunningham, a seasoned cybersecurity heavyweight and Retired Navy Chief, doesn't give you a textbook guide on leadership -- he delivers a no-holds-barred, gloves-off masterclass on the lethal mistakes that'll tank your leadership game and ultimately sink your reputation and even your company's future. Want the brutal truth? This book slaps you with some cold, hard realities: What happens when you fall off your ego and hit your IQ on the way down as a leader, and why you need to do that. The absolute idiocy of "Mushroom Farming": keeping your team in the dark, feeding them crap, and expecting gourmet results. A nowhere-to-hide deep dive into "Dumpster Chickens" leadership: using destructive tactics that rip apart team spirit and obliterate business success. The triple threat: the three non-negotiable currencies every leader MUST have. Miss one, and you're doomed. Eye-opening case studies -- ripped from headlines and history books -- that throw a spotlight on the real-world disasters of crappy leadership. Aimed squarely at managers, executives, and anyone brave enough to lead, How NOT To Lead is your audacious guide through the minefield of leadership pitfalls. If you've got the intestinal fortitude to read this book, then drop what you are doing and hitch up your britches for some tough love. Don't let mediocrity be your legacy, do better. Your employees deserve it and so do you!
ISBN: 9781394201990Publication Date: 2023-12-04
Absolute Essentials of Project Management by
Contemporary organisations proliferate with projects. Managing projects, working with project managers and delivering project excellence have become fundamental skills in the world of business, resulting in an array of approaches, tools and techniques that can bewilder. This shortform text homes in on the absolute essential elements of the field. With practical insights throughout, the book provides readers with a concise understanding of key concepts, techniques and outcomes such as ownership, execution, success, quality, budgets and risks. Features include essential summaries and expert guides to further reading. Authored by an experienced project and change management practitioner, consultant and educator, this unique resource will be essential reading for students of project management looking to excel in employment.
ISBN: 9781000174670Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Ethics Training for Managers by
Can employees be trained to make more ethical decisions? If so, how? Providing evidence-based and practical answers to these critical questions is the purpose of this book. To answer these questions, the authors--four organizational psychologists who specialize in the study of ethical decision making--translate insights based on decades of scientific research. Whether you are a student, educator, HR manager, compliance professional, or simply someone interested in the topic of ethics education, this book offers a road map for designing ethics training programs that work.
ISBN: 9781000282528Publication Date: 2020-12-13
Leading Continuous Improvement Projects by
This book is a reference for continuous improvement project (CIP) leaders/facilitators in manufacturing and service organizations, students (undergraduate and graduate), academics responsible for managing senior projects (Capstone Projects) and teaching quality courses, and researchers interested in how organizations could produce more effective and efficient continuous improvement initiatives and projects. The authors collected and analyzed information and results from CIPs they facilitated or co-advised, such as the improvement of the service level in a bottle manufacturing organization, reduction of changeover in a brewery manufacturing organization, reduction of ambulance response time, and reduction of scrap in a steel transformation manufacturing organization. Many of the CIPs were previously part of award-winning white papers documenting critical improvements. Throughout this book, readers will learn: different types of CIPs metrics to identify successful CIPs the 53 factors related to CIPs success how to manage CIPs behaviors to achieve outstanding results from CIPs. Three of the chapters are supplemented with three or more case studies. In addition, the final chapter includes a list of behaviors expected from directors, continuous improvement managers, CIP leaders/facilitators, and CIP team members to obtain the major benefits from CIPs.
ISBN: 9781000030303Publication Date: 2020-02-10
Transforming Management Using Artificial Intelligence Techniques by
Transforming Management Using Artificial Intelligence Techniques redefines management practices using artificial intelligence (AI) by providing a new approach. It offers a detailed, well-illustrated treatment of each topic with examples and case studies, and brings the exciting field to life by presenting a substantial and robust introduction to AI in a clear and concise manner. It provides a deeper understanding of how the relevant aspects of AI impact each other's efficacy for better output. It's a reliable and accessible one-step resource that introduces AI; presents a full examination of applications; provides an understanding of the foundations; examines education powered by AI, entertainment, home and service robots, healthcare re-imagined, predictive policing, space exploration; and so much more, all within the realm of AI. This book will feature: Uncovering new and innovative features of AI and how it can help in raising economic efficiency at both micro- and macro levels Both the literature and practical aspects of AI and its uses This book summarizing key concepts at the end of each chapter to assist reader comprehension Case studies of tried and tested approaches to resolutions of typical problems Ideal for both teaching and general-knowledge purposes. This book will also simply provide the topic of AI for the readers, aspiring researchers and practitioners involved in management and computer science, so they can obtain a high-level of understanding of AI and managerial applications.
ISBN: 9781000209945Publication Date: 2020-11-09
- Essential skills for project and product management by
The Effective Project Management Skills video course covers the essential and practical skills you need to be an exceptional and well-rounded project manager. Throughout the course, Megan Andrew takes you through the top 20 skills that will enable you to effectively manage any project, even if it is your first time. By the end of the training, you will develop a comprehensive foundational skill set to effectively manage any project. Through a mix of exercises and real-world case studies, Megan Andrew unpacks each skill with practical steps to implement and enhance it. You will also run through a mix of exercises and real-world case studies to further cement these skills. These skills include selecting the project management approach and methodology; successfully managing, leading, and inspiring teams; prioritizing, scheduling, and negotiating tasks and resources; the management of budgets, costs, and risks; and enhanced communication, teamwork, problem, and decision-making. After each lesson, Megan walks you through real-world case studies designed to enhance your skills as well as help you learn how to practically apply them. In the Essential Product Management Skills video course, senior product manager and instructor, Megan Andrew, uses a mix of instruction, examples, and real-life case studies to not only take you through these key skills (both foundational and professional), but also guide you in acquiring these skills, and applying them in a practical way.
ISBN: 9780135378670Publication Date: 2024
Finance Essentials for Managers by
From reading an income statement to analyzing valuation methodologies, understanding the basics of finance is an essential part of your professional knowledge tool kit-even if it's not your primary role in the company.Finance Essentials for Managers delivers the key concepts you need to know, so you can master the topics required for moving to the next step in your career. Best of all, no prior accounting or finance experience is required. Based on author Chris Haroun's experience on Wall Street, at Goldman Sachs, in the venture capital industry, and serving at some of the world's leading hedge funds, this practical guide is organized into three sections:Part 1: The Essentials delivers a solid overview of accounting, financial ratios, forecasting financial statements, valuing companies, investment research, investment banking, private equity, venture capital, hedge funds, options, and more.Part 2: The Essentials Applied highlights which areas of finance you need to focus on and provides exercises for creating and forecasting financial statements, using investment research, and more.Part 3: Beyond the Essentials illustrates five different case studies on specific finance topics.
ISBN: 9781638414117Publication Date: 2024-06-25
Front-Line Leadership by
Expand your leadership toolkit and help others achieve their full potential with these empowering stories and lessons from the battlefield In Front-Line Leadership: How to Eliminate Complacency and Build All-In Engagement, experienced leader and veteran Patrick Nelson delivers an inspiring and exciting discussion of real-world leadership that changes lives and gets results. Born out of his experience as a paratrooper in the US Army--where he led soldiers during three combat deployments and earned a Bronze Star Medal and Purple Heart--the book will explore first-hand accounts of the author's time in combat that shed light on how you can lead men and women in academic, business, non-profit, military, and governmental settings. The book offers deep insights into developing a growth mindset, service-based leadership, forward-looking accountability, and how to build self-awareness. The stories within make it clear that leadership is not just a position or title, but rather the behaviors that we demonstrate. Additionally, each chapter culminates with a practical takeaway for the reader to challenge themselves daily. You'll also find: Strategies for getting "unstuck" in your personal and professional life Techniques for developing a clear understanding of who you are and what you can bring to an organization as a leader Ways to propel your leadership skills forward by focusing on what you can offer others, instead of what others can give you Perfect for managers, executives, directors, and other business leaders, Front-Line Leadership is also a must-read for active military service members, non-profit professionals, government workers and leaders, athletes, teachers, and anyone else tasked with shaping and encouraging the efforts of others.
ISBN: 9781394240760Publication Date: 2024-07-02
- Certification exam cram. Project Management Professional (PMP) by
Are you ready to pass the Project Management Professional exam? Join expert Joseph Phillips for this recorded interactive event to find out. Joseph will help you work through a preparation checklist, validate all that you’ve done to prepare, and build or tweak a study plan you can rely on.
ISBN: 0642572057817Publication Date: 2024
- PMP exam prep comprehensive course : gain the knowledge and skills required to pass the PMP exam by
The PMP Exam Prep Comprehensive Course provides you with the essential knowledge, motivation, and practice you need to pass the PMP exam and elevate your career with PMP certification. Taught by project management expert Joseph Phillips, who has trained over 750,000 people on project management and is considered the expert on PMI certifications
ISBN: 0790145824295Publication Date: 2024
The Journey of Leadership by
When the pressure is on, many of the world's top CEOs turn to McKinsey & Company to reinvent themselves and their organizations. The Journey of Leadership brings the experience of one of the world's most influential consulting firms right to your fingertips. This book is the first-ever explanation of McKinsey's step-by-step approach to transforming leaders both professionally and personally, including revealing lessons from its legendary CEO leadership program, "The Bower Forum," which has counseled five-hundred-plus global CEOs over the past decade. It is a journey that helps leaders hone the psychological, emotional, and, ultimately, human attributes that result in success in today's most demanding top job. Packed with insightful and never-before-heard reflections from leaders, including Ed Bastian (CEO of Delta Air Lines), Makoto Uchida (CEO of Nissan Motor Corporation), Mark Fields (former CEO of Ford Motor Company), Reeta Roy (CEO of Mastercard Foundation), and Stephane Bancel (CEO of Moderna), you will learn how to- Assess your personal leadership approach and style objectively. Discover your true mandate as a leader. Balance "right-brained" and "left-brained" leadership skills. Develop creative, actionable ways to reinvigorate both yourself and your organization. Create a personal commitment plan to inspire your team and cement your legacy. The Journey of Leadership is an invaluable resource for anyone running or hoping to run an organization in today's ever-more-complex world.
ISBN: 9780593714218Publication Date: 2024-09-10- Safe to Great : The New Psychology of Leadership by
Grounded in more than 25 years of experience working with global organizations, Safe to Great is designed for leaders who want to bring more hope and critical thinking to how they manage. Bowman makes a compelling appeal for a new standard of leadership that moves people and organizations from a place of relative comfort and little risk to a space of daring curiosity, engagement, and collaboration.
ISBN: 9781773272313Publication Date: 2023
The Director's Manual by
Directors: Improve Board Performance The Director's Manual: A Framework for Board Governance offers current and aspiring board members essential up-to-date governance guidance that blends rigorous research-based information with the wisdom found only through practical, direct experience. The book's flexible approach to solving governance issues reflects the authors' belief that no two boards and the cultural dynamics that drive them are the same. As such, the advice offered reflects recognizable leadership dynamics and real world, relevant organizational situations. The book's two authors, Peter C. Browning, an experienced CEO and member of numerous boards and William L. Sparks, a respected organizational researcher, combine their individual experiences and talents to create a book that is both innovative and applicable to directors in any industry sector. Specific best practice guidance is designed to help board members and their directors understand the unique strengths and challenges of their own board while at the same time provide targeted information that drives needed improvements in board performance and efficiency. Specifically, this book will help board members: Explore practical advice on key issues, including selection, meeting schedules, and director succession Consider board performance from multiple perspectives, including cultural and group dynamics Discover how to effectively manage classic problems that arise when making decisions as a group Access a comprehensive set of assessment questions to test and reinforce your knowledge The Director's Manual: A Framework for Board Governance offers practical advice to guide you as you lead your organization's board.
ISBN: 9781119133377Publication Date: 2016-01-14
HBR's 10 Must Reads 2025 by
A year's worth of management wisdom, all in one place. We've reviewed the ideas, insights, and best practices from the past year of Harvard Business Review to keep you up to date on the most cutting-edge, influential thinking driving business today. With authors from Ginni Rometty to Robert I. Sutton and company examples from Maersk to Nvidia, this volume brings the most current and important management conversations right to your fingertips. This book will inspire you to:- Reskill your organization in the age of AI- Rid your company of the obstacles that infuriate everyone- Understand what today's rainmakers do differently- Market sustainable products effectively- Choose the right sources of demand to grow your company at the right speed- Use strategic thinking to create the life you want
ISBN: 9781663748058Publication Date: 2024-10-08
Leading Successful Change, Revised and Updated Edition by
When Jack Dorsey returned to Twitter as CEO in 2015, the company was in trouble. But unlike so many other social media platforms that have crumbled under tough conditions, Twitter is still alive-and thriving.How did Twitter turn itself around in one of the most turbulent and competitive industries? The change management approach of authors Gregory P. Shea and Cassie A. Solomon guided a significant area of the organization's turnaround effort.In this revised and updated edition of Leading Successful Change, Shea and Solomon share success stories from a host of companies including Twitter, Viacom, and the Conference of State Bank Supervisors, offering a tested method for leading successful change, which they have developed over a combined fifty years of helping organizations do just that.In Leading Successful Change, Shea and Solomon share: why most change efforts fail; the two key tenets for making successful change; how to create a scene that will provide a vision of the future; the 8 Levers of Change, a tried-and-true method for designing the work environment to support the changes; and how winning companies-from IKEA to Whirlpool-are successfully implementing change.
ISBN: 9781663747433Publication Date: 2024-09-24
2023
Practice Standard for Work Breakdown Structures - Third Edition by
The Work Breakdown Structure (WBS) serves as a guide for defining work as it relates to a specific project's objectives. This book supplies project managers and team members with direction for the preliminary development and the implementation of the WBS. Consistent with A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide)-Sixth Edition, the WBS Practice Standard presents a standard application of the WBS as a project management tool. Throughout the book, the reader will learn what characteristics constitute a high-quality WBS and discover the substantial benefits of using the WBS in every-day, real-life situations.
ISBN: 9781628256192Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® by
Learn, prepare, and practice for the Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® exam success with this Cert Guide from Pearson IT Certification, a leader in IT Certification learning. Master PMI-RMP exam topics Assess your knowledge with chapter-ending quizzes Review key concepts with exam preparation tasks Practice with realistic exam questions Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)® Exam Cert Guide is a comprehensive exam study guide. Author and expert instructor, Carl Pritchard, shares preparation hints and test-taking tips, helping you identify areas of weakness and improve both your conceptual knowledge and hands-on skills. Material is presented in a concise manner, focusing on increasing your understanding and retention of exam topics. The book presents you with an organized test preparation routine through the use of proven series elements and techniques. Exam topic lists make referencing easy. Chapter-ending Exam Preparation Tasks help you drill on key concepts you must know thoroughly. Review questions help you assess your knowledge, and a final preparation chapter guides you through tools and resources to help you craft your final study plan. The companion website contains the powerful Pearson Test Prep practice test software, complete with hundreds of exam-realistic questions. The assessment engine offers you a wealth of customization options and reporting features, laying out a complete assessment of your knowledge to help you focus your study where it is needed most. Well regarded for its level of detail, assessment features, and challenging review questions and exercises, this study guide helps you master the concepts and techniques that will enable you to succeed on the exam the first time. This book will prepare you for the PMI-RMP® examination, enabling you to Learn the different roles in an effective project risk management organization Understand the different risk practices in waterfall, hybrid, and agile organizations Grasp the distinctions between risk appetites and attitudes Effectively identify and manage risk tolerances and triggers Get others to participate in the risk management process appropriately Identify risk using a variety of different tools Create risk registers and repositories for posterity Develop strategies and responses for both threats and opportunities Generate risk approaches based on project assumptions Analyze risks both qualitatively and quantitatively Recognize when workarounds are the only possible course of action Close out and retire risks as appropriate
ISBN: 9780138108472Publication Date: 2023-04-28
Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) official cert guide by
This product covers content for the new CAPM® Exam to be released by PMI on July 25, 2023. This complete study package offers a deep dive on CAPM exam topics: Organizing for project performance Predicative methodologies Adaptive frameworks Measurement, tracking, and managing uncertainty Business analysis frameworks and domains and more!
ISBN: 9780137918287Publication Date: 2023
HBR's 10 Must Reads for Executive Teams by
Executive leadership is a team sport.As part of an executive team, you wear many hats. Not only are you responsible for working with other senior leaders to establish strategic goals for the organization and ensure their execution, but you're making tough decisions, shaping organizational culture, and communicating regularly with employees.If you read (or listen to) nothing else on working effectively as a member of an executive team, listen to these ten articles. We've combed through hundreds of Harvard Business Review articles and selected the most important ones to help you understand what's required of you as a senior leader so you can set your team and organization up for success.This book will inspire you to: build the qualities you need as a senior leader in your company; assemble a group that will think boldly and work harmoniously; feel confident while making strategic decisions as a team; avoid common traps when managing risk; help newly hired executives adapt quickly to the organization; and grow talent throughout the company, especially in underrepresented groups.
ISBN: 9781663726230Publication Date: 2023-06-27
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Managing Across Cultures by
Put an end to miscommunication and inefficiency-and tap into the strengths of your diverse team.If you read (or listen to) nothing else on managing across cultures, listen to these ten articles. We've combed through hundreds of Harvard Business Review articles and selected the most important ones to help you manage culturally diverse employees, whether they're dispersed around the world or you're working with a multicultural team in a single location.This book will inspire you to: develop your cultural intelligence, overcome conflict on a team where cultural norms differ, adopt a common language for more efficient communication, use the diverse perspectives of your employees to find new business opportunities, take varying cultural practices into account when resolving ethical issues, and accommodate and plan for your expatriate employees.
ISBN: 9781663724496Publication Date: 2023-05-30
Leading with Questions by
A unique and powerful strategy for leading othersIn this newly revised third edition of Leading with Questions, renowned global leadership consultants Michael Marquardt and Bob Tiede describe how to ask powerful questions that generate short-term and long-term results and success. They show you how effective leaders use questions to encourage participation and teamwork, foster creative thinking, empower others, create relationships with customers, and solve problems.The authors offer step-by-step guidance on the process of learning the art of questioning and techniques-like active listening and follow-ups-you can use in myriad situations with individuals, teams, and entire organizations. You'll also find:- The most recent research on how questions change people and companies for the better- Interviews with over forty world-leading executives and managers from a wide variety of industries and regions- Concrete, hands-on strategies for generating short-term results and long-term change with questionsPerfect for managers, executives, and other business leaders, Leading with Questions will earn a place on the bookshelves of anyone interested in better engaging with and leading others.
ISBN: 9781663728814Publication Date: 2023-06-20
The PDMA Handbook of Innovation and New Product Development by
THE PDMA HANDBOOK OF INNOVATION AND NEW PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT State-of-the-art overview of all aspects of new product development from start to finish The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) Handbook of Innovation and New Product Development provides an exceptional review of cutting-edge topics for both new and experienced product development leaders, and academics interested in emerging research, offering a comprehensive and updated guide to the practices, processes, and tools critical to achieving and sustaining new product/service development success in today's world and delivering valuable information on the fundamentals as well as emerging practices. This edition is completely revised to include 32 new and refreshed chapters on topics including: Creating Successful Innovation, Sustainable New Product Development (NPD), Digital Transformation of NPD, the Changing Role of Design Thinking, Market Forecasting, and much more. In The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) Handbook of Innovation and New Product Development, readers can expect to find specific information on: What separates the winners from the losers when it comes to new products, plus what drives new product success from a holistic standpoint Effective front end innovation practices, portfolio management for product innovation, and identifying significant new business opportunities Obtaining customer needs for product development, harnessing user research for product innovation, and making market analytics work for you Design thinking, artificial intelligence and new product development The 4th edition of The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) Handbook of Innovation and New Product Development is an essential reference for anyone with responsibility for product development activities, from novices looking for fundamentals to experts seeking insights on emerging concepts and is relevant for all functions and all industries. The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) is a global community connecting thousands of members whose skills, expertise and experience power the most recognized and respected innovative companies in the world. PDMA's unique triad of members include product development and management practitioners, academics, and service providers in a variety of industries and knowledge areas, including new product process, strategy innovation, market research, tools and metrics, organizational issues and portfolio management.
ISBN: 9781119890225Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Project Planning, Scheduling, and Control: The ultimate hands-on guide to bringing projects in on time and on budget by
Every chapter of Project Planning, Scheduling and Control contains a wealth of essential information--from the role of the project manager and description of the PMBOK® Guide to Whole Brain® project management and how to achieve high performance project management.
ISBN: 9781264286287Publication Date: 2023
Ethics for Managers by
Ethics for Managers introduces students to the philosophical underpinnings of business ethics and translates this theory into practical terms, demonstrating the moral implications of the decisions managers make. This edition features new material on global ethics, the financial downturn, and ethical sustainability. New, student-friendly features include: Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, which provide a roadmap to what is covered and how to use it. Cases that demonstrate real-world scenarios, allowing readers to grapple with real moral ambiguity. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter, which challenge students to see different moral perspectives and to practice good decision-making. A new chapter on international business ethics. Students of business ethics courses will find this compact, well-organized text a useful tool to understand ethics in the digital age.
ISBN: 9781138919495Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Handbook of Organizational Creativity by
Handbook of Organizational Creativity: Leadership, Interventions, and Macro Level Issues, Second Edition covers creativity from many perspectives in two unique volumes, including artificial Intelligence work, creativity within specific applied domains (e.g., engineering, science, therapy), and coverage of leadership. The book includes individual, team and organizational level factors and includes organizational interventions to facilitate creativity (such as training). Chapters focus on creative abilities and creative problem-solving processes, along with individual differences such as motivation, affect and personality. New chapters include the neuroscience of creativity, creativity and meaning, morality/ethicality and creativity, and creative self-beliefs. Sections on group level phenomena examine team cognition, team social processes, team diversity, social networks, and multi-team systems and creativity. Final coverages includes different types and approaches to leadership, such as transformational leadership, ambidextrous leadership leader-follower relations, and more. Focuses on the key need to increase creativity and innovation in organizations Identifies factors influencing organizational creativity in specific subject domains Discusses effects of rewards, training, and performance management on creativity Contains new coverage of virtual teams, creative meetings, and multiteam systems Presents interventions to improve organizational creativity Explores use of AI, technology, and design thinking for organizational creativity This expanded second edition is divided into two volumes. For further information on Individual and Group Level Influences visit https://shop.elsevier.com/books/handbook-of-organizational-creativity/reiter-palmon/978-0-323-91840-4
ISBN: 0323984827Publication Date: 2023-06-22
Handbook of Organizational Creativity by
Handbook of Organizational Creativity: Individual and Group Level Influences, Second Edition covers creativity from many perspectives in two unique volumes, including artificial Intelligence work, creativity within specific applied domains (e.g., engineering, science, therapy), and coverage of leadership. The book includes individual, team and organizational level factors and includes organizational interventions to facilitate creativity (such as training). Chapters focus on creative abilities and creative problem-solving processes, along with individual differences such as motivation, affect and personality. New chapters include the neuroscience of creativity, creativity and meaning, morality/ethicality and creativity, and creative self-beliefs. Sections on group level phenomena examine team cognition, team social processes, team diversity, social networks, and multi-team systems and creativity. Final coverages includes different types and approaches to leadership, such as transformational leadership, ambidextrous leadership leader-follower relations, and more. Focuses on the key need to increase creativity and innovation in organizations Identifies the factors influencing organizational creativity Includes individual, group and organizational influences Identifies personality traits and beliefs affecting creativity Discusses problem-solving processes, idea evaluation, and diverent thinking Contains new coverage of virtual teams, creative meetings, and multiteam systems This expanded second edition is divided into two volumes. For further information on Leadership, Interventions, and Macro Level Issues visit https://shop.elsevier.com/books/handbook-of-organizational-creativity/reiter-palmon/978-0-323-91841-1
ISBN: 9780323915571Publication Date: 2023-06-22
Integrity in Business and Management by
This book highlights the interconnectedness of integrity with philosophical history, leadership, managerial decision-making, and organizational effectiveness in a wide variety of contexts (e.g., time theft in organizations and family business). Well-known researchers in business ethics from all around the world reframe the literature on integrity in business and management and develop updated and more comprehensive models of integrity. Integrity in Business and Management connects integrity to both ancient thought and the modern philosophy of pragmatism, but also explains how contemporary societal trends may shape the way we think about integrity. The final chapter warns against oversocialized conceptualizations of integrity and argues for a clear differentiation between personal integrity and moral integrity. Aimed at researchers and academics in the fields of business ethics and organizational leadership, Integrity in Business and Management explicates and critiques prior models of managerial integrity in a wide variety of disciplines, covering economics, moral philosophy, business ethics, organizational behavior, sociology, history, and psychology and offers a helpful set of readings in advanced undergraduate and postgraduate courses of business ethics, corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, and leadership to stimulate discussions about personal integrity, moral integrity, and organizational leadership.
ISBN: 9781138808775Publication Date: 2017-07-26
Power to the Middle by
If you're thinking of cutting your midlevel managers in the new world of work, think again."Middle manager." The term evokes a bygone industrial era in which managers functioned like cogs in a vast machine and bureaucracy ruled. In recent decades, midlevel managers became a favorite target for the chopping block-underappreciated, often considered a superfluous layer of the organization.Not only does this outdated perspective need to change, the future demands it. In Power to the Middle, McKinsey thought leaders Bill Schaninger, Bryan Hancock, and Emily Field call for a profound reimagining of what middle managers can and must be able to do. They explain how middle managers are uniquely positioned close to the ground but with a crucial connection to company strategy-enabling them to guide organizations through the current period of rapid and complex change, as well as help to shape the new world of work.With rich stories and cutting-edge research, Power to the Middle offers a new model for companies to radically alter the way they hire, train, and reward their most valuable asset: managers, the true center of the organization.
ISBN: 9781663725899Publication Date: 2023-07-18
Management of Portfolios, Programmes and Projects: A practical guide for leaders and decision-makers by
Do you come across daily challenges when managing portfolios, programmes, or projects? No matter what role you have in the portfolio, programme, or project team, you will find practical solutions in this guide to help you perform more effectively and achieve your strategic objectives
ISBN: 9780113318391Publication Date: 2022
PMO competency framework by
The PMO Competency Framework is a guide for PMO professionals interested in assessing and developing organisation-wide, team and personal competences within a PMO environment.This publication provides a standard and a toolset to allow PMO professionals to understand, assess and develop the skills, behaviours and experience to achieve their PMO goals and career potential.
ISBN: 9780117092372Publication Date: 2021
The Leadership Challenge Workbook by
A field manual for the gold standard in leadership development books The world's best leaders consciously reflect on their own behaviors and choices in an effort to continuously better themselves. In the thoroughly revised and updated Fourth Edition of The Leadership Challenge Workbook, renowned leadership educators James M. Kouzes and Barry Z. Posner deliver their latest update to one of the world's bestselling works on leading others in organizational settings. You'll find practical guidance on how to apply the insights from The Leadership Challenge to your daily life, as well as hands-on tips for communicating your vision, strengthening workplace commitment, building employee trust, and maintaining worker satisfaction. Based on the insights of the Seventh Edition of James Kouzes and Barry Posner's The Leadership Challenge, the hands-on experience of the Workbook engages you to examine and improve your ability to put into action The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership®. The revised Fourth Edition of The Leadership Challenge Workbook will help leaders in every organization to make extraordinary things happen.
ISBN: 9781394152230Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Strategic management : text & cases by
Provides treatment of traditional topics in strategic management as well as thorough coverage of contemporary topics such as digital and internet strategies, innovation and corporate entrepreneurship, knowledge management, and intellectual assets.
ISBN: 9781259255878Publication Date: 2016
High Performance Managerial Leadership by
Learn how managers have transformed their teams and companies into envied high-performance organizations in this guide to nurturing successful managers at your organization, informed by the author's 10-year study of applications of his High Performing Organization (HPO) Framework.How can an organization learn to perform at a high level? The key is management. Based on years of intensive research and experience, André de Waal's proven strategy for achieving positive organizational change can turn your company or team into a true High Performance Organization (HPO). De Waal's HPO Framework is the only management improvement technique that has been developed on a solid scientific basis, validated through longitudinal site-level research, and developed over years of measuring organizational results. In this book, de Waal focuses on the activities and behaviors of managers in organizations that have successfully transformed themselves into HPOs. The author and his team closely followed and measured organizations that have adopted and applied the HPO Framework over many years, uncovering the secrets to creating successful and transformative managers through the use of HPO coaches, the application of "silo-busting" techniques to spur collaboration, and use of the HPO transformation success wheel.The resulting data set, analytics, and lessons presented represent a treasure trove of actionable tools for achieving successful managerial and organizational change and improvement.
ISBN: 9781440872655Publication Date: 2020-05-06
HBR's 10 Must Reads 2024: the Definitive Management Ideas of the Year from Harvard Business Review (with Bonus Article Democratizing Transformation by Marco Iansiti and Satya Nadella) by
A year's worth of management wisdom, all in one place.We've combed through the ideas, insights, and best practices from the past year of Harvard Business Review to help you get up to speed fast on the relevant concepts driving business today. Discover new ideas and sample the latest thinking from our vast array of management experts. Revisit these topics now to make sure your organization is incorporating the best, most up-to-date practices, or keep this book as a reference so that you can turn to these memorable pieces when you need them the most. The collection includes articles on leadership, diversity, and strategy, as well as articles that will help you manage yourself and others.HBR's 10 Must Reads series is the definitive collection of books for new and experienced leaders alike. Leaders looking for the inspiration that big ideas provide, both to accelerate their own growth and that of their companies, should look no further. HBR's 10 Must Reads series focuses on the core topics that every ambitious manager needs to know: leadership, strategy, change, managing people, and managing yourself. Harvard Business Review has sorted through hundreds of articles and selected only the most essential reading on each topic. Each title includes timeless advice that will be relevant regardless of an ever-changing business environment.
ISBN: 9781663731838Publication Date: 2023-10-10
Princeton Review GMAT Premium Prep 2024 by
YOUR ALL-IN-ONE GUIDE TO GMAT MASTERY! Everything students need to know to master the GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test), with 6 full-length computer-adaptive practice exams for realistic test-day practice. GMAT Premium Prep, 2024 includes expansive coverage of all tested GMAT topics, including data sufficiency, arithmetic, algebra, geometry, sentence correction, reading comprehension, and critical reasoning. It also includes step-by-step instructions for the Integrated Reasoning question types (table analysis, graphics interpretation, multi-source reasoning, and two-part analysis), plus tons of sample problems and drills. All of the 6 practice exams included with book purchase are computer adaptive (CATs), just like on the real thing. Plus, the book comes with video tutorials, b-school application advice, extra practice, and more online.
ISBN: 9780593516911Publication Date: 2023-05-16
The Certified Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence Handbook by
This handbook is a comprehensive reference source designed to help professionals address organizational issues from the application of the basic principles of management to the development of strategies needed to deal with the technological and societal concerns of the new millennium. The content of this fourth edition has been revised to reflect a more current global perspective and to match the updated Body of Knowledge (BoK) of ASQ's Certified Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence (CMQ/OE). In order to provide a broad perspective of quality management, this book has specifically been written to address: Historical perspectives relating to the evolution of particular aspects of quality management, including recognized experts and their contributions Key principles, concepts, and terminology relevant in providing quality leadership, and communicating quality needs and results Benefits associated with the application of key concepts and quality management principles Best practices describing recognized approaches for good quality management Barriers to success, including common problems that the quality manager might experience when designing and implementing quality management, and insights as to why some quality initiatives fail Guidance for preparation to take the CMQ/OE examination. Organized to follow the BoK exactly, throughout each section of this handbook the categorical BoK requirements associated with good quality management practices for that section are shown in a box preceding the pertinent text. These BoK requirements represent the range of content and the cognitive level to which multiple-choice questions can be presented. Although this handbook thoroughly prepares individuals for the ASQ CMQ/OE exam, the real value resides in post-exam usage as a day-to-day reference source for assessing quality applications and methodologies in daily processes. The content is written from the perspective of practitioners, and
ISBN: 9780873898614Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Critical Leadership and Management Tools for Contemporary Organizations by
A massive paradigm shift in the world of work and the way we manage people. What's changing - everything! All of this has been brought about by several converging factors. The impact of COVID on how we work; causing a shift from where work is done. Recent significant changes in Artificial intelligence, Chat GPT and robotics will impact on every area of work worldwide - it's happening now. Predictably, fewer people are now required in the world of work; those with a potentially amazing career will be talented people who will be paid on what they do rather than what they know - a huge change. A new type of management. Inspirational leaders with a special skillset will be in high demand. Managers of the past are unlikely to have the skills or personality to get the best from the new breed of super employees. In this book we will look at all these issues and provide readers with the current facts, case studies form the world's leading companies, worked examples and most importantly practical advice on how to do it.
ISBN: 9781637425213Publication Date: 2023-10-16
Transformational Leadership Styles for Global Leaders by
The impact of transformational leadership styles, management strategies, and communication for organizational effectiveness and employee performance within organizations cannot be overemphasized. Leadership as a concept has evolved over the years based on situations, practices, and change management approaches in organizations. The evolution of transformational leadership in organizations is imperative to examine in order to motivate and encourage others to collectively support and work to achieve organizational effectiveness, or vision and mission. Leadership needs a paradigm shift to influence opportunities and challenges in organizations such as organizational behavior, motivation, communication, and management functions. Transformational Leadership Styles, Management Strategies, and Communication for Global Leaders aims to provide relevant theoretical, conceptual, and procedural frameworks and the latest empirical research findings that critically examine the areas of leadership, leadership styles, management studies, and communication for leaders globally. It is ideal for multi-sectoral interests in business and educational organizations, chief executive officers, executive members, team leaders, industry leaders, human resource directors and personnel, leadership and management, and practitioners.
ISBN: 9798369313824Publication Date: 2023-09-26
The Breakthrough Manifesto by
Building a Better Path to Breakthrough, By Design Innovation is a process by which new ideas, services, and sources of value are brought to life. Yet approaches to the pursuit of innovation often rely on stale methodologies. Transformative innovation requires something else. Not just methodologies, but mindsets. Not just focusing on known challenges, but on unknown opportunities. Not just hoping for breakthrough by default, but realizing breakthrough by design. In The Breakthrough Manifesto, a renowned business innovation leader teams up with a social-personality psychologist to offer that something else--a collection of 10 visionary principles to obliterate barriers to change and ignite a whole new level of creative problem-solving. Drawing upon decades of experience working with the world's best-known organizations and their teams, the authors provide practical advice that goes beyond "business as usual" for successfully tackling intractable challenges. They'll show you how to: Silence your inner cynic and strip away old, fallacious assumptions as you embrace problem-solving anew Embrace experimentation, prototyping, and co-creation revealing new potential by making a mess together Challenge yourself and each other to test your own limits and expand your comfort zone Bursting with behavioral science, stories from the field, and pragmatic strategies, The Breakthrough Manifesto explores why these principles are critical for the current times and how they can spark breakthrough and unlock potential for you and your teams. Whether you're an executive or manager, product or service designer, educator or student, this book is a must-read for anyone inspired to change the world or transform their own place in it.
ISBN: 9781394207046Publication Date: 2023-10-30
The steadfast leader Control anxiety, make confident decisions, and focus your team using the new science of leadership by
"Discover how integrating rational thought and "gut feelings" together will make you a calmer, more powerful leader"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 9781265525514Publication Date: 2023
